We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious accommodations- good if you can handle the Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el-Ghalia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Dar el-Ghalia to your Saves list
Dar el-Ghalia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13-15 Rue Ross Rhi, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Luxurious accommodations- good if you can handle the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Although this riad is on the pricier end of what you can find in Fes, you definitely get what you pay for. The building is absolutely beautiful, and the staff are very friendly. The view of the old town from the rooftop patio is amazing (I wish we had stayed longer just to enjoy this view more). Breakfast was good, although their promise to provide a gluten free option was not fulfilled. Staying in the Medina is a bit of an adventure, as well, and can be trying. Don't make the mistake of showing up after dark - it can make finding the hotel in the maze a bit intimidating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is incredibly lovely - it was a former palace and has retained 100% of its charm. The room had a seating area with a fireplace and TV in addition to the bedroom. The lobby/patio is a lovely spot to relax after a busy, hot day. The tinkling fountain soothes your cares away. When you first arrive, it smells a bit musty, but the ambience and reasonable price more than make up for that.

If you arrive by train, you can call the hotel and request a pickup. This is a 5x the cost of taking a petite taxi, but it would be difficult to find your way without a guide the first time, even tho it's well sign-posted when you get close.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here in October, and it was such a lovely place. Authentic decor combined with modern comforts. Fantastic food. The bed was the most comfortable we encountered in Morocco. We enjoyed the medina location, and after a day it was quite easy to find on our own. The views from the rooftop terrace are lovely, and the entire riad is so peaceful you would never know you were in the middle of bustling city. We would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in April. For me it seemed like the authentic riad experience. Decorated with a mulittude of different objects it had a living museum feel about it. One day it rained we had the pleasure of not leaving Dar El Ghalia, instead we enjoyed the place itself. It is positioned well into the medina and takes a few trys to navigate out, although the staff will guide you out and for money someone will take you back. We loved the experience of the winding lanes and felt it is part of Moroccan travel.We ate in when we could and thought the food excellent, the restaurant is well known for its Moroccan cuisine.. Staff helpful and professional.Our room was upgraded to a larger ones, I think because we were there for four days. While in Fes we visited Volubilis, we caught the train to Meknes then a taxi to the ruins, easy to do. Train and taxi travel was cheap and quick. We did get used to negotiating with taxi drivers. Another good trip was to a pottery works in Fes,there are several, we went to Art Naji, caught a taxi and had a private tour, very interesting,and free. We did buy some pottery and had it sent home, it seemed expensive at the time but probably the best way to get tagines etc all arrived back in Australia unbroken, wish we had bought more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This review is a long time in coming, as I visited in August 2008. I will admit I was nervous going to Morocco, concerned that Americans would not be treated well. Still I opted to stay here, to experience a traditional stay. The hotel staff, possibly proprieter (do not recall his name), was wonderful. We were looking for a guide, and he found one for us, that took us around for the day, the price was reasonable. His name was Cous Cous. Note, the tour will include sites with strong sales practices, thus if you're planning to purchase, understand prices for fountains, rugs, antiques, before visting. To get to the hotel, you do go through a maze of alleys, but all clearly marked and well lit. To go to restaurants, we did ask for escort to the site, as going through the alley at night was a bit disconcerting first time. We were the only Americans here, and met many Europeans, thus we were told not as many Americans venture here, thus we felt they made a special welcome towards Americans. The restaurant on the rooftop was ok, but an enjoyable experience. Hearing the call for prayers and staying at this site was one of my memorable experience in my travels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We stayed in this lovely Riad in Nov 2010, there were 7 females in our party. The location was just inside the Medina, so peaceful that you were totally unaware of the hustle and bustle of the market. Excellent views of the mountains from the terrace, I can imagine how lovely it would have been to have dined up here in the evenings in the summer however food was not served up here in November. We found the staff charming and helpful, most evenings they allowed us access to the hotel's computer for internet use. The Hamman in the hotel was fun and cost around £14. We had booked three rooms between 7 of us but when we arrived we were shown a number of rooms and allowed to choose. Three of us were up graded to the Suite, 4 poster bed a little dusty but very authentic. Our best day out was taking a taxi for a 20 minute trip to a nearby Spa in the Mid Atlas mountains which for £40 each was amazing - walk in cave with with hot steam from the minerals plus various other hot pools, saunas - the Dar el-Ghalia staff will advise you of the name of Spa. Definitely recommend this hotel, however not the guide (they provided) as only interested getting you to buy carpets etc from his contacts. Overall a fabulous Riad, check-out the place at night with just the candles lit - magical!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

There is absolutely nothing bad about this hotel: once you learn how to come back to the riad it is very easy to find it. The staff is just great: kind, bright, funny and friendly. The restaurant is great as well, with traditional (and delicious), Moroccan food. The breakfast changes every morning and you will be able to taste Moroccan delights while looking at Fez sitting in the terrace. There is no noise at night and the fountain of the yard makes fresher the whole riad. Just wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar el-Ghalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el-Ghalia

Address: 13-15 Rue Ross Rhi, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar el-Ghalia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Dar el-Ghalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El-Ghalia Hotel Fes
Dar El Ghalia Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el-Ghalia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.