We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel in an unforgettable city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes to your Saves list
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Concord, Ma. USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in an unforgettable city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel exudes opulence from the moment you walk in the door. The zelige everywhere, beautiful views over the poolls and garden, and being offered tea after a long journey is so rewarding, and the service here is impeccable. Our suite overlooked the medina and at night we could hear the call to prayer. We spent quite a bit of time in the medina (steps away), but to see it from our balcony above was another experience. This is such a sumptuous and beautifully maintained hotel; the gardens are extensive and beautiful, and the gis very nice. During the day my children were given complimentary henna tatoos which were gorgeous. Def.ly a perfect first stop for Morocco (although hard to get to as most flights go to Cas).

Room Tip: You definitely want to overlook the medina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelpj, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Fès Palais Jamaï. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Amal EL ARFAOUI
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    162
    77
    36
    22
See reviews for
120
261
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is by the far the best place to stay in Fes, but it is not upto 5 star standard. The lobby area is very nice, as is the bar area and the rooms itself is nice but the bathrooms are awful and definitely need upgrading.

The bar area is next to the hotel lobby and you can have a drink on the outside terrace which is lovely as it overlooks Fes old town and has to be the best view in the city. Next to the view is one of the famous pigeon houses where the locals collect the pigeon poo to make the leather soft, fascinating.

The restaurants downstairs are really good, we only ate at the moroccan one and the tagine was out of this world, it was amazing. I could not get enough of the food it was truly brilliant. Breakfast was very good and a really good selection and service.

The pool area was superb and was not busy at all, no germans reserving the sun loungers, and it was really quiet and pleasant.

The rooms itself was very good but the bathrooms are awful. The toilet is separate to the bathroom and has a shower head next to the toilet, disgusting. and when you shut the door in the little room it feels so dingy and horrible. The main bathroom is pretty bad too as it was a shower bath with shower curtain, i have never known a first class hotel to have shower curtains so this was a real let down.

Overall we were treated really well, the staff were very helpful and polite and did anything to help us. I would return here and recommend it.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Public areas are nicely decorated with mosaics and other architechural features. Dining terrace for breakfast and dinner overlook nice, large pool area and hills to the south. End of bar terrace has panoramic view of medina. Stairway down from pool leads to attractive gardens and fountains and a small shop supplies much needed sunscreen for purchase. A car park is located next to hotel entrance which is guarded and safe. Our first night for dinner featured musicians and surprisingly, a belly dancer. Chicken tajine and pastilla were terrific! Room was modern and well air-conditioned, a relief for visiting in July. Enjoyed having a balcony for the cooler evening and the pool is wonderful for a cool-off during the midday heat.
Many thanks to concierge Jamal for his guidance and expertise to our questions. And many thanks to Bahija, who leads the breakfast crew; my friend and I were late for our first breakfast and she halted the removal of platters so we could eat ( we weren't late the next morning! ). A splendid place to stay.
Only one annoyance; the pool is too deep. I'm 5'8" and if I stand at the "shallow" end, my head is underwater. One should be able to stand or sit somewhere in the pool to cool off instead of constantly treading water. A poor decision from the designer.

Room Tip: You'll love having a private balcony with your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

After days and days of driving through the hot desert and staying at rundown 1/2 star establishments, I was teeming for excitement to stay at the Sofitel. To my severe disappointment I was greeted with the worst customer service I have ever received at any hotel I’ve ever stayed. I would have rather slept in a taxi then have stayed at this hotel. The staff was rude at the front desk and the on site Manager was a NIGHTMARE. Even the restaurant charged me for a “salad” which I sent back because it ended up being small of food I couldn’t even decipher and the waiters were too rude to enlighten me. Never would I ever stay at this hotel even if I was given free accommodations.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice, just avoid the staff as much as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed about 3 waking hours at Sofitel Palais Jamai and in those short hours we were verbally abused and talked down to like infantile third class citizens. There were 4 of us, all girls. We had planned to check in at 10pm and check out at 5am so we booked only 1 room to crash. They have a maximum occupancy of 2 per room. Instead of politely telling us about their policy and offering options such as additional rooms at a discounted price or addition cots with extra fees like service industry folk often do, they sent JOLANDA SADNI up to school us. She knocks loudly and right when I opened the door she started scolding. Arm on hip and finger pointing, the whole 5th grade teacher deal. She kept saying “You are trying to cheat us. You should know better. You must leave the room. You must find somewhere else to stay”. Then they sent security up to escort us downstairs (no joke). The whole way down the elevator JOLANDA was incessant about teaching us a lesson on “ethics” even after we had already told her we were now very aware of the maximum occupancy rule. When we got to the front desk there were now 3 people lecturing us, none of them offering us options. We ended up paying $200 for an additional room (our idea not theirs). Everything about the hotel lives up to Sofitel standards but honestly I wouldn’t recommend anyone staying there based on the service alone. The entire staff needs to attend Hospitality Training 101. In addition, the place is a minefield of hidden charges. The staff will stare at you blankly and pretend they don’t speak English when you attempt to refute the charges.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sofitelpj, Directeur général at Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
First of all, thank you for have taken the time to write about your experience.

Let me start by introducing my self : my name is Jolanda Sadni Ziane, General Manager of the Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai, because we never had the change to meet. The lady you have met was our Duty Manager for that evening.

If she handled your situation not according to your satisfaction then I apologize and I will follow up with her.
On the other hand I have to say that she respected our safety and security procedures. Also according to the moroccan law, we have to declare all our guests who stay in our hotel. Then for our Hotel procedures we can't have two persons checking in and two persons just walking in and go up to the room. I am convinced that you will certainly understand that we have to be very strict on our procedures, this of course for the benfit of our guests.

Once again I apologize for the inconvenience.

Cordially,
Jolanda Sadni Ziane
Sofitel Fes Palais Jamai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in a lovely riad nearby but went to Sofitel to use the pool. We didn't mind having to pay and decided we'd have a drink to . OMG. They charged us €50 to swim and €28 for 2 drinks. The hotel seemed empty. The staff were falsely nice.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very nice location in the medina and a beautiful palace makes this hotel quite memorable. Common areas were worn down and stinky. Staffs English was poor and breakfast was drab. Exposed pipes in bathroom, an incorrectly calculated bill (in hotels favor of course), a wakeup call 20 minutes late and turn down service that oddly just changed a toilet paper roll are not things found in a 5 star hotel. Beautiful grouds and pool area make me think this hotel was likely 5 star 10 years ago. Hope this helps. 

Oh, if u do book here buy the breakfast with ur booking online for an extra 5euro or else you will pay 20 euro onsite. 

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#28 Family Hotel in Fes
#33 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.