We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“les merinides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Merinides

Save Saved
You added Les Merinides to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Merinides
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borj Nord, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 85 hotels in Fes
california
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“les merinides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Fes. Beautiful view of the city and Medina. Very comfortable. Stayed there on Wilderness travel trip.

Room Tip: Must have a room overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
15
38
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was a memorable stay. The back of the hotel overlooks the medina and gives a marvellous panoramic view over the city. The rooms are excellent and the restaurant was very good although it was typical Morocco buffet style. Too cold to use the pool but in warm weather it looks fantastic. Service excellent. The room was of a high standard and everything worked immaculately including the wi fi signal. Our room was at the back andnear a minaret and therefore within earshot at dawn, but that is to be expected in Morocco.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel is more upmarket than I would normally choose for my solo photography trips but it represented very good value for money at the price paid. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

My room was centrally located on the first floor facing the medina - superb view. The downside was Saturday late-night noise on from live music below.

Each morning I walked to the Medina via the path through the site of the Merenid tombs. This was quick, easy and very picturesque but was against the advice of the guy on reception who deemed it unsafe - wild dogs and suchlike. I judged him to be over-cautious .... however.... a Moroccan I met on the route the next day suggested I should be discrete with my camera bag, and a lady I met on the return flight mentioned she had been mugged on that route on an earlier visit. Anyway it seemed fine to me and I would use that path again but best to be on guard or take a taxi to the Medina if you're risk-averse.

All in all I was very happy with my short stay in Fes

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My husband's parents live in Fez, so every year when we visit we always make the trip to Les Merinides. I love to go during the late afternoon so I'm there long enough to enjoy the daylight views of the Medina just before sunset. It's the most beautiful panoramic view of the old city, just can't be beat. It's also very enchanting at night when you can see all the glittering lights below.

Having tea or coffee service on the terrace overlooking the city is an absolute must! Morocco offers some of the most sophisticated, delicious, bite-sized sweets. I would advise leaving your diet plans at home because you really wouldn't want to miss trying them. The waiters are very helpful and polite, so don't be offended if they don't come back to check on your every few minutes. It just isn't the same function here as it is in the states. If you need something else, wave them down.

I love that they don't rush you out to make room for more customers, no matter how long you stay. Our family and friends can sit and talk forever without the feeling that the waiter is hawking us. Moroccans know exactly the definition of "chillin" and will leave you to it in peace.

We've never stayed in their hotel rooms so I can't speak to that, but if you're planning a stay, I would ask the concierge to book you a room with a view of the medina.

Be careful to check the calendar for any religious holidays they may be celebrating at the time of your vacation because they will not offer alcohol. You will find this to be true of any establishment you visit during this time. Of course it's possible to find a sympathetic waiter, but you will have to be very private about it and not consume it in the open. A generous tip would be appropriate in this case.

Les Merinides is a meeting place for many a diplomat and important person. You may very well find yourself in the presence of wealthy Saudi visitors and representatives from both Africa and Europe. I would highly recommend wearing clean and neat attire, preferably a notch up from casual if you can. Although it's just a suggestion, not at all a requirement, because all types of visitors come here and they know especially with the youth that some only have hiking gear, etc.

Overall this is the place you will want to spend a relaxing time with your friends. I would make sure it is the last thing you have on your list for the day. With calming and spectacular views, you'll find that you may not want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Medina for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hotel has the most wonderful view overlooking Fez and a cocktail on the terrace in the evening is a must. Our room had a balcony from which the view was absolutely stunning. The rest of the hotel is pretty terrific also and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive. The choice of food was good, the bedroom wonderful, and the outdoor pool such a relief after a long hot day in the city. A truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

A bit far from the medina of Fes you will always need a taxi. If you don´t want to pay the expensive hotel-owned taxis, you will be disappointed by the receptionist´ vague handwave toward outside the hotel area with the remarks "Outside."
There is a long way to feet to the medina but I wouldn´t recommend it because it´s going through unknow areas which are not mentioned in any maps and stares from local inhabitants can be irritating after some times.
Nevertheless, the hotel inside is a quiet oasis with a splendid overlook over Fes, especially at evening when lights are on.
The staff at the terrace is very kind but you need a certain time till you can order something.
BUT: don´t bring anything eatable with you, even it´s packed as a gift for a friend as I did because the old and nearly theetless concierge urged me twice not to eat the cookies even if I tried to explain that they are a wedding gift for my Fassi friend. This gave me a cold atmosphere of this hotel. I ordered mint tea and then left for a better and warmer place, the Hotel Dar Jamai.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The hotel is a really classy,low profile hotel Nice pool, really good service!
The Room is huge, as well as the the bed!
Breakfast was amazing,
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to splash out on short break in fes. We ate in the restaurant once and it was very good, but we enjoyed better meals in the New Town,
The hotel is an oasis of calm in a pretty busy but fa ntasticcity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Merinides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Merinides

Address: Borj Nord, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Merinides 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Les Merinides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Merinides Fes
Les Merinides Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Merinides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.