We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy place in the heart of the old city Fez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Bague de Kenza

Save Saved
You added Riad La Bague de Kenza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad La Bague de Kenza
19 Derb Lamkaousse Haffarine, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 165 Fes B&B and Inns
Tafraoute, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“cozy place in the heart of the old city Fez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

by luck we found this great riad after calling few others and found that all of them are full
fouad the guy from the riad was soo kind and helpful to wait for us in the parking of palais jamai where we let the car ,carry the heavy luggage with us , a delicious mint tea and cakes in the foyer befor showing un the wonderful rooms
very big rooms traditional building and decoration ,comfortable beds, very nice terrace from where u can see the old building in the medina
traditional breakfast and good service
informations about the most intersting places to visit in fez and area map to help
great place with a great price too . u will never regret about the time u will spend here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A friend of ours who we rely on in the tourist industry to phone to look for a place to stay whenever we are staying in a location we don't really know or where we know is full or wont give us a discount got back to us about a place to stay in Fez that evening that when we phoned was full - and was about 800 dirham - nice to pay that when in the mood for a splashout but our budget had already taken a battering after the previous 4 weeks travelling around Turkey.

The guy in our group also on a budget didn't want to pay too much either for a single - but I did really prefer my night in Fez, being my last night in Morocco for a while, after a long break since my previous visits to Fez quite a few years ago, to be somewhere with at least a bit of character.
He had a roam around on the internet while we were still on the freeway from Casa to Fez while I kept reading through the almost un-inspiring sounding places in my edition of the Footprints guidebook.
We also needed a place that had parking or parking nearby knowing the rabbit warren that is typically old Fez. Then he read out the details of this riad for only 320 dirham for 2 and 200 dirham for 1 - a phone call and the deal was done - with car parking said to be only 2 minutes away near the well-known Palais Jamaii which gave us a good landmark to head for. Very reassuring!

When you have a car in Fez and you arrive in the dark and haven't been for a few years GPS is certainly very handy but not necessarily accurate. It took us ages and we didn't arrive till just before 11pm. No problems to come up and meet us at the car which is what happened along with a trolley for all our luggage. Tired from a hot and long day and 5 weeks of being on the road, it was excellent that the kind touch of helping to keep arrivals like this simple by meeting us is much appreciated.
It was probably about 5 minutes walk to the riad rather than 2 - but downhill - down through at that time of night almost empty streets which felt rather special to be back in Fez this way.
It was still boiling hot and I was preparing for an early departure to the airport in a few hours time so needed room to sort my suitcases etc and air conditioning! and also needed a printer.

There were no other guests that night so we had the choice of any rooms in the riad - rather than the rooms we were shown up on the 2nd floor the large room on the ground floor was the best choice and again no problems to take this room. We ended up staying 2 nights as the riad was so lovely and I was enticed to not be so ridiculous as to fly off without having had the chance to see any of Fez again which had been our reason to drive all the way (and because the ticket had been cheap).
The place was beautiful - and Im very familiar with the lovely riad style of Fez and Marrakech and the beautiful palaces of Southern Morocco - and everything was clean! the bathroom was very clean and the room very comfortable and stylish and very good wifi.

Fouad told me its very nice view from the roof at sunrise - despite not getting to bed till about 3am I woke early and got up for the early morning light over the old city - stunning!
we had a very nice breakfast from up there too.

We headed off late morning into the streets of old Fes for a few hours of exploring - very handy - Fouad even lent me his map and gave instructions where to buy one if required around the corner. Lovely to get back early afternoon after a very hot few hours to excellent air conditioning before hiking up to the car and heading out of town to Volbulis.
It had been no problem for Fouad to take our fruit and store it for us and then he prepared it for us on our return that night.

when we had to be up at 3 am to drive me to the airport Fouad was waiting in the lounge to help us with my suitcase up the hill to the car! - and he came with us to the airport to be of any assistance and accompany my partner back to Fez and the riad. This is what never ceases to impress me of genuine Moroccan hospitality.

