We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best riad in fez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tara

Save Saved
You added Riad Tara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Tara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ras Jnane | médina, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 86 hotels in Fes
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“best riad in fez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

riad is gorgeous, but better yet is jim and his wife. they really welcomed us and made us feel like home. They helped organize a tour around fez which was lovely, they recommended an official guide, and gave us a map of fez with their fav restaurants circled, which were cheap and spot on, with terrace and amazing food. i honestly wouldnt have had such a great time in fez if i hadnt stayed with them. btw the jade room is really nice. i was in morocoo 3 weeks at dif riads, and theirs is by far the best! thanks jim.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
73
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Riad Tara Three nights.

We slept in the very cosy room Corail, which I definitely recommend. It is small but nice and silent. The Riad is a lovely surprise in the small streets of the Medina: it has with elegant furniture and it is nicely decorated.

It is owned by a French couple, that was extremely helpful in organising trips, finding guides, suggesting restaurants and taking care of customers in any way. WiFi is okay in the lounge area.

Breakfast was the best we've had during all our stay in Morocco (we stayed in 5 different locations).

The Riad is in a safe area and within walking distance from the closest street with cars. Nevertheless, for those who don't feel at ease in walking alone in the Medina, the Riad can provide a taxi service which includes pick-up at the riad, and back (fair price).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If I had the option to rate this riad 6 stars I would!

From the moment we arrived in Riad Tara and were welcomed by Jim, Catherine and Fatha we felt like we had arrived in paradise. After one night only we decided that we would extend our 3 night stay to a 5 night stay and cancelled our booking we had for the two days afterwards in Meknes.

It is incredible how the owners have managed to create such a tranquille and peaceful base in the heart of the medina of Fes. The riad is a mere 5 minute walk to Bab Rcif and the souks, and is a very welcome retreat after a few hours' walk in the hustle and bustle of old Fes.

Jim and Catherine are the most wonderful hosts and really make you feel at home. Their attention to detail, both in the decoration of the riad and its rooms as well as to their guests' needs is first class.

Fatha is undoubtedly the queen of the Moroccan kitchen: after tasting her tajine on our first night we were so impressed that we ended up eating at the riad all five nights! During our stay other guests had a meal at the riad one night and decided to eat out the next: all of them regretted this afterwards. The variety and quality of the food is exquisite!

We stayed in the Amber room, a superb room on the first floor. The bed is very comfy and it was sooo nice to have a decent (rain)shower in the bathroom.

Last but not least: Tara, the riad's cat, is absolutely adorable. I loved coming "home" after our day out and be greeted by her. My husband and I found ourselves "arguing" sometimes over her attention.

In all: although the first 12 days of our Morocco holiday had not been too succesful, our stay at Riad Tara in Fes made up for all the bad experiences we'd had. In fact we are sure that when we have the opportunity we will go back for a long weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I spent 3 days in riad Tara, everything was perfect. Jim gave good advices to visit Maroc.
My friends and I stayed in amber room, it was very spacious and comfortable. After exploring the medina of Fes it was great to relax in the peaceful riad tara. Having breakfast on the terrace was an unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September - this is a great place to stay the riad is in a quiet cul de sac only 10 minutes walk from the center of the Medina. The riad is situated near the top of a hill and has fantastic panoramic views over the old city and surrounding area from the rooftop terrace. I had Jim the riad owner arranged a pickup from the airport which was great - the driver spoke English and I got a guided tour on my way to the old city. Jim also arranged for an official guide to show me around the Medina which I would recommend as she took me to a number of out of the way places which would be difficult to find on your own. The pace of life in Fes is slow and it people are extremely friendly - a great place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I started in the family sapphire room for one night in august. The riad is inside the medina on the southern side. We were dropped off by car in a car park next to a pharmacy near the riad, and one of the staff met us there and showed us the way to the riad. The riad itself is really lovely, and there is a great view over fes from the roof terrace. We were warmly greeted by the owners jim and catherine, and jim walked with us to the main entrance into the medina centre so we would know the way. it takes around ten minutes. We had dinner at the riad that night and it was delicious! Rooms were very quiet and we slept well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had great stay at Riad Tara. The owner Jim is very friendly and helpful. Wonderful riad, fantastic rooms (with industrial airconditioning :-P) and we fell in love with Tara, the riad cat. We had a room on the top floor with an emperor size bed and shower, suitable for kings, queens and emperors. Beautifully decorated and just next to the panoramic roof terrace which has an amazing view over the city. Excellent!

Room Tip: Take the room with the heart shaped mirror!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tara

Address: Ras Jnane | médina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 86 hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tara 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad TARA a ete cree a partir d'un authentique Riad au coeur de la vieille medina de FES. Certaines maisons remontent a plusieurs siecles, FES est une ville de plus de 1200 ans. Les proprietaires actuels, francais, ont passe deux ans a restaurer ce Riad en une maison d'hotes hotel pleine de charme. Ils ont suggere aupres des artisans lors de sa restauration, d'allier modernisme et authenticite marocaine. Cette propriete comble ces occupants par le confort et le bien etre des lieux. Le Riad TARA a desormais tout d'un lieu authentique , on y sejourne en chambre individuelle ou en louant le Riad dans sa totalite, avec des services recherches, pour passer un agreable sejour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Riad Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.