We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing rooms wonderfull staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 85 hotels in Fes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing rooms wonderfull staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

On arrival at midnight I was shown to a room that felt like a prison cell.

The Internet did not work, the electrical system was less than safe, extension wires everywhere and there was no free standing shower, not even in the bath.

I spoke with reception they tried to get the Internet fixed but to no avail, at 1.30 am I gave up and went to bed, they put me into another room in the morning which was ok.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly especially Aziz Lemkouem in reception, why do hotels embarrass their staff by selling rooms not fit for purpose ?

It is the staff who feel the frustrations of the paying guest and this hotel is not cheap, perhaps the GM should sleep in these rooms and see if he feels his guests are getting value for money !!!!!

I love the Sofitel in Marrakech, this hotel is letting the company down and makes you think, should I change my aleigance to another brand ?

Room Tip: I could not recomend either of the rooms I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELFES, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamaï. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    143
    71
    31
    19
See reviews for
106
236
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

From the balcony overlooking the swimming pool and the garden, you have a great view of the old Medina. From the entrance of the hotel you can easily walk into the Medina. Ask the hotel to provide you with a good guide. The Medina in Fes is a maze and labyrinth,and has an impressive number of sites to see. If you try on your own, you will most likely miss important sites and you risk ending up going in circles.
This was our third visit to Palais Jamai and it retains its charm. The location on the entrance to the Medina is a plus and make sure to ask for a room overlooking the garden (they do cost a little more, but it's worth it).
We and our friends had two rooms on the fifth floor. It was impossible to use the WiFi in the rooms. I had to go into the hallway to make connection. A definite disappointment given the rather steep price for the room. Again given the high price I found the breakfast buffet limited. No smoked salmon, no bacon and no poached eggs. I know we are in muslim country, but the hotel caters to international guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELFES, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai
We also thank you for the review of our hotel .
We share all the feed back with the managment and staff

We hope to see you in near future.

sincerely,

JOLANDA SADNI ZIANE GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place is stuck in the past, living a a reputation that perhaps at one time meant something. TIred best describes the ambience and the staff. The room with it's old carpet and lack of maintenance comes immediately to ones attention. This of course makes the room not a nice place to come back to at the end of a day of sightseeing and hiking through souks and the like.The restaurant in the hotel is apparently affected by rest of the hotel. The dining room was stuffy and caught up in another era drapes and furniture that appear to have been in place since the original opening. The food was not much better it did not bring us cheer or delight.. All the staff seem to be hustling for tips. Sorry Sofitel we found the Palais to be so far from our expectations the we changed hotels after one nights stay of a five day visit. By the way we were charged for the entire stay even though we were not provided with what was promised to be a stay in one of the best hotels in Fes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

on our recent stay in Fes - the hotel was wonderful - beautiful palace converted into a hotel so lots of moroccan touches all throughout. great service by all the staff. rooms a bit dated as an old building but very well appointed & clean with great views of the fes. very close to the old medina. only downside was the breakfast was average at best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELFES, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feed back
I will share it with all the staff . We are very happy you appreciated your stay in Fès

Hope to see you soon.

JOLANDA SADNI ZIANE GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently spent 3 night in Fes at the Palais Jamal. The hotel and grounds are gorgeous. We selected rooms that overlooked the city and they were worth every penny. While I agree the rooms are old (the building dates back to the late 1800s), they were comfortable and elegant. The beds were luxurious. Our room had a balcony and watching the sunrise over Fes and listening to the call to prayer as the sun was setting were highlights of our trip.

The staff and the overall service were as good as it gets. We felt like royalty throughout our stay. The lobby bar is wonderful. The restaurants were top quality and beautiful and the spa was really nice. The breakfast buffet was filled with fresh delicacies and local Moroccan food....so amazing in variety and quality.

My only complaint was that the air-conditioning had not yet been turned on in the hotel, so the rooms were a a bit stuffy at night without the balcony doors open.

I would return to this hotel in a heart beat (and hope to do so as soon as possible). Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Splurge for a medina view room. You will not regret or forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELFES, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feed back ...
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you another time in Fès!
Be sure, we will share your review with all the staff.

Hope to see you soon in Fès.

JOLANDA SADNI ZIANE GENERAL MANAGER.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a 6 hour drive from Tangier we were tired and a bit dusty, but warmly welcomed by the front drive and front office staff. Room is tired and in need of a little freshening up, but the magnificent view of the Medina quickly helped divert our focus. We used tried the Moroccan restaurant, had breakfast at the hotel, used the pool, spa, concierge coordinated a guide, dinner reservations, cab service and babysitting. Everyone we encountered from the front drive, housekeepers, concierge, and babysitter was very warm, friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Medina view highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELFES, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that a wonderful stay us at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamai

Our staff work exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.

thank you so much for staying with us.

We hope to see you in near future.

Sincerly,

JOLANDA SADNI ZIANE GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here as part of a National Geographic tour of Morocco. Fes was our final destination, a very interesting city. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating. We ate in the French restaurant two nights and the Moroccan restaurant one night, which I missed because I was ill. We enjoyed our dinners at the hotel. There was a beautiful pool, but we did not have time to use it. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOFITELFES, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank uou very much for your feed back
well share it with all the staff. We are very happy you appreciated your stay in Fès!!!

Hope to see you soon.

JOLANDA SADNI ZIANE general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fes
#21 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#28 Family Hotel in Fes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.