We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff go the extra mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riyad Al Atik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riyad Al Atik to your Saves list
Riyad Al Atik
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Menia Lousta Chrabliyine Medina | medina, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Staff go the extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Finding this riad in a quiet backstreet off Talaa Khabir was like entering a place of calm tranquility, much like entering one of the medersas of Fes, Riad Al Atik is a place where one's spirit finds solace. The place is cool, calm, simply but elegantly decorated, and the staff friendly and helpful. When we had to come back for a forth night due to sudden illness, the staff, who we had come to know, immediately welcomed us back and went to great lengths to look after us, helping us find a doctor and a pharmacy that was open, making sure we were comfortable, and even staying up late into the night to help administer medicine. Our experience of Al Atik went beyond a simple stay in a guest house and we found that this is a place with genuine soul and humanity. Objectively though, Riad Al Atik has the perfect location, relaxed atmosphere, excellent facilities and dining, amazing service and a great price. Al Atik exceeded our expectations in every way and we are ever thankful to them for making our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    12
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
73
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, very helpful personnel. Everything we asked was done with a smile.
It is situated in the heart of the medina, so very handy to visit Fez. The taxi's were nearby to visit newFez or other places.
I really advise you to go to riad el atik to have a perfect stay. Although the bunk bed, we also used, we were with 5 women in one room, is made for smaller people (like me 1.68 meter).
Joan

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at Al Atik for three nights in July 2012. We had high expectations due to the superb ratings this riad has been getting on TripAdvisor and Booking.com, and those expectations were met. We stayed in the Nejarine Suite, the largest room, I believe. One large bed and bunk beds for the kids. The room was large enough for us to be comfortable. The bathroom was enormous, sparklingly clean and very stylishly decorated. The beds were comfortable, though the bunk bed squeaked a bit. Valerie and Carine were great hosts and had lots of recommendations for what we should see. They were very concerned about us finding the riad, even calling us when we were on the way and then waiting for us at the nearby parking lot and bringing help to lug our bags back to the riad. Their staff, especially Emad, was extremely friendly. The breakfasts were amazing, especially the fresh melons, which we didn't get at other riads in Morocco. A very nice touch was the refrigerator stocked with drinks (including beer) that guests can take when thristy and pay for later on the honor system. They even washed our clothes for us. We didn't have dinner there, which we regret because we were very disappointed with the other restaurants in the medina. All in all, a true gem of a hotel and one of the prettiest buildings - riad, palace or other historical site - we saw in Morocco. Just watch your head on the low ceilings on the stairs!

Room Tip: The Nejarine Suite is perfect for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This Riad is located within the medina. The rooms are very clean and the two french ladies who run the place are very nice! If you are looking to stay in a riad and in the medina, I highly recommend this place. The triple room downstairs is spacious. The double room upstairs has a very tight shower area so be prepared. If you are here, be sure to try their home cooked food and ice cream, it is amazing! The breakfast is great too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The riyad is well located in the Medina. The staff and owners were helpful and gracious. The rooms are tastefully appointed. Yes, try the raspberry ice cream...to die for!

We had a tour guide take as through the Medina. She was recommended by our hosts, and proved to be very informed and connected in the Medina. Would not attempt the Medina without a guide!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked this place based on the good recommendations online. It fully lived up to our expectations. Valerie and Carine were very friendly and took time to explain the sights and ins and outs of Fez and the medina (which is incredible). Emad and Fatima, the staff, were great (Emad even gave us a mini Arabic lesson). The food, including breakfast with homemad jams, was also quite good.

I would definitely recommend calling ahead for a reservation (there are only about 5 rooms) and to organize transport from the train station (€20 + 20 dirham for the man to carry our luggage by cart from the medina entrance to the riyad). The calm environment and sitting area are nice for a baby. Rooms are not big, but are comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I recommend the bus from the airport to the train station ( ride of 40 minutes ) and then to take a petite taxi to the parking lot drop off point of the Medina. As in the medina of Marrakesh, here again, its recommended to hire a guide to show you the way to the Riad from the parking lot. Its hopeless otherwise, with any sort of map and with luggage to cart around on the steep paths of the Medina. After the first time, there is no trouble finding the place.
The Riad is beautiful and the ladies who run the place are pleasant, helpful and very hospitable. Breakfast is great. The rooms are color thematic and the bathrooms fairly large. Free wi-fi is weak on the upper floors, but can be accessed from the lounge in the courtyard.
The only low side was that we had booked into a room on the terrace ( our oversight, as it was clearly written on the booking site that the room " is located on the terrace" ). This meant that we no longer were within the beautiful courtyard.
Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: Avoid booking into the room on the terrace. Choose a room around the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riyad Al Atik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riyad Al Atik

Address: 9 Menia Lousta Chrabliyine Medina | medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riyad Al Atik 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riyadh atik al welcomes you in its 6 suites and rooms, you have a privative space air-conditioned with bathroom and corner lounge and of a decoration and an arrangement realized carefully and refinement. You can taste a traditional breakfast in the Moroccan loungethe patio or the barthal or on the comfortable terrace at the middle shadows at the middle sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riyad Al Atik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riyad Al Atik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.