Room Tip: rooms of various sizes on 3 floors - all very nice - we took the large salon style room with more fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we stepped inside the stunning riad La Bague De Kenza, we were treated with such warmth and hospitality from the staff. They were without a doubt, the most helpful and generous hosts we have had in Morocco, let alone our whole trip! The rooms are gorgeous, the breakfast delicious, the balcony beautiful, the staff smiley, the location perfect, what more can I say! There is nothing that could be improved, La Bague De Kenza made our stay in Fes PERFECT!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchill, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our experience at Riad la Bague de Kenza could not have been better! We went to Morocco as a last minute decision when our trip to Spain didn't work out as planned, hopped the first train out of Tangiers to Fes and booked our stay at La Bague the morning we arrived. When we arrived we were a little awe struck, we really didnt know what to expect (our first day in Morocco); but in typical Moroccan hospitality Chema and Rachid welcomed us with open arms, set out a beautiful breakfast just for us, got us settled in our room then called for a tour guide to show us around the medina. I would say the guided tour is a must, it was a whole day, but it was very interesting and exciting to see this living breathing Unesco heritage site. The Riad is beautifully decorated, our room was lovely, very comfy bed. Our stay was very peaceful, there was 3 couple our first night and 2 the second, the homey environment and friendly staff made it feel as if we'd all known eachother forever. We enjoyed dining with another couple each night, and Rachid made sure to ask what we wanted to eat and when, it was all very generous. Rachid even went out and picked up a specialty dish we wanted to try, that wasn't on the menu and lovely Raja prepared it for us for dinner our last night. The food was VERY good, a little bit of everything. We met the manager our second day, a very friendly man who invited us to feel at home and if we wanted to prepare any food ourselves we were welcome in the kitchen! I would have loved a cooking lesson from Raja but just didnt have the time, next time! Another must-do experience is the traditional Hammam, Raja took myself and my American friend around the corner from the Riad to have a scrub, it was an awesome experience, I had no idea what to expect and was just in awe of the tradition of the affair. I've never felt more clean and natural then when we emerged from the steam! the relaxing, calm atmosphere at La Bague really helped to energize us, as we had been travelling for 7 days and needed some rest. We stayed 2 nights, and when we left Rachid helped us meet up with our tour guide who was picking us up from the Riad (when the tourguide had some difficulties finding the hotel), he helped us carry our bags out of the medina and gave us a lovely send off. The staff at this hotel really make the place, they are such kind, and generous people. The perfect introduction to Morocco for us.
We were staying at La Bague at the same time as the Italian couple who rated "poor," from what we could see they had very different expectations of the hotel. This hotel is a beautiful authentic Moroccan hotel and Fes is very traditional, we were amazed by the hospitality and generosity of the staff. But you have to get into the Moroccan groove, its a very relaxed and homey place, you stay there to have an authentic Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

The riad is like an oasis in the buy medina. All rooms are very traditional decorated. The view from the rooftop terrace is amazing and a very nice place to enjoy the Moroccan breakfast! The crew is very friendly and helpfull and do their best to give you a pleasant stay.
And about Fez, a wondell city with a fantastic armosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We slept at Riad la bague de kenza for three nights. They were very kind and helpfull. Very good situated at the medina in fes. The terrace is great to relax and the view is impressive. You should go to this Riad when You go to Fes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendocino
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

While searching for our Dar we accidentally wandered to the door of Riad La Bague de Kenza. From our first welcome by Chene--"You are always welcome here", we felt right at home. After finding our reserved Dar, with the help of the Riad staff, then having a bad experience right off the bat at the Dar--we returned to this Riad and are so glad we did. It was fate, I believe--"Inshallah". You must have a terrace in your Fez lodging--it enriches the experience and provides the most amazing vistas and relaxes the body and soul. Bague de Kenza has an excellent terrace for dining, lounging, reading or sipping mint tea. We had breakfast there every morning--dinner downstairs in the lounge. All meals were reasonably priced and expertly prepared--and delicious. The other excellent services this Riad offers are guides--ours called himself "Nagib the Berber" and he was very accommodating and flexible--the other treat was the visit to the hammam. I would not miss the later--and you should do this if you're the adventurous type--as you will never be so clean, again! Rajeed, our houseman waited on us hand and foot; Raja our housekeeper and chef--was there for all our needs including guiding myself and my Canadian friend to the women's hammam for the "scrub-a-dub dub". When our photo card maxed out, Rajeed ran down to the store to grab us a new one--and when it turned out to be the wrong one--he insisted he must pay for the correct one! We of course would not allow this--and were happy to have his services as we were hopeless in finding our way around the Medina (some people can do this on there own--but not us!) He also showed my husband where to watch the futbol match (Barcelona was playing)The Riad is beautiful, squeaky clean, and well-located near the Bab Guissa. We paid 40 euros per night which included breakfast. We have only good things to say and would not hesitate to stay there again if we return to Fez--which we hope to do, soon!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor; the ground floor room is biggest. The second floor is closer to the ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad La Bague de Kenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Bague de Kenza

Address: 19 Derb Lamkaousse Haffarine, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Riad La Bague de Kenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Bague de Kenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.