We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Layla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Layla to your Saves list
Riad Layla
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue 18, Medina Arsat Mabrouka, Douh, Fes 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wonderful riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed three nights and could have stayed more. Our room, suite Sara, was large with an equally large bathroom. Souky and the entire staff were very helpful. They arranged for a guide in Fes and a car and driver to visit Meknes. Breakfast is served on the roof and it was great. It was different every morning but always included fresh fruit and delicious baked goods. The location can't be beat. Less than a five minute walk to the blue gate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    18
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
70
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I really liked the hotel.. the location was perfect.. people were so helpful in the hotel.. tayyip was the best one.. he was so helpful and we really enjoyed the stay this hotel... if I go there and I will stay again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Riad with gorgeous rooms organized and comfortable; quiet and team work concerted and always a smile on their faces and Girl Kitchen, which is the sweetest Food (Lubna) and a girl reception smiling that make us love staying where you are, indeed a wonderful place and we hope to come back to him again

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed in the Alia Suite at Riad Layla for two nights and really wish it had been longer. The riad itself has been stunningly restored and is both exquisitely detailed and decorated, yet also comfortable and homely. If you are a fan of the stucco work and wood carvings of Morocco, you will spend ages just looking at the detailing on the walls.
Our room was on the roof terrace and could not have been better. The room was very spacious, light and airy with a huge comfortable bed, wardrobe, mini bar fridge and small sitting area. The ceiling is made of beautiful wooden beams and there are side tables of gorgeously carved and painted wood.
For us, the best part of the room was definitely the bathroom. Not only is the water pressure really strong (this can be an issue in riads as they tend to be very tall) but there are two types of shower! An incredible rainfall shower set into the ceiling as well as a hand-held shower head for getting to awkward bits. The bathroom is large and glamourous with black zellig tiles, tadelakt walls and plenty of spotlighting. There are two big ceramic washbasins and plenty of shelf space for all your toiletries.
The toiletries (shampoo, bodywash, body lotion) supplied by the riad are wonderful and the liquid soap dispenser for handwash will leave your fingers smelling beautiful and feeling soft.
We ate breakfast and evening meals at the riad on both days and the food was fresh and delicious - we'd been shown the kitchen when we first arrived and watched some of the preparation.
The view from the roof is spectacular and there is a covered area to provide shade if you prefer not to sit in direct sunlight.
What really sets this riad apart from others is the staff. The owner Michel, Daub the waiter and the girls in the kitchen were all so welcoming and friendly. The real standout star is Souky who helped us overcome the embarrassing problem of having left something behind at a riad in Meknes and arranged for it to be brought to us in Fes! She is an incredible young woman and we left feeling as though we were friends rather than paying guests.
I really cannot praise Riad Layla enough and we are already making plans to return for a short trip next year. Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: Suite Alia on the roof terrace is absolutely wonderful - however it does require a climb of 57 reaso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed there during a recent tour to Morocco. The owner and manager welcome us at the most friendly way. The Riad is beautifully decorated and the premises are great. We stayed in a large room, with high ceilings. Breakfast is served at top roof terrace with views overlooking Fes and the Medina. The only drawback being the lack of sound isolation on the rooms: minor sounds easily cross the walls from one room to the other and to the main courtyard. And although it is a quite hotel and with an excellent service we felt it could be minored.
The restaurant was very good and quite intimist. I strongly would recommend a Hammam at the hotel, by the hands of Fatma, definitely the highest of our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were VERY happy with our choice of Riad Layla for our 2 night stay in Fes. The room was great and we could not believe how quiet it was given we were in the centre of a bustling city - bird song and the odd conversation in the street below were all we really heard - NO cars or mopeds at all. Even more amazing given that the location was perfect for making the most of our two days in Fes. The location partway up the hill above the centre of the town meant that we had one of the best views of the city - enjoyed both at breakfast time and at sunset. Within less than 10minutes walk we were in the heart of things and spent a full day on foot exploring the city - tanneries (not as smelly as expected although it was May not August!), architectural sights, souks and restaurants all within walking distance for most people. We would recommend Fez Café for a great (but not particularly cheap) meal eaten in beautifully quiet and cooling gardens about a 5 minute walk down the hill from the Riad (and NOT the restaurant back up on the main road that was suggested).

We loved Fes and we loved the Riad Layla - wouldn't think of staying anywhere else for a future visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at Riad Layla at at the beginning of April, visiting Fes with some friends. It was a very clean, beautifully tiled riad with very helpful staff. Souky was especially helpful, going out of her way to answer questions in English and helping find a doctor when the boys of the friends we were traveling with became ill. The riad is located within 5-10-minute walking distance of Bab Boujeloud and the medina, so it's very convenient, too. I certainly recommend it!
Andy from New York

Room Tip: TIP: At first we were a little nervous because our room was on the first floor. We were afraid it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Layla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layla

Address: Rue 18, Medina Arsat Mabrouka, Douh, Fes 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Layla 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Layla enthrals you with a decor and ambiance reminiscent of the Arabian Nights. Riad Layla enchants you! The traditional building is constructed in Moorish style and was renovated in 3 years with much effort and love for the smallest details, just so that you could rent a riad that epitomises elegance. The building offers the comfort and service of a luxury hotel combined with the dreamy ambiance of a riad. The design combines traditional Moroccan architecture and craftsmanship with modern comfort. At the centre of the riad is a patio with a fountain and its pool. Cedar wood, mosaic (zellig) and stucco are witnesses of the elegance of this former residence. The salon, the patio and the beautiful roof terraces with a breathtaking view of the entire Fez medina offer a place to read, sun-bathe and relax. Breakfast and dinner are served on the roof terrace during summer. Come and enjoy the atmosphere of Riad Layla for your Morocco holidays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Escapio, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Layla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Layla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.