We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location biut very chilly!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Batha

Save Saved
You added Hotel Batha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Batha
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place De l'Istiqlal, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 85 hotels in Fes
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“convenient location biut very chilly!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a well located hotel which is a bit tatty round the edges. It's freezing cold in winter, although there is a heater in the very basic rooms. Lots of taxis outside so it is easy to get around from here. There may be wi fi but i had to use it in the sitting in the dark outside in a court yard!!!

Room Tip: Dont accept one on the ground floor - it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    54
    59
    26
    9
See reviews for
13
53
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The hotel is appreciable for the position, very close to the Fes Medina. Is quite noisy during the day but after 11pm all is quiet. The rooms are good, comfortable beds, large bathroom (the shower tube was broken is few parts). Breakfast is great. There is also the swimming pool very useful during summertime (on October, when I was there, was pretty cold!!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hotel Batha is situated in a great location. The decor inside around the reception was very nice, and the swimming pool was a treat especially during the blistering heat in August. The room we stayed in was ok but the bathroom was very dated. During our stay we had problems with the air con and I must say the staff was very accommodating asking if we wanted to change rooms, luckily the ac issue was fixed in the end.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

After wandering the medina this was the perfect place to land for nice swim, glass of wine by the pool and good sleep in their beautifully tiled room. It seemed to attract many nice guests who created a calm but friend atmosphere in the breakfast salon and pool area. As a Peace Corps volunteer I don't have much to spend and I've traveled all over the country. This was a great splurge for me and definitely worth the little extra. A great value. Nice, polite yet unobtrusive staff- unfortunately rather rare here. Beautiful, quiet central courtyard. I hope to bring my new husband there for a romantic get away soon. (I'm writing this review a year later, because I've been dreaming of it ever since, and it truly deserves the recommendation.)

Room Tip: I was there during Ramadan. I've heard its a bit noisier other times due to traffic to their bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel has a very good position, next to Medina of Fes, and the services inside are also very good and are very nice looking, with restaurant, bar, fountains and swimming pool.
The rooms instead really need to be renovated, with dirty walls and cockroachs in the bathroom. We changed 2 rooms but the problem of cockroachs existed in both of them even if the personnel of the hotel did not want to admit this as a problem of the hotel.

If you consider the slightly high price of this hotel (if compared to the standards of Morocco), the quality-price ratio is low.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nttingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

What excellent value for money! The location is fantastic, just two mins to the entrance of the old medina, whilst taxi's can still pull up right outside the hotel, so no walking through streets of a medina to get to your accomodation with your lugguage. The room was dated, with an avocado bathroom suite, but saying that, it had hot running water, a television offering a variety of channels and was very clean. The hotel itself was a pleasant surprise, with a nice communal terraced area, with mosaics and fountains, plus a bar that sells alcohol. The pool was a real bonus, especially in the August heat, with a few sunbeds around the edge. Ok, this is not a luxurious hotel, but for the price, location, the fact it sells alcohol and has a pool, I don't think you can complain. If you want luxury, pay more to stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Overal I would say go for it as long as you are a bit focussed on the hygiene factor. The hotel is on spitting distance from Fes' old Medina. Being an Unesco site this is a must visit, though I strongly recommend to get a local tour guide, since you'll be lost forever in it otherwise.

On the pro-side the hotel itself is actually quit nice nice. The innercourts (on three levels) are done in traditional marocan style, the pool being nicely integrated in that. It's a little gem in the chaos of everyday life in the Medina. The front desk staff is nice and helpfull. You can order beers or wine poolside.

On the con-side there is the general hygiene which is on regretable low standard. We found huge coakroaches running around the room, to which the staffs solution was to hunt them out the room (with my towel) and squash them outside. The staff in the breakfast room was beating this by cleaning the glasses and spoons with the T-shirt they were wearing. No thanks. The bar-dude was notoriously famous for not returning the change money.

My take ? Book the place without breakfast. .. it's nice enough .. make sure the room you get is clean and otherwise demand an other one

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level are located on the backside of the hotel and thus quit quiet and no hinder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Batha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Batha

Address: Place De l'Istiqlal, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 85 hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Batha 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Batha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batha Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Batha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.