We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But For The Sleep Deprivation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 85 hotels in Fes
Weston, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel But For The Sleep Deprivation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

This six-storey hotel is a converted 19th century palace but the rooms are fully modernized with silent HVAC, etc. The hotel is on the edge of a cliff overlooking the valley which contains the ancient city. All rooms facing the valley have a functional balcony with table and chairs and a spectacular view. Their downside is that the valley contains close to 300 mosques, all of which emit their respective loud (amplified) calls-to-prayer for about 10 minutes at around 0500. In the unlikely event you manage to go back to sleep after that, there’s a repeat performance at around 0630. Rooms facing the other way are probably a better bet for those who prefer a good night’s sleep in the customary ultra-comfy Sofitel bed.

Other issues with the room include very dim lighting and zero outlets to plug in any laptop or cellphone – one of the already too-few lamps has to be unplugged for this purpose. The very expensive internet service is slow and unstable. No tea/coffee making equipment is provided, and as per standard Sofitel practice my request for an electric kettle was refused – very annoying.

Maintenance does not seem to have a high priority. The phone on my desk was dead throughout our stay. The shower overflowed when I first used it; although a room attendant mopped up the flood straight away, the problem with the drain was not addressed and I had to restrict the flow of water to avoid another flood every time I used the shower. The strange electronic room key malfunctioned late one evening by opening the door but then not allowing the door to latch closed.

Service, including room service, is exemplary throughout the hotel. Notwithstanding its sundry irritations, I would say this is an acceptable place to stay in Fès, faute de mieux.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    143
    71
    31
    19
See reviews for
106
237
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011 via mobile

Nice food. Overpriced for Morocco but view is great.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

What a fabulous hotel! It was ideal for a year-end vacation with my partner. Superb location, facilities, service and view. Very nice spa. Excellent food. I really would recommend this place if you are looking for some luxurious pampering.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Dated rooms. Poor service. Over-priced, poor quality food. Not what you would expect from a "five star" Sofitel hotel.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

A quick getaway weekend to Fes. Out of season was inexpensive and there was a three for two nights offer on too. Grand old fashioned hotel with lovely swimming pool and spa facilities. Staff were extremely helpful and recommended restaurants and the best local guides to make excursions around the Medina. Of course they know what shop to direct you too but they have a knowledge of the city that is unsurpassed. Very nice dip into a luxury hotel on the edge of a Medieval city. The International restaurant in the hotel served very good food.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Stayed at Palais Jamai Fes for four nights thru New Years. The minimum stay was
four nights plus it was mandatory that we have dinner at the hotel which was an equivalent of $270.00 p/person. Came to more than the rate of our room. We liked the location and reserved although we felt that $400.00+ for the room and in addition having to pay so much for a dinner show was excessive. We had to change rooms after the first night since it was right near the lobby and the noise did not stop throughout the night. With the exception of the view of the Medina and the beautiful grounds, I would not recommend this hotel. From the moment we walked into the lobby we could see that it was outdated with old leather couches from the 60's. This was confirmed when we went to our rooms. Old bathrooms, old carpeting and poorly maintained overall.

One night since we were quite tired we wanted a quick snack at the bar, it took 1 1/2 hours to get two sandwiches and some drinks. The staff was untrained, did not know how to take an order and in addition when the food came the bread was dry and stale. There was no one we could speak to about this. One of the young waiters we befriended said that they don't pay the help and there was not one waiter that new what they were doing. This is not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. What a disappointment!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes

Address: Bab Guissa, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Fes
#21 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#28 Family Hotel in Fes
#30 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Palais Jamaï preserves the authenticity of Fez, the spiritual and cultural capital of Morocco. This hotel was built in 1879, in the finest Moorish style, and became the residence of the Grand Vizir of Jamaï. At this Morocco luxury hotel, you willdiscover Moroccan, international and French cuisine in 3 restaurants, a spa, a piano bar, and 5 meeting rooms for up to 200 people. A swimming pool, tennis court... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes Hotel Fes
Accor Palais Jamai Fes
Sofitel Fes
Fes Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Palais Jamai Fes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.