We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jewel in the crown of Fes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Tara to your Saves list
Riad Tara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Ras Jnane | 99 Ras Jnane Fes Maroc, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“The Jewel in the crown of Fes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week at Riad Tara leading up to and over the Christmas period, and I must say, we couldn't have found a better place to stay. I emailed the owners beforehand to say that we would like a transfer from the airport, and also dinner at the Riad on the first night. We were picked up at the airport as requested and driven close to the Riad, where we met Btissam, who escorted us the rest of the way - only a few minutes to the Riad. So far, so good!
When we went into the Riad, we were blown away - it was just so utterly beautiful - with an amazing courtyard with beautiful trees and such stylish decoration - more like a top-notch Boutique Hotel, but with all the Moroccan charm still intact. Btissam sat us down and made us Moroccan tea and we started to relax immediately. Btissam had time to chat to us and take us through ideas of what we could do and also suggest things and trips we could make which we really appreciated.
We were taken up to our room at the top of the Riad - absolutely stunning. Although it wasn't the biggest room - it felt like a scene from "The Arabian Nights"! Huge bed with voiles hanging at the end of it and the Moroccan decoration was just beautiful. Huge shower with a little dome over it - like the sort you would get in a traditional hamman. Small, but perfectly compact. Above us was a stunning rooftop terrace and a lower terrace where in the warmer weather you could relax and sunbathe!
We had dinner that night, cooked by the in-house cook, Fatiha and it was wonderful, traditional Moroccan food, freshly prepared for us. The Riad sold wine too, so that was a blessing!!! The owner, Jim, introduced himself to us and was really lovely and friendly - you could tell he cared - I mean, REALLY cared about our stay and how things were for us.
I loved the neighbourhood that the Riad was situated in - away from the madness of the interior of the medina, just south of it, and in a local area with tiny, narrow streets which were so old they took your breath away. There are certain points where "petit taxis" could be hired after a day walking and we found that dropping us off at a gate south of the medina took us just a couple of lanes away from where the Riad was situated - so very easy to get around. All the locals were so friendly and smiled or said "bonjour" and, after a week, a few locals got to know us wandering around and treated us like old friends!!! There was a little street market not far from the Riad, and we often saw Fatiha, the cook, shopping there for our dinner!!!
After a couple of days, Jim surprised us when we came back to the Riad one day to say that we were being upgraded, with no extra charge! We then had the "Nacre" room which was absolutely beautiful - totally different in style from the previous room, and the attention to detail and style was breathtaking! Huge bed, even bigger doors and high ceilings - bathroom was down a little flight of stairs (all private) and had great facilities again. Jim and Catherine (the owners) said it was a "Christmas present" to us - how lovely!
Most mornings the Riad served typical Moroccan breakfast, mainly bread, pastries etc with Fatiha's homemade jams which were gorgeous. In the morning we ordered dinner for that night - and somehow between our lack of French and Fatiha's understanding we were able to choose what we wanted!!! The dinner was always amazing - didn't have better food anywhere - and for e15 per head, really good value!
Coming back to the Riad after a day out or in the medina was a pleasure - Btissam was always there with a pot of tea or sometimes we asked for wine and we used to chat to her about our day and she would offer suggestions on what we could do next - it was just lovely - like coming home, but to a home where everyone looked after us and we felt really spoilt!
Christmas eve, Jim and Catherine gave us a choice of Moroccan dinner or a French dinner and we chose to have the French dinner (as they were French!) and Jim cooked it - needless to say, it was sublime!!! They also joined us for a drink and nibbles and between us all we had quite a laugh! They are such a lovely couple and care very deeply about all aspects of the Riad and the people who stay there.
We did take advantage of a day trip out to Volubilis and Meknes via Moulay Idriss with Mohammed, a driver arranged by the Riad, and it was fantastic - great driver, fab car and we were very well looked after all day - nothing was too much trouble - e90 in total for the whole day - amazing value! Btissam arranged anything that needed doing over the phone for us - booked meals out, arranged a massage and dealt with our return transfer.
All-in-all, this is the most gorgeous place to stay, in a perfect location, with owners that deeply care about the Riad and the people that stay with them. Their staff are second-to-none. Jim and Catherine are the most amazing hosts and we felt like friends by the time we left - this is the sort of place that is priceless.

