We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tara

Save Saved
You added Riad Tara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Tara
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ras Jnane | médina, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Fes
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

As we step through the front door we enter an oasis of calm and beauty. Our very romantic room is on the top floor and and was decorated in an enchanting Moroccan style. From the rooftop terrace we have a clear view of the city below. Each morning we enjoyed our delicious breakfast on the terrace while planning the rest of our day. One evening we had dinner at the Riad and were served a delicious tangine in the center courtyard on the ground floor. Our french host, Jim, was very helpful giving us directions and providing a map of the medina. Fes was a fascinating city and we're so glad we chose Riad Tara for our accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
75
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

When our taxi driver couldn't get down the narrow streets, the owner, Jim came to meet us. He is French but speaks great English. The breakfasts were the best we had in Morocco and the bed was the biggest bed I have ever slept in. We had a room at the top of the riad. The bathroom is in the same room as the bed. They are not in separate rooms though there is a small partition to screen the toilet. Linen was crisp and fresh. From outside our room there was a roof terrace which we could see over the whole of Fez. We asked to have dinner at the riad and were provided with a delicious candlelit dinner that we couldn't finish. Food is bought fresh from the market, so you do need to ask in the morning. At first getting to the centre of the action is daunting with streets in every direction but after the first trial and error, it riad is an easy 5 minute walk to the centre. Can't rate this riad highly enough. We will be coming back here to stay. A map is provided to help with directions and places of interest. Perfect for all types of travellers. We stayed for 3 nights

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed at Riad Tara for four nights in February and it was an absolute pleasure. We were extremely welcomed and in fact the owner Jim, picked us up and arranged a taxi to go from the airport to the hotel and transport to go anywhere during our holidays. Room were very cosy and impeccably clean with a great breakfast in the sunny terrace. We dined several nights and high quality. We felt at home at any time. Views were great as well as location.
Tea and coffee as much as we wanted, very warm atmosphere and the owner always so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed at Riad Tara for three nights in January, adding a night after I arrived because it was so pleasant. There are five rooms and a large courtyard - all lovely. I stayed in the very private and cozy room on the roof terrace level and loved sitting on the rooftop for breakfast and in the evenings to watch the sun set over the ancient city. The owners, Jim and Katrine, were more than hospitable and went out of their way to provide great service on every front. They even showed me around the medina one afternoon and dropped me at the train station on my day of departure. I ate dinner and breakfast at the riad each day, and dinner was particularly exceptional (as good or better than many restaurants I've dined in during my four weeks in Morocco). The riad is in a quiet corner of the medina but only a short walk to the main souks. As a solo female traveler, I would not feel comfortable walking back to the riad alone at night given the quiet streets. But given the wonderful dinners and the peaceful environs of the riad, and the fact that Jim and Katrine offered to arrange taxis and/or meet me in the evening if I had wanted to go out, this was not an issue. I very much hope to return to Riad Tara again in the near future.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms are particularly well-suited for families or a small group of friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

the riad is located in the medina and just a minute from the main road and the souk itself. The hosts were great and extremely helpful. The rooms were comfortable and tastefully furnished. Breakfasts and dinner were delicious everyday. They also arranged transport for us to where eveer we needed to go. We loved every bit of it. The views from the roof top terrace is postcard perfect. a great place to stay with an excellent location with great hospitable hosts. PERFECT!

Room Tip: all rooms were good, we chose one that was on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I looked at several options before booking this one. Was a bit apprehensive due to few reviews, especially few in English. This Riad has not been around for very long, but the service and quality are exceptional! I can't say enough good things about the place--the owners go out of their way to make your stay comfortable, even to the extent of walking us to nearby places of interest so we don't get lost in the maze that is the medina. They always have a smile and offer tea/coffee whenever we enter.

The room (the one with the fireplace) was beautiful. I was concerned about warmth, but it wasn't a problem. It does take the heater a few hours to warm the room though as the ceiling is very high and the windows are not sealed. There was plenty of hot water for showers. The bed was on the firm side but still comfortable. Linens and towels were nice and the place is very clean.

The owners speak mainly French but Jim communicates pretty well in English. If you are a light sleeper you may be awakened by the prayers from the Mosque at 5:30 am. It's not that loud and I slept through them after the second night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I had a wonderful stay at Riad Tara. We had such a warm welcome and a comfortable stay at the riad, which was beautifully appointed and had all the facilities we needed for our stay.

Do try the cous-cous if you are staying on a friday. It is simply the best cous-cous I have ever had. Book with confidence, but make sure you get met at the airport/ train station for the smoothest arrival.

We will be back!

Room Tip: the 'Jade' room is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tara

Address: Ras Jnane | médina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tara 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Riad TARA a ete cree a partir d'un authentique Riad au coeur de la vieille medina de FES. Certaines maisons remontent a plusieurs siecles, FES est une ville de plus de 1200 ans. Les proprietaires actuels, francais, ont passe deux ans a restaurer ce Riad en une maison d'hotes hotel pleine de charme. Ils ont suggere aupres des artisans lors de sa restauration, d'allier modernisme et authenticite marocaine. Cette propriete comble ces occupants par le confort et le bien etre des lieux. Le Riad TARA a desormais tout d'un lieu authentique , on y sejourne en chambre individuelle ou en louant le Riad dans sa totalite, avec des services recherches, pour passer un agreable sejour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Tara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.