We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace restoration is excellent - 5 stars. Service - 2 stars. Spa excellent - 5 stars.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Save Saved
You added Palais Faraj Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 86 hotels in Fes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Palace restoration is excellent - 5 stars. Service - 2 stars. Spa excellent - 5 stars.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Upon arriving at the Palace your breath is taken away by the beauty of the building, from the ornate entrance to amazing courtyard and interiors, and especially the original cedar wood library.

We were upgraded (a very nice surprise) without asking, and the receptionist / concierge (with spectacles) was very very good. Couldn't be more eager to please or to assist you in setting up excursions, restaurant bookings, and also amazingly keen to hear your experiences when you arrived back from your outing. Top class.

Spa treatments and set up is also superb, although receptionists speak little english. Always a great treatment and a very good black soap scrub and hammam. We bought lots of goodies to take home including their lovely bathrobes.

Ok so the not so great details (sorry never like to be negative but this was outrageous):

- the Manager that everyone raves on about on here was awful. He ponced about in his shiny suits, barely managed to eek out a 'good morning' or 'good afternoon' and whenever asked to help with anything managed to slopy shoulder the responsibility on to someone else.

- the rest of the main reception staff (except lovely young guy with spectacles) were atrocious. No request or minor question was treated with any respect or any immediacy in carrying it out. They might aswell have been on holiday too !!

- the pick up and drop off from the airport were very prompt, and be aware you will be strapped in to a formula one race everytime you get into the hotel grande taxis - they will swerve through traffic and near miss head on collisions for fun. Joy!

- restaurant staff on the whole were good at breakfast time, for dinner (in what is supposed the second best restaurant in Fez) was terrible. First they stepped on my wifes feet, then bashed her chair, then dropped her bread roll and proceeded to pick it up and put it on her plate !! Then when we asked to split the bill with another room we dined with (half and half) there ensued a half an hour debacle of fawlty towers proportions where nobody new how to work the computer / bill / and there was a lot of shouting and finger pointing - in front of the hotel owner...

- .....which leads me onto the hotel owner - who was there everyday for most of our stay except for the Eid days, where he promised there would be a celebratory feast for breakfast and dinner. Was there? Nope. Nicht. Nada. Nothing. He witnessed all these debacles and did nothing to assist.

- The final nail in the coffin - the hotel bill. We asked four times during the week to see the bill and four times they failed to deliver, until the night before departure we sat at reception and refused to leave until they produced a bill. We were leaving at 5am the following morning and didnt want to check a one hundred line bill at 430am! So they produced a god awful fuss and argument about getting a properly printed off bill for us - and even though we had paid for the rooms in advance with Booking.com - they still put the room rate on the bill, and also messed up almost everything else, then their printer broke, then they managed to have a stand up row with another customer who also wanted to see the bill.....it was beyond fawlty towers and now a mockery - 5 star hotel and service - no chance !!!

Overall if you want an amazing location, beautiful building, one very competent receptionist, some amazing spa treatments, and a whole headache of other abysmal service levels - stay here.

Bon Voyage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfaraj, Responsable relations publiques at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Nevertheless, we were shocked by your comments as far as all our team including the manager confirms that you where satisfied until the last day. And that no complaint has been formulated during your stay.

He also doesn’t understand how you can accuse him of not taking the time to assist you while he personally helped you to have a doctor in the hotel during the Eid which is the greatest celebration holiday in Morocco.

You also confirm that you have met with the owner, but no complaint was formulated. Instead of that you talked about the Eid celebration where It seams that there is a misunderstanding as far as he told you that the ritual of Abraham’s sacrifice takes time at the moment of the breakfast, and that after that there is a special meal at the time of Lunch, (not dinner) which was true as we served Eïd special skewers at lunch time, you replied that the sacrifice is not something that would interest you...

We also checked about your complaint concerning the bill :

The receptionist with spectacles confirmed that you asked for the bill on Thursday to have an idea about it and that he delivered it to you. That was 3 days before your departure on Sunday.

The day before your departure, which is Saturday, you also asked for the final bill and you could get it before 4pm. You finally paid it at 10pm.

