We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snobby, rude and pricey” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes to your Saves list
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Norwich
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Snobby, rude and pricey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My partner and I thought we would treat ourselves on our last day in Fes so we splashed out and paid for a night in the Sofitel Palais Jamai. We lived to regret that decision - from the moment we arrived the staff were incredibly rude, suspicious and tried to overcharge us at every step of the way during our stay there. Breakfast was not included, dinner was alarmingly expensive (even in comparison to restaurants in London!!), and there was nowhere nearby to go and get food from. It was so far away from anything else that we would have needed to take a taxi. So we resorted to eating dinner there but the staff looked down their noses at us when we declined wine at dinner. My partner (who had been fine eating all sorts of street food for the past 3 weeks) chose the beef and was running to the toilet all night with terrible diarrhoea. The staff on the desk the next morning were incredibly disinterested, unhelpful and uncaring when I told them. When we woke up the next morning, we practically ran out of there as fast as we could so that they wouldn't charge us for anything else. An incredibly unpleasant feeling - they made us feel uncomfortable the entire time and gave us two very bad days in an otherwise glorious month long trip in Morocco. You'd be better off going to one of the many lovely riads in the city centre and trying out traditional, authentic restaurants and chatting to the pretty much entirely friendly population.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear,
Dear Michael Franklin,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamaï. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Karam AKJOUJ

Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    168
    80
    38
    22
See reviews for
124
268
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

To be fair, the whole time we were in Fes, it was cold and rainy. We had a suite with a huge terrace that would have been lovely had it been warm outside. It was good for photos of the entire city. At 5 AM the call to prayer could be heard loud and clear in the darkness. Fes is a large, thriving city and we would have like to have stayed longer. The hotel is well-run, clean with friendly staff- again, male housekeepers. There was no door between the bedroom and living room so if one person is awake and the other sleeping, you have to function in the dark. The internet service was pretty bad and was down the whole second day. I was told by a resident that this was the best hotel in Fes. It needs some work to match some other top hotels in the world. The wood and tile work is magnificent.

Room Tip: Get a suite with a terrace overlooking Fes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feed back
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you another time in Fès!!

Best regards,

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had been traveling quite a bit in celebration of our 34th wedding anniversary. As a surprise, I had emailed the hotel in advance in order to get us the best upgrade. I had to laugh when they showed us to out to our "suite". It was the Royal Suite and it certainly was. The tile and inlay work
in the walls ceilings and doors was spectacular. I posted some photos.

The tile work throughout the hotel was fantastic and the restaurant was very good.
Moroccan wine was very good as well.

The hotel had beautiful grounds and sits at the entrance to the Medina. We had a very short stay in Fez, but loved Morocco and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Get the Royal Suite- A friend used the spa and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai on your visit to Fès.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We share all the feedback with the management and staff .
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Fès.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had 2 nights here earlier this month and loved the whole place. The view from my balcony was sublime, my room was so comfortable and all aspects of service were first rate. It was a perfect starting point for wandering the old medina. I wish I had been able to stay longer and use the pool as it was such a pretty area and the weather was warm. I hope I will be able to rerun one day.

Room Tip: As long as you have a balcony overlooking the old town you will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wondreful stay with us at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai.

Our staff work exceptionally hard yo make sure that every guest feels special.

thank you so mach for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerely,

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel just outside the medina. Get a room that has a balcony overlooking the medina -- and make sure that it has the classic Moroccan decorations -- not the bland Eurocentric roomstyle! Enjoy the spa by having an hammam (best cure ever for jet lag!). Don't be put off by the Sofitel booking policies on their website. The Palais Jamai staff themselves are welcoming, helpful, friendly, and provide an excellent place to stay and for breakfast (and for that hammam!).

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Be sure that your room overlooks the medina. And -- you want a room with Moroccan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai.
We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.
We share all the feedback with the management and saff specialy AZALARAB
Such feed backs helping our ambassadors motivations and recognition.
Our ambassadors work exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.

Thank you so much for staying with us .

We hope to see you in neat future.

Sincerely,

AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel is nice. We were very much impressed by the landscaping and the garden inside the property. The room was comfortable and had a nice view of the city of Fes. Breakfast was very good but not as good as in Sofitel, Marrakech, could certainly be improved. Hotel staffs are very friendly; especially Mr. Az-El Arab made our stay delightful.
One note of caution is booking a walking guide through the hotel concierge. If this is your first time, just be aware that Fes is an overhyped and overpriced City. Gift items will cost you at least four times more than in Casablanca, Marrakech or Rabat. Our walking Medina guide, engaged through the hotel was furious as we did not buy too many gift items He wanted to cut short the tour. He would also leave us in between tour (in a shop or outside) and vanish for a significant amount of time. Cannot remember his name but he is a balding gentleman with a thin mustache. At one time, the shop keeper threw us out as he had another guide coming in with people.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the thrid floor with Medina view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Google Translation
Dear sir,

Je suis très heureux de lire le commentaire que vous avez ecrit apropos de votre sejour au Sofitel Palais Jamai, plus que je suis trés ravie de vous remercier de la part de tout le personnel de notre établissement de nous avoir choisi, tout en souhaitons vous recevoir pour votre prochain séjour et vous servir une meilleure prestation.

Karam AKJOUJ
Gust Realations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My friend and I decided to splurge and stay for three nights here rather than a riad (saved that for Marrakech. And I posted a review of the amazing one we chose). The good: the location is great. Make sure to get a room facing the medina. It's perched on a hill with spectacular views of the city. And the bed was the most comfortable we experienced in morocco. But the rest was disappointing, considering it's supposed to be as high end as it is.
The service at the meals was slllloooowww. The lobby could use an update and our room was dirty. Not dirty like uncleaned, but dusty in vents etc. but what was really hard, was it felt like the staff had an agenda. They want you to eat at their restaurants, use their drivers etc. if they recommend something they are getting an obvious kick back. Again this is common in morocco and to a degree you need to embrace it but at a hotel of this level it was frustrating. We wanted directions to a restaurant and they said they didn't know where it was and told us we should eat in. So by the end of our stay we felt a bit trapped to the grounds unless we had someone with us we could trust. Also, be warned of the bees at breakfast. It's annoying at the least,but if bees scare you or you are allergic, breakfast will be hard to enjoy. It pains me to write this because they are always exceptions with certain staff members who were great but this was our overall experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GR-SPJ, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamaï. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
AMAL EL ARFAOUI GUEST RELATIONS MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#31 Family Hotel in Fes
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.