We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre hotel ,favored mainly by local tour operators” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pickalbatros Royal Mirage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pickalbatros Royal Mirage to your Saves list
Pickalbatros Royal Mirage
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue des F. A. R., Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel ,favored mainly by local tour operators”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Spacious rooms with twin large beds with adequate mattresses but in need of renovation. All adjacent rooms have joint doors which might prove usefull for families but is a cause of security ( no special locks) and privacy (no sound proofing) problems. The hotel seems to be favored by Moroccan tour operators (as we were) as it was packed with french and japanese groups which stayed for a day or two. Wi-fi reception is good on the loby and the pool and mediocre on the second floor rooms. Food is blunt and tourist oriented with no local flavor and after the three diarrhea cases in our thirteen-people group, food seemed not well preserved too. Given the fact we were travelling as an organised group i cannot judge on the prices, but considering thenumber of other groups one can safely suggest that hotel management targets large numbers of guests than happy guests.

Room Tip: If travelling solo, insist on room with no joint doors (if any)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Pickalbatros Royal Mirage, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Feedback, We have started to completely separate some of the joining doors from an adequate number of rooms, We have also started installing the Special locks on the joining rooms doors’ due time: End of August we had to seriously juggle the operation of renovation as you were more important to us to be provided with a comfortable stay. Again we extend our Thank you for your feedback and we hope you come and visit us again in the new rooms that are being renovated Art-deco. We will attach some of the new rooms’ pictures on Trip advisor for you to see.

Thank you

Pickalbatros Royal Mirage Fes General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    104
    95
    31
    28
See reviews for
69
79
32
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Hotel Royal Mirage is an OK hotel. It is clean, has spacious rooms, pool, and nicely decorated lobby. The wireless internet is available in lobby and around the pool, reaching also into the rooms. However, connection strength in the rooms is not the best, and using computer or VoIP was virtually not possible.

The food was also OK: as rule of thumb, food was too much adopted to general tourist taste, but their chicken tajine was amazing. However, menu card with selection of pizza and pasta, and spanish music around the pool just did not give you feeling being in Morocco.

The pool is very clean, and it was a pleasure to go for several rounds of swimming after exhausting working day.

Overall, general impression is not bad, but there were several things that makes me consider to not choose this hotel again:
1. Staff that always tried to break in the room. Literally. Morning, 8 o'clock, just having shower - cleaning lady knocks on the door, and immediately opens it with her all-mighty key. Evening, around 23h, someone just tries to open my room door. Next morning I had fund to observe another cleaning lady trying forcefully to open my terrace door - and trying so hardly that there were traces left on the wall. Had to keep chain on the doors all the time!
2. Joint doors. I was in the hotel with my colleague, and we got neighbouring rooms. However, rooms were connected through the inner doors without any locks, offering only security of double doors where one side of handle is removed (and if you ever tried to break in your parents rooms while child, you know it is not really a good obstruction). Since I knew my neighbour was my colleague, it was ok. But if I would be traveling alone, I would be seriously concerned about strangers living "next door" and the safety level in such room.
3. Bug bites. I stayed in a room on ground floor, which had an advantage of having garden just outside the window and easy access to pool. However, after couple days my legs and arms were fool of bug bites. Either from room, either (more likely) from outside. Sorry, resting in place to serve as bug meal... Not an ideal option for vacation.

And - although hotel in general is clean, they do not take it so serious with bathrooms. Could clearly see traces of previous guest in the toilet, and lime has been collecting in the bathrooms for at least 5 years...

Overall conclusion: it is not a bad hotel for short stay (if you can come along with intrusive staff, bugs might be not an option in higher floors). But if you seek to experience more Morocco, you should look for another options.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I have just come back from 6 nights for a conference elsewhere and then a day long seminar in the hotel itself.
It was just what we needed. Good value, friendly and efficient staff, lots of space, lovely pool, free wifi connection, clean and comfortable

Room Tip: We were pool side but I think other rooms were on the outside. Poolside was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

It was the worst hotel ever! Old rooms, terrible bathroom, the restaurant was similar to a ship's restaurant (smelly as well), the lobby extremely kitch!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Pickalbatros Royal Mirage, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your Feedback, We have constructed 2 new Outlets Restaurants and 2 Terraces with Plasma Screens & Outdoor fans with one pool view and the other street view, regarding the room, Unfortunately it seems that you were housed in one of the original hotel rooms that we received as we have taken over the Royal Mirage to Pickalbatros Hotels, We have started to completely separate some of the joining doors from an adequate number of rooms, We have also started installing the Special locks on the joining rooms doors’ due time: End of August, we also have renovated 60 rooms thus far and upgraded 150 rooms, we had to seriously juggle the operation of renovation as you were more important to us to be provided with a comfortable stay. Again we extend our Thank you for your feedback and we hope you come and visit us again in the new rooms that are being renovated Art-deco. We will attach some of the new rooms’ pictures on Trip advisor for you to see.

Thank you

Pickalbatros Royal Mirage Fes General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

A luxurious big and spacious hotel with a service of quality, Delicious food the staff were friendly and the service was of 5 stars The personnel of the hotel from reception to the floors were professional and courteous in addition the free WIFI services in the rooms, a great location because it was near to the old medina, i hope that this is not the last times that I comes to fez i hope so.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very Nice hotel, Hotel nicely decorated, the room was clean, the Restaurants and service have a good quality, the food was interesting. Good location middle main area in Fes is perfect, just had a wonderful time. You ‘r near the boulevard of the main area of fez, just go it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We where here for 4 days with a group (over 25 people) of friends for a wedding-party and everyone just had a wonderfull time.
Rooms were clean and very comfortable. Also breakfast was great!
The location is perfect, you are near the boulevard so you can go for a walk anytime and we also just relaxed at the pool and exercised in the gym.

We really enjoyed our stay very much. Really nice!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pickalbatros Royal Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickalbatros Royal Mirage

Address: Avenue des F. A. R., Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pickalbatros Royal Mirage 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mirage Fes Hotel is a modern hotel, but one which has been designed to reflect the rich past of the city in which it is situated. Its 271 air-conditioned rooms including 27 non smoking rooms, 7 Junior Suites and 5 Royal Suites, all modern, elegantly furnished and offer easy access to guests with wheelchairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Pickalbatros Royal Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickalbatros Royal Mirage Hotel Fes
Royal Mirage Hotel Fes
Fes Royal Mirage Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pickalbatros Royal Mirage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.