It is also unthinkable that a waiter will take a piece of bread from the floor and put it back on the plate even in a 2 star hotel. So if it was the case why have you waited until you left the hotel to complain about it?

We are sorry to see that something has changed your mind so radically about our hotel just before the departure. We admit that we had a problem with the printer and we are sorry for it but these things happen everywhere and it is not a reason to attack our hotel the way you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    29
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
133
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in town but it could become better. I have booked the Deluxe suite including breakfast. What a pity that at the entrance the doorman was not behaving very well. He was talking to a man in a very relaxed position with his arms at his head and crossing his legs.
So we have cared about our luggage ourself. The hotel has a swimming pool and it looked clean. Staff is caring about the pool. The room itself was very spacious and has a size of about 55 sqm. But what a pity there was a mouldy smell in the room. There are 2 bathrooms with separated toilets, bath tubs and showers. The TV was a little bit small and not in an upright position. The room looked elegant and it was quiet. No noice was coming into the room. The hotel only has had a few number of guests. What a pity that the staff in the breakfast or restaurant room was not really caring about the few guests. 90% of the tables have had no serviettes. Of course there was no marmelade jam or jelly on the table. To bring it to the guests needed almost 10 minutes although that morning there were only 2 tables seated with guests. The tables outside on the terrace with perfect view from the 3 rd floor were not decorated with blankets or table cloth. After informing the waitress that I wanted to get coffee it was not served. Then a waiter came to ask me for my wish...The selection of breakfast was poor and at the level of a 3 star hotel, If you need to visit the toilettes you will see that the finish of interiour work for tiles, walls, painting and fittings has been done in an awful primitive way. Nobody had controlled and checked the work or workers, This is a no go in such hotel. It is damaging the image of this wonderful hotel and the same is doing the staff which is offering a poor service.
So there should be done a lot of things to rise the standard of this good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay in this resort. Very beautiful luxurious comfortable room. Staff very friendly. We definitely recommend my friends n relatives back home in Canada. We will come back. Thank u to all for a pleasant service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

During my last trip there, I was amazed by the Luxury of the Palais Faraj! Wonderful decor and spacious place! Wonderful personnel, 5-Star Service! Definitely returning! Best regards to the Spa personnel. And the food! how can I forget the Food! Astounding place! Excellent service again! Without forgetting the manager's visit to ensure our comfort! Thank you, Mr. Khaled! Keep up the good work! Will definitely recommend and will definitely be back! Thank you for making our stay enjoyable!

Compliments from Cape Town, South Africa!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The suites are very Moroccan mapped and the décor is beautifully done.
I stayed in suite 14 with a very beautiful view on the terrace
The furnitures are very refined and the decor is sublime with a very spacious bathroom and appropriate for couples.
My girlfriend tried the spa and recommends to try it.. its very relaxing….
Breakfast was always of excellent quality with fresh food.
Thanks to the manager Mr Khaled who was always present to serve our well being during our stay…
Hope to see you soon sir… very good service.. cheeerss
Poonyth from Miami.

Room Tip: suite 14.. excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is relatively new and the decor is beautifully done. It is themed on the medina and makes extensive use of local ceramics. The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated. The spa is also well recommended for those seeking some relaxation. The medina is in walking distance and a guide organised by the hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Away from the tumult, Palais Faraj sits alone. It has a wonderful staff and a multitude of beautifully appointed nooks where one can sit and relax after day of sightseeing. Our duplex suite was amazing and worth the price. Hotel is appropriate for those who appreciate luxury and don't require to be in the midst of everything. Lovely pool area. A chance to see how palais living once was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Faraj Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Faraj Suites & Spa

Address: 16-18 Quartier Ziat, Derb Bensouda, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Faraj Suites & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique luxury is taken to the next level on the doorstep of Fez’s Medina, where unparalleled comfort meets exquisite artistic flair and rich Moroccan tradition at Palais Faraj Suites & Spa.Explosions of colour and examples of ornate intricacy infuse the design-inspired interiors of this luxury boutique hotel. Each of the suites is a haven of meticulously mastered style, immersed in beauty and adorned with exquisite features. Elaborately carved wooden pieces and comfort-steeped designer furnishings mingle with vibrant tiling, sculpted ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palais Faraj Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Faraj Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.