Room Tip: Nacre room was stunning and huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
105
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the top floor Blue room for a week in December. I was fine for a sleep
but too dark for me. No privacy in the washroom. Best for couples. The staff were wonderful and the owners very kind. Breakfast was so so, coffee excellant. Dinners were fine. The best thing about the Raid Tara for us was the semi private roof top patio. The view was gorgeous. Forget about having a drink in fez, nobody serves. I suggest hitting the supermarket and toasting your view with B.Y.O.B. My biggest complaint was the lack of decent lighting in the room, I think anyone would have a hard time reading in bed, since there is no t.v. Overall, nice place. Go and stay there and get lost in the alleyways of Fez.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I loved my 5 day stay at Riad Tara. This is exactly what you need in Fez-- great staff, great location and a comfortable relaxing atmosphere. Price is unbeatable. Btissam and Fatiya were incredibly helpful. Riad Tara felt like home.

I was most impressed by how the owners (Jim and Catherine) and staff came to my rescue. Unfortunately, I had some horrible things happen during my stay at Fez (lost wallet, credit cards, ATM card and a fraudulent transaction involving one of the stores in the medina). They handled the situation in such a professional manner. I will always remember how you all took care of me.

Thank you so much and I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this riad based on other positive reviews and despite the excellent reviews, this place exceeded our expectations in every respect. Excellent rooms, decoration, ambience, service, location and food. Despite being inside the medina, it is very quiet and peaceful and was a welcome oasis from the chaos of the medina. The breakfast and dinners were absolutely divine, the best food so far in Morocco. One night we had a lamb and prune tagine and the other night, we had a chicken tagine with olives and preserved lemons. They preserved the lemons themselves. They also make their own jams for breakfast!! The kitchen is clean and the food was hot, so our preference was to eat at the riad. The staff, especially Btitssame, were so friendly and gracious and it was an absolute pleasure to spend three nights at their home.

Room Tip: We got an upgrade for no extra cost and the room was excellent, so cannot comment on our original ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Riad Tara is excellent value with nice rooms and great courtyard and rooftop terrace. Jim and the staff, especially Ibsisamar, are friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. The meals were great, food was amazing. Good location for access to shopping in medina and close to an access gate. We had a traditional hammam and massage on Jims recommendation, a must do experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The riad is located right at the heart of the Medina.. at first you may feel intimidated by the size of the Medina and its busy alleys but once you know how to navigate, it is centrally located. Access is easy to the market, to restaurants, to the palace, etc.

The hospitality is outstanding! Everyone welcomed and treated us with warmth (even Tara, the cat - the Riad is named after her). I had to leave the Riad to take a plane at 7 in the morning and found that a breakfast was ready at 5 am! Everyone was super dedicated to make sure we had a wonderful stay, and we did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am remiss that I did not write a review immediately. Jim & Katrina were the most gracious hosts and their home was comfortable and welcoming. Jim hooked us up with a cab driver, Faiyd) who brought us everywhere we wanted. A trip to the hot baths in Yaacoub Moulay Hot Springs was the best. This is where the locals go. Men only and very inexpensive. Faiyd was so inexpensive that I gave him a large tip., When walking home from the Medina in the evening we would always stop by and chat with the Tobac vender just on the right (small hole in the wall) as you start up the hill to Riad Tara. Great local conversation.

Room Tip: Owner should be in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#14 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#42 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tara

Address: 99 Ras Jnane | 99 Ras Jnane Fes Maroc, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tara 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad TARA a ete cree a partir d'un authentique Riad au coeur de la vieille medina de FES. Certaines maisons remontent a plusieurs siecles, FES est une ville de plus de 1200 ans. Les proprietaires actuels, francais, ont passe deux ans a restaurer ce Riad en une maison d'hotes hotel pleine de charme. Ils ont suggere aupres des artisans lors de sa restauration, d'allier modernisme et authenticite marocaine. Cette propriete comble ces occupants par le confort et le bien etre des lieux. Le Riad TARA a desormais tout d'un lieu authentique , on y sejourne en chambre individuelle ou en louant le Riad dans sa totalite, avec des services recherches, pour passer un agreable sejour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.