We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pros and cons!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Batha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Batha to your Saves list
Hotel Batha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place De l'Istiqlal, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Adelaide
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“pros and cons!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights as part of a 2 week morocco tour.
The pros:
- The location is brillant. Markets/food places near by. Also ATM just outside as well as a good internet place around the corner. Good laundry service place as well and many other great benefits in walking distance.
- The court yard area is really nice.
- comfortable beds compared to other moroccan hotels.
- some old decor, tiles, painted wardrobe ect. Nice window to open onto the street.
- on sight resturant and many sitting areas if you feel like staying in. But it is a set menu option.
- the room was spacious enough.

The Cons:
- bathroom needs a serious upgrade!
- the girls working in the dining room for dinner/breakfast were so rude and never smiled!
- The breakfast is very blah.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    58
    63
    29
    10
See reviews for
15
57
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

The Hotel Batha was a last minute addition to our trip for a one night add-on in Fes. The room was not great (cleanliness questionable, random holes in walls -- literally!, bathroom was falling apart), but the price was right for a place to crash for the night. I wouldn't recommend staying here unless you have no other viable options. Only bonus? Post office next door and a short walk to the medina.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2009

The Hotel Batha is nice enough, and in a great location. It is too expensive for what you get, considering the bathrooms need major work and supposedly they limit the times you can have a hot shower. The pool was really nice, the courtyard very pretty, and our bedroom was very clean and had an air conditioner that worked some, if not all, of the time. I was annoyed when they charged me a 40 dh fee to use my credit card for our bill. If the hotel had been just ten or twenty dollars cheaper, I would have been very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

it's in a convenient location, the rooms are clean-ish and with some Moroccan decor. However the restaurant is a rip-off. The food for dinner was terrible (we ate only the first night), the service was terrible (slow) and then they didn't include drinks and overcharged from what are the normal rates in Morocco. They said nothing about it, and we were not the only customers to complain.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Sadly the room we stayed in was not exactly clean, the bathroom stank and was never really cleaned during our 3 day stay. We made the mistake of eating there our first night and were really disapointed with the "Moroccan food" with hot sauce from Louisiana (I kid you not!!!). We were told at the front desk that the meal was 150 dh, and we were aghast when we were asked to pay for our soft drinks and water at a ridiculously high price!!!
My advice, find another spot to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

I stayed in the Hotel Batha (baTTAH!) for about a week. I had a lovely time.

The hotel is located in the most perfect location if you want to enjoy the Medina. You just walk for five minutes and you are in the midst of the narrow streets and amazing shopping of the Medina. However it is also well placed because it is easily accessible to arrive and leave by taxi (a taxi stand is across the street).

The rooms are very charming with comfortable beds and local decoration. It can be quite cool at night and there is no heating or insulation. But during the day it heats right up. The bathrooms were also very nice with western fittings but a local feel.

The hotel itself is located around a courtyard and is very peaceful and serene. There is a pool but it is also unheated and may be quite cold depending on the time of year. This is a perfect place for reading in the afternoon and relaxing.

There is a nice bar where you can enjoy delicious moroccan tea by the fire! This leaves you with the sort of memory you can still feel, even years later.

And the price was right. I was very comfortable and happy with what was delivered for the dollar, and would recommend this to just about anybody spending time in Fes.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

This hotel looks much nicer from the outside than it is from the inside. I stayed here because I was new to Morocco, was travelling alone, and had used the Lonely Planet guide's recommendation. I found the front desk staff to be quite rude and unhelpful, even though they half pretended they were interested. One of the local taxi drivers described them as having "yellow smiles". (fake) My room on the ground floor stunk like a sewer and I asked to be moved. All they did was spray some potent smelling general cleaner all over the floor to combat this. Needless to say it didn't help. I found my room disgusting and moved after the second night. The bedding was in poor shape and so were the fittings of the place. The only good thing about this hotel was the location. It's really close to the medina, but honestly, it's not worth it. Not if you have standards.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Batha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Batha

Address: Place De l'Istiqlal, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Batha 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Batha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batha Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Batha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.