We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Said

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Said to your Saves list
Riad Said
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 Derb Al Idrissi, Rue Skallia, Haoumat Douh, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 176 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolutely stunning ! It was like walking into a palace. Peaceful and tranquil amidst the hustle and bustle of the medina just a 10 min walk away. Rooftop terrace view is amazing. Stayed in the beautiful Sofian Room which has a huge corner bath, and the room was cleaned and tidied daily with real attention to detail. I would highly recommend this gorgeous riad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    27
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Riad Said for two nights in late April 2013 during a two week drive through Morocco. The riad is off a quiet pedestrian street and is easy enough to miss, but when you enter you walk right into a beautiful courtyard. The hosts, Yves and Samir, were extremely friendly. Samir spoke English. Yves spoke French and a little English, and I was also able to communicate with him using high school Spanish. So if you only speak English and have any specific requests you might want to email in advance to make sure Samir can help you out.

Our room was large and well furnished and the bathroom was amazing -- but we were hardly in it. We were either out exploring the Fes medina or lounging in the courtyard. Riad Said also has a roof deck with a beautiful view that we didn't take advantage of because of our short time there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dounia room which was nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our stay was utterly amazing. The staff were beyond helpful with everything! The riad is beautifully decorated like a Moroccan palace, as are the rooms. We would love to come back. Thanks for showing us a great stay in fes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The best riad we had during our time in Marocco. A beautiful place with friendly staff and spacious clean rooms. The food was good! Definitely value for money!!!!! I advise you to use the pick up service otherwise it might be difficult to find in the medina.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Wow! This Riad made our stay in Fez perfect. The location, staff and atmosphere made the city disappear but the Moroccan experience never stopped. We had the pleasure of meeting everyone from the owner, manager to the wait staff. Every step of the way, we felt like part of the family.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and i had two wonderful nights at Riad said including a lovely dinner, probably the best meal we had in our 2 week Moroccan holiday. Beautiful rooms, excellent service in a serene and tranquil environment - wold return in an instant. many thanks to everyone at Riad said

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We decided to find our own way to the Riad, and were hassled the whole time. It was a relief to finally arrive at the calm and beautiful surroundings of Riad Said. If you can use a GPS, do. The coordinates are Latitude 34.06009037526481, Longitude -4.978906810283661. Alternatively, ask the Riad staff to pick you up or meet you.

The owner, Latifah, happened to be visiting from Switzerland and was very helpful, as were all the staff (especially Mohammed, who serves dinner and breakfast - a very decent young man). We stayed in the "Dounia" suite, which was wonderful. The rest of our group stayed in the "Sofian" (lovely too, but with a steep step just outside the room door) and "Fadila" (much smaller and you really do get a good workout climbing all those steps, however having your private terrace could be a bonus with the right weather). One of the ground floor rooms ("Anbar" or "Faiza") might be better if you would rather avoid frequent stair-climbing.

We had two dinners and a light lunch at the Riad, which were all delicious. Latifah also suggested dinner at the nearby Riad Layla, which was good, but Riad Said was better. Turns out Latifah also owns Riad Layla! Breakfasts were very nice too, with omelettes and various breads available. They very kindly arranged an early breakfast on our last day, as we had an early departure.

The hammam at Riad Said was not inexpensive, but quite an experience and probably less confronting than going to a public hammam. We came out squeaky clean :-) There was a safe in our room, but it was locked and we didn't bother asking for it to be unlocked.

We asked for a recommendation of a tour guide, and Hicham was arranged for an all-day tour. He was fantastic - informative, well-spoken and interestingly his Master's thesis compared the Arabic and Hebrew languages. We highly recommend his guiding services.

Riad Said is a wonderful place to base yourself while in Fes. The only problem is trying to tear yourself away! Credit cards are accepted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#22 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Bensouda
Riad Dar Bensouda
#9 of 176 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Said? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Said

Address: 10 Derb Al Idrissi, Rue Skallia, Haoumat Douh, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Said 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Said reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Said, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.