We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true 6* oasis in the heart of Fes' medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tara

Save Saved
You added Riad Tara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Tara
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Ras Jnane | médina, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 159 Fes B&B and Inns
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“A true 6* oasis in the heart of Fes' medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

If I had the option to rate this riad 6 stars I would!

From the moment we arrived in Riad Tara and were welcomed by Jim, Catherine and Fatha we felt like we had arrived in paradise. After one night only we decided that we would extend our 3 night stay to a 5 night stay and cancelled our booking we had for the two days afterwards in Meknes.

It is incredible how the owners have managed to create such a tranquille and peaceful base in the heart of the medina of Fes. The riad is a mere 5 minute walk to Bab Rcif and the souks, and is a very welcome retreat after a few hours' walk in the hustle and bustle of old Fes.

Jim and Catherine are the most wonderful hosts and really make you feel at home. Their attention to detail, both in the decoration of the riad and its rooms as well as to their guests' needs is first class.

Fatha is undoubtedly the queen of the Moroccan kitchen: after tasting her tajine on our first night we were so impressed that we ended up eating at the riad all five nights! During our stay other guests had a meal at the riad one night and decided to eat out the next: all of them regretted this afterwards. The variety and quality of the food is exquisite!

We stayed in the Amber room, a superb room on the first floor. The bed is very comfy and it was sooo nice to have a decent (rain)shower in the bathroom.

Last but not least: Tara, the riad's cat, is absolutely adorable. I loved coming "home" after our day out and be greeted by her. My husband and I found ourselves "arguing" sometimes over her attention.

In all: although the first 12 days of our Morocco holiday had not been too succesful, our stay at Riad Tara in Fes made up for all the bad experiences we'd had. In fact we are sure that when we have the opportunity we will go back for a long weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
66
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I spent 3 days in riad Tara, everything was perfect. Jim gave good advices to visit Maroc.
My friends and I stayed in amber room, it was very spacious and comfortable. After exploring the medina of Fes it was great to relax in the peaceful riad tara. Having breakfast on the terrace was an unique experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September - this is a great place to stay the riad is in a quiet cul de sac only 10 minutes walk from the center of the Medina. The riad is situated near the top of a hill and has fantastic panoramic views over the old city and surrounding area from the rooftop terrace. I had Jim the riad owner arranged a pickup from the airport which was great - the driver spoke English and I got a guided tour on my way to the old city. Jim also arranged for an official guide to show me around the Medina which I would recommend as she took me to a number of out of the way places which would be difficult to find on your own. The pace of life in Fes is slow and it people are extremely friendly - a great place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I started in the family sapphire room for one night in august. The riad is inside the medina on the southern side. We were dropped off by car in a car park next to a pharmacy near the riad, and one of the staff met us there and showed us the way to the riad. The riad itself is really lovely, and there is a great view over fes from the roof terrace. We were warmly greeted by the owners jim and catherine, and jim walked with us to the main entrance into the medina centre so we would know the way. it takes around ten minutes. We had dinner at the riad that night and it was delicious! Rooms were very quiet and we slept well!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Had great stay at Riad Tara. The owner Jim is very friendly and helpful. Wonderful riad, fantastic rooms (with industrial airconditioning :-P) and we fell in love with Tara, the riad cat. We had a room on the top floor with an emperor size bed and shower, suitable for kings, queens and emperors. Beautifully decorated and just next to the panoramic roof terrace which has an amazing view over the city. Excellent!

Room Tip: Take the room with the heart shaped mirror!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Riad Tara is managed by a friendly French couple who make every effort to make you feel at home. The Riad itself is a beautiful three-storey house in the Fes Medina, with a large patio where you can keep fresh during hot afternoons. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. The kitchen staff prepare delicious breakfasts in the morning, and are always happy to offer refreshments at other times. The owners are very helpful in suggesting things to do and places to go. Overall, a great place to stay if you are going to Fes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

As we step through the front door we enter an oasis of calm and beauty. Our very romantic room is on the top floor and and was decorated in an enchanting Moroccan style. From the rooftop terrace we have a clear view of the city below. Each morning we enjoyed our delicious breakfast on the terrace while planning the rest of our day. One evening we had dinner at the Riad and were served a delicious tangine in the center courtyard on the ground floor. Our french host, Jim, was very helpful giving us directions and providing a map of the medina. Fes was a fascinating city and we're so glad we chose Riad Tara for our accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tara

Address: Ras Jnane | médina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 159 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tara 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad TARA has been created from an authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina of Fez. Some homes date back several centuries, FES is a city The current owner is a French, he has spent two years restoring this Riad in a guest house full of charm. He suggested to the craftsmen during its restoration, to combine modernism and Moroccan authenticity. This property fills the occupants the comfort and well being of the premises.The Riad TARA is now of a beautiful guest house, we stayed there in a single room or renting the Riad in its entirety, with services being sought to spend a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.