We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn

Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn
13 Akbat Sbaa Douh, Medina | Le jardins des biehn, Fes 30200, Morocco (Formerly Fes Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn)
0535635031
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 138 Restaurants in Fes
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Fez Café is a charming Moroccan bistro set at the edge of our vast garden and topped by an immense rooftop terrace - perfect for a dinner under the stars. Under the careful guidance of Michel Biehn himself, a Provencal food connoisseur with three award-winning cook books to his name, our chef at the Fez Cafe crafts a market-fresh menu every day which draws its flavours from the Morocan tradition, the East, and the home-grown organic vegetables from our own garden. We only use fresh seasonal ingredients. Our bar and Foosball table help make it a fun Medina meeting place. Open everyday for lunch, and dinner. Michel Biehn is the author of several award-winning cookbooks published in France, Europe and the United States. For a few hours or a few days, Michel Biehn, aided by his wonderful Chef Hicham, the head chef of the FEZ CAFE, will be happy to share with their guests, their oriental recipies and secrets of Moroccan cuisine.The cooking class starts by shopping on the market with Si Mohamed, followed by the actual cooking of the selected recipies with both Michel and Hicham. Then, it will be time to enjoy the prepared meal. Price:80 € per person.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had an excellent meal here and the service was attentive and timely. The food was good and well priced. I had the duck and mango salad and then the sea bass steamed in a fig leaf with vegetables. Was very delicious. Has alcohol. I recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Participative Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just had lunch here which was all the more fun because we cooked it ourselves! We did a cooking class which commenced with a guided walk to the medina markets to buy the necessary ingredients tomatoes, aubergines, capsicums, carrots, courgettes, almonds, bstilla (pastry) and a chicken. All items were hand selected and bargained for using dirhams, great fun and very authentic. The purchase of the chicken was not for the faint hearted! Back at the Riad we commenced our class, the chef is Morrocan and speaks French but no English so the owner of the Riad Michel translated. We prepared four traditional Morrocan (warm) salads, chicken and preserved lemon tagine and a delicious almond bstilla desert with a type of custard with orange blossom water and toasted almonds. Irrespective of whether you do a cooking class or not this restaurant is great as the blackboard menus change daily, lunch and dinner. The service is friendly and impeccable and not least set in a delightfull garden setting. Everything in the medina can be tricky to find but make the effort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner and nice to be offered a glass of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Fantastic food in a tranquil setting and right in the heart of the Fes medina. Service and food were wonderful and don't skip dessert. The glass of cold white wine was also much appreciated. I'll come back and bring friends!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent oasis of calm in the medina.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

An excellent restaurant in the heart of the medina, just minutes from Dar Bennis. Enjoy a cool glass of beer or wine whilst taking in the beautiful gardens. Lunch and evening menus vary daily and we were never disappointed. Attentive unhurried service throughout.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol. UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sophisticated food, relaxed ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Le Jardin des Biehn is much loved by the expat community in the Fez medina. On any given evening, you are likely to encounter the head of the American Academy, writers, travel business execs, teachers, artists, musicians, journalists and tax dodgers -- as well as fellow hoteliers and restaurateurs. All these people have left their home countries to live and work in the medina because they fell passionately in love with the place. The medina is both home to 1,000s of low income Moroccan families -- and wealthy expats, most of whom run up market boutique guest houses and restaurants. Le Jardin Des Biehn is named after the proprietor -- who is without doubt an outstanding gourmet. The menu is small and certainly not cheap (think around £30.00per head) but what ever you choose is up there with haute cuisine and would cost 2 or 3 times more in Europe or the Americas. I had a fishy terrine with a subtle tangy sauce for starters which could have been a meal in itself because it came with a side salad dressed with an equally creative vinaigrette. But I couldn't resist a duck pastilla main -- and was not disappointed. Pastilla is a Moroccan signature dish made with flaky pastry and filled with seasoned meat. The Biehn version was spiced to melt in the mouth perfection. Add the quality of the food to the display of original artwork on the walls, the magnificent garden and the relaxed ambiance and its no surprise that Le Jardin Des Biehn is currently top of the Fez pops.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fez Cafe at Le Jardin Des Biehn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.