We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the central part of Fes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Fes Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Fes Medina to your Saves list
Barcelo Fes Medina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Fes
calgary,alberta
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the central part of Fes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Good hotel, modern lobby, nice rooms and it has a pool. Font desk was very helpful. Breakfast was good with many choices. Rooms had all you needed, comfortable beds, comforters nice TV and quiet Air Conditioning. I could have rated this hotel a little lower based on the Housekeeping. It was OK but there was no Tissues. On the next day after the first night they did not provide any new drinking glasses they just left the same dirty ones in the room. They did not leave any new soap for the basin or the shower. Seems like they should train their staff a little better. It was not a big deal but worth mentioning. The pool was a little stark so they need to spruce it up with a lot more trees and plants. All in all it is a nice hotel. It is across the street from a brand new large indoor shopping center. The first on in the city we were told. The crowds were huge and they had line ups to get into the building. I am sure it will calm down when the folks get used to it. But it has every thing you might need just across the street.

Room Tip: ask for one with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    98
    68
    18
    8
See reviews for
39
102
16
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Best hotel in Fez, it is very luxurius. All the service very good. The best point is the location and the service . This hotel should be a five star. Really . The bar is elegant and quiet. Very confortable . All the ambient is very nice . I recomend all the people this place .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for two nights as part of a tour group. The front staff was very helpful and I didn't feel judged (a previous review mentioned that she did). They answered all of our questions and were very friendly. The location is in the new town and it's easy to walk to many restaurants. There's also lots of shopping around so you get a feel of the city here. The beds were a little hard and the internet was shoddy. The best internet access was at the pool. The rooms were spacious and clean. We didn't go to the hammam but a few others from our group went and they had a positive experience. Overall, it's a very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Barcelo is very visually appealing. The lobby is clean and open with swinging chairs, wave-like couches, and funky lamps while the rooms are equally modern and contemporary. Views of the city from the windows were great! 

However, service is very slow and details are not well taken care of. Reception does not speak very much English at all. We waited over 20 minutes for pool towels and over 45 minutes to receive the third set of towels for my sister in our junior suite. The outdoor bar was abandoned and multiple requests for a menu went unanswered. They seemed to be severely understaffed. The mini-bar was only partially stocked. Reception has no maps and was low on suggestions for where to find a place to eat outside of telling us not to go to the medina.

Breakfast is ample. We went to the spa for massages and would recommend requesting where you would NOT  like to be massaged in advance as full body is taken quite literally.

Overall, this hotel has great potential. We enjoyed our stay and were comfortable, but we were disappointed in the many smaller things that could be fixed to make this hotel top-notch.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Centric, clean and great staff. All facilities where perfect. T'he room service excellent. I will come again for sure. Free wifi, space to meet with friends! Close to everything important ni town! 5 minutes to the medina, shopping centre very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a very nice hotel with comfortable rooms (and AC that worked really well, much to my wife's chagrin!). It's in a good location and has a very acceptable restaurant.

It also has peculiar showers.

The shower pan is sloped so that at the end that's away from the shower head it is level with the floor. It has a European style shower which took me a little while to get used to. Anyhow, if you stay in the shower for very long with the water running, it overflows from the shower pan and leaks way out into the bedroom. We thought there was something wrong, but when the technician came up to examine it, he said it was a design flaw and all the showers in the hotel were like this. So we simply confined ourselves to rinse-soap-rinse showers for the duration of the trip.

Otherwise the place was very good. I had a real, honest-to-goodness USA-style hamburger for dinner one night with some of the best French Fries I 've ever had. I know, I should have been "eating native", but I was getting a little tired of tanjines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed there one night on the way to Marrakesh. The place was good and very clean and the stuff helpful, although sometimes not very comfortable with too many questions and requests. We booked a double room and we found a twin; they changed it to a double immediately. Breakfast was overpriced and we had instead breakfast in the local cafes opposite the hotel. They could improve a bit with the provision of maps etc. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view of the new city. Taxis did not seem to know where it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fes Medina

Address: 53 Avenue Hassan II, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fes Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Barcelo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Fes Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.