We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fizz in Fez” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Fes Medina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Fes Medina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 84 hotels in Fes
University Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Fizz in Fez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

When you are tired of the hubbub that is Morocco, in Fez, the Barceló Fes Medina Hotel is a welcome respite. They had a lovely pool with attentive waiters and bartenders who knew how to make great drinks and provide good service. It was so relaxing and revitalizing--really helped prepare for the next day's adventures!

Room Tip: Not on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    63
    47
    16
    7
See reviews for
31
65
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

A great position and quite close to a shopping Mall and a few western restaurants (Pizza Hut, Macs, Burger King).
Hotel is quite modern.
Rooms are adequate, but no tea/coffee making facilities.
Floors are tiled and my bedroom looked as though the floor had never been cleaned. To justify this claim, just after arriving, I spilt something on the floor and got a tissue to clean it up. After a few wipes, the tissue was black with muck!
Breakfast was ok but the staff were aweful. I asked one to clean my table before she laid it so she got a napkin, wiped the table, then threw the napkin on the floor. Talk about service with a smile!
With some staff training, and an efficient cleaning service, this hotel would be a lot better.
There is a small pool just off the main lobby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of Gate 1 travel, hotel was ok. Room was standard, and bathroom was average. A/C was working perfectly!! Pluses are it is centrally located and restaurant offered pretty good breakfast. Downside - staff not as friendly, tried to call the front desk to inquire about something, placed me on hold for a long time, tried to call again, same thing happened. Need to have another wastebasket in the room ( the only one was in the bathroom)!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iroquois, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Barcelo Fes Medina hotel is clearly a property with more ambitious aspirations than it is able to deliver. Whether it is a work in progress or a simply stuck in its current mediocrity remains to be seen.It has a superb location and well designed lobby and nice enough contemporary rooms but does not have the infrastructure or staff to support the hotel to the level that one expects from a Barcelo property.We were travelling with a group and as luck would have it when rooms were assigned we were given what on first glance was a truly superb suite. After the reduced size of our previous accommodations, in Casablanca and Rabat, that was a luxury not to be easily dismissed by other short comings of the hotel. Unfortunately in the end the additional space just became more floor for the flooded shower to occupy.The bed however was lovely and the linens the finest of our Moroccan experience. The selection and quality of the pillows was terrific.The bar, located off the lobby, initially seemed quite engaging but the service was sporadic and the selection of options, particularly soft drinks, was erratic.We enjoyed a few glasses of outrageously expensive Moroccan wine and our friends seemed to like a nationally produced beer.The real problem however was the restaurant. It served quite possibly the worst buffet I have experienced. There was pasta but no sauce, chicken with significant amounts of bone and skin but almost no meat, dishes that appeared early in the serving but were not replaced when they ran out. If you arrived towards the end of the serving time, breakfast or dinner, there was quite likely almost nothing left and no effort made to accommodate you. This food was so unsatisfactory that even though both breakfast and dinner were paid for as part of our tour many of our group found local fast food instead.The pool, promoted so prominently in the hotel advertising, was cracked and dirty. Requests for a pool towel went unheeded and finally I went into the pool shed and rooted through shelves to find a towel. I couldn't bring my towel from my room as it was needed for the shower flood.The snack bar at the pool was not ever staffed during our stay. We had two nights in this location and I was saddened to see a property that has so much promise in so many ways provide such lack luster and substandard accommodation.

Room Tip: If you can book a suite it is probably worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is located in the center of things. Many restaurants and a mall within walking distance. The hotel is very average with basic rooms. After checking in we found that the electric sockets and hair dryer were not working. They sent someone to fix it right away. When we asked for additional towels, they never came. The staff at the front desk spoke very basic English and would get frustrated if you ask questions. The pool is a little run down with missing tiles and the water was very cold.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice area.

The staff are very kind. Always smiling and attending to your needs.

The rooms are very nice and comfortable.

The breakfast and dinner are very good.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We love it, we treated ourselves to three nights here for the experience and it was just amazing in every way! The room, the service, the comfort, and nothing could have prepared us for the ambience. It was like stepping back in time in the most wonderful way. Would definitely recommend the breakfast in your room......it si delicious, hot and perfectly arranged. they cook what you want. Will be talking about this for a long time! Thank you !
Mon ami et moi avons passé troix nuits merveilleuses au Barceló Fes, fabuleux. Le Barceló est un très bel hôtel situé à seulement dix minutes à pied du medina!! et c'était génial.
Le service était impeccable et très attentionné

Room Tip: You can order what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 84 hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Fes Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.