We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very grand hotel.... in about 1968” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Royal Mirage

Save Saved
You added Pickalbatros Royal Mirage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pickalbatros Royal Mirage
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des F. A. R., Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 85 hotels in Fes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A very grand hotel.... in about 1968”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved this hotel, but not because it was any good. It was hilarious! The decor was straight out of the 1960s, and I suspect that was the last time it was refurbished.
We stayed here as part of a tour, and according to the guide it is getting much better since new management came in. We stayed a few months ago, so it could be better still now. The first room we were checked in to we couldn't stay in, because the bathroom door didn't close. It didn't close because it had no door knob.
The hotel uses the original key card system, which is actually a plastic card with holes in it which is supposed to match up with the holes in the door lock. These didn't work well when installed in the 1980's (I remember staying at a Sheraton as a kid which had this system and it wasn't good) so after decades of door openings it was woefully unreliable.
The restaurant again, was like stepping back in time. The staff were old fashioned in their approach, and the food was adequate if not fabulous. Nice fruit options.
Overall the hotel appears sad and in desperate need of some love and attention, and I hope they give it that, without taking away the kitsch of the current decor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    73
    25
    25
See reviews for
59
69
26
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel externally is of a slightly dated western design of glass and metal. Internally it is transformed into the delightful traditional Moroccan styling. It is in a great central location to visit the sights of the city. The rooms are spacious and comfortable rooms and are furnished in modern elegant style. All meal times have menus which contain traditional Moroccan dishes. Breakfast was a colourful feast of Moroccan delights and certainly a location in which one might want to linger over a longer breakfast. Sipping on the delightfully refreshing mint tea was an equally good way to quench your thirst at any time during the day. The main courtyard between the hotel wings has a beautifully present pool plaza where you spend many hours relaxing. The service provided by staff was impeccable and in our view our overall experience was, without doubt, 5 star in quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I read reviews before I travelled and almost cancelled the booking at this hotel. However as some reviews suggest the rooms are shabby, they are comfortable,have Internet and are very quiet.
The hotel pool and gardens. Are enough for me to say the hotel can keep its 4 stars as this made my trip really great. The staff were friendly and it's in a convenient part of the new city.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are good, and some have been modernised. Room 255 was in good order
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argenteire, Chamonix
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were staying in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a tour and this was our 3rd hotel and I'm beginning to think that the 'star' rating in Morocco doesn't come anywhere near the same standard as Europe.

We spent 2 night nights here and while it wasn't uncomfortable apart from the air conditioning, which we couldn't sleep with it on because the fan was making too much noise and our room was directly over the entrance to the accommodation section of the hotel which had a lot of people walking through the night. The hotel rooms were large enough, but I would say equal to a 2 star quality anywhere in the western world. The safe did not work in our room or some other rooms that our friends were staying in as well. There was a sliding door in the toilet which didn't work very were either.

The meals were a buffet, while worked well, were very bland and for the standard of hotel they should be much better. Anytime you complain, people just say to you 'this is Morocco' so you should put up with is.
The general staff were good and did their best to help, but you could see that it was management were the problems were. The way I see it is they charge European prices and give you an African quality of service and product which the management seem to think is normal.

Room Tip: Make sure the air con is working when you go to the room first as you will not sleep with the fan on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have been working in morocco (Fes to be more accurate) and I have stayed in 5 hotels in 5 separate weeks. This hotel is easily the best. The previous hotels have been way below standard in comparison with their Star rating. All the previous hotels were 4 stars and above and customer service in all of these hotels were seriously lacking, all apart from this hotel. The staff here are happy to assist you in any way they seem fit. I've always had a problematic Ipad and when I called reception to ask if the internet was working or if it was my ipad they sent the technical representative directly to my room to reconfigure my settings! (I wish I had this months back :)

The rooms are huge with two big double beds. air conditioning, fridge, toiletries and plasma tv and very clean, from what I can see every room faces the pool and has a balcony.

The food is great, moroccan cuisine all you can eat style buffet 7-11pm I think. internaitonal food like pasta pizza and steaks etc available all day. The pool is good also and the poolside bar in the evening is very nice. Especially with a water pipe :).

I will be working in Fes over the next few months and I certainly won't be changing after the horrors of the other so called 4 Star plus hotels.

Good price, Good food, even better staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights as part of a group tour. Bathroom dilapidated and poorly maintained. Took 3 phone calls to reception to get a roll of toilet paper. No bedpread on either bed and cover missing from the one duvet. Unreliable lifts. Buffet breakfast and dinner were OK. Large pool and surrounds. Nice kids' playground, but not well-maintained.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the pool to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After spending 2 weeks in Morocco I know that hotels are managed much better than this hotel . The brush-off phrase "this is Morocco" does not apply. For a hotel that caters to large tour groups at one time, it should have better management.
The front line staff worked very hard constantly putting out 'fires' caused by no systems or adult management. Food vas poor, rooms not well thought out and shabby.
At first glimpse things looked ok that that is where it ended.
--AC did not work, was a toasty 81 degrees F in the room, technician insisted it was working, nothing was even blowing from the vent.
-- Closet sliding door was struck shut, appeared to be painted to the tracks.
-- Bathtub drain was clogged, shower water from night before was still there in the morning.
--Safe did not work, ends up the printed directions were incorrect.
--No clothes hangers.
--Fridge did not cool although freezer section was cold.
--Not enough light in the room. The one very low table lamp between the two beds was so low the light did not shine above the mattress.
-- Evening buffet was very bland, would not eat there again.
--Breakfast buffet poorly laid out and poor selections bland, massive congestion for several hundred diners. The two coffee machines dispensed only one cup at a time, long lines up to 15 people at each machine just fora cup of coffee. Not worth the wait . Not enough staff to keep food line replenished although staff was working as fast as they could.
--dining room staff could not keep tables cleared and reset (knife, fork and paper napkin). I wiped off used silverware from someone in my group and used it as I could not get clean silverware.
--We returned for the day at 1600 only to find workers in our bathroom with part of the ceiling and wall taken apart and not a clear idea when they would be gone and the room tidied up.
--We were eventually moved to another room that still had challenges: shabbier furniture, single bed-side lamp light fixture worked intermittently, and still no working air conditioner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pickalbatros Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Royal Mirage

Address: Avenue des F. A. R., Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Fes
#29 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pickalbatros Royal Mirage 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mirage Fes Hotel is a modern hotel, but one which has been designed to reflect the rich past of the city in which it is situated. Its 271 air-conditioned rooms including 27 non smoking rooms, 7 Junior Suites and 5 Royal Suites, all modern, elegantly furnished and offer easy access to guests with wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Pickalbatros Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Royal Mirage Hotel Fes
Royal Mirage Hotel Fes
Fes Royal Mirage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Royal Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.