We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Fes Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Funky Fes Hostel to your Saves list
Funky Fes Hostel
60, Arset Lamdelssi | Fes Medina, Bab Jdid, Fes 30110, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good budget option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a good budget option if you're looking to spend some time in Fes. From memory we paid 115D for a bed in a four bed dorm room. The rooms were generally clean and the hostel was quite nice looking. The staff were very friendly and helpful and able to organise many trips and excursions in Fes and beyond.

The only thing we were let by with is that the shower was terrible - it was a cold dribble of water with absolutely no pressure and the lock on our door was broken so our valuables were not secure.

Other than that we had a good stay with friendly staff, good WIFI and in a great location (2 minutes walk from a gate)

If you're looking for somewhere to stay on a budget this is a good option (also a good option id you are a backpacker and looking to meet people) but if you're looking for something a little bit nicer and more special i'd look elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    33
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

A friend of mine and me stayed in the two-bed provate room for only one night. The room was absolutely beautifully decorated, provided with soap and fresh linen with the rooftop very close. Bathroom was nice and clean and there was no problem with warm water.

Breakfast was free and very delicious, dinner was nice, too (4€).

The staff was very helpul and friendly: Although we had only booked the room for one night, we were allowed to stay in the common area until the next evening and we got as much thé à la menthe for free as we wanted! Definately a very very positive expereince!

The only thing worth criticizing was the tour of the medina: As other reviewers already mentioned, the guy didn't really tell us anything about the history and culture of the medina or the sights. He didn't give us time to stop at places we found interesting. The worts thing was that he dragged us into carpet/leather/skarf/argan-oil...shops without asking us and without telling us what this was about. In these shops, he always disappeared and we were led upstairs by the owners who always tried to push us into buying their stuff (which we didn't want to). When we didn't buy anything, some of them got really unfriendly, and although we told our guide that we didn't want to go into these shops anymore, he didn't bother. He also kind of forced us into that restaurant, just as it happened to the other reviewers, though we told him that we didn't want to eat there. In the end, we surrendered...

But despite of that tour, the hostel itself is really worth a stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

On an extended weekend break with two friends. We found this at the last minute and it was excellent. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. Food was good (not oustanding) if slightly overpriced. Showers were good, they had supplies of those little things you forget like towels and locks. Air conditioning available in rooms, a friendly bunch of travellers met. Location wise it was a little tricky to find initially but it's very close to the Bab R'Cif which is a gateway to the Medina.

We didn't do the Medina tour as we were lucky enough to meet an Arab speaking British academic at the airport but it was a good day trip to Volubulis and Meknes.

Maybe someone who has gone to many hostels or is a traveller would want or expect other features seen at other hostels, but as a novice I found this place pretty much ideal and well priced.

Room Tip: Variable sized rooms with bunk beds, perhaps try to go for a smaller room if a small party to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Pros: Amazing free breakfast, very nice showers, wonderful terrace, helpful and friendly staff, good location, signs leading to the hostel.

Cons: hole in the bathrooms right above the showers, signs are very small, number of beds per room fluctuates, not enough hot water when all the guests are showering in the morning.

This is a good place to come and relax in Fes. DO NOT USE THEIR TOURS! They are overpriced and often disappointing. The big problem was the holes in the bathrooms. There were 3 in the 6 bed bathroom and one was directly over the shower and you could look up and see another room. Same story with the girls only room. I realize you need ventilation but you shouldnt compromise the guests privacy to attain it. Also the meals say they are cheap but thats not true, they are just convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here for two nights in a four person dorm. The staff was extremely helpful (the primary stafflady was a delight), breakfast was simple, but ample. The 35dhm dinner is a steal. The evenings could be a little noisy, but that was due to some of the other guests. Free wifi, arranged guides, and local advice were great additions.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Ok Funky Fes. Well when you first walk in from the maze of the medina its nice and bright seems like i nice place, but then...
First off the good stuff. I stayed in a four bed dorm and bed was ok, sheets provided, and good sized lockers in room. I was the only one in room but 4 bed room had 5 beds in it.??. Breakfast(included) was ok and dinner(extra) and pretty good to. I saw other arrive early/leave late and were allowed to store luggage. Terrace was ok. There was free wifi(no computers).
OK now the rest. This hostel just felt a litte bit off. There were a few cats that were freely roaming around the hostel(including at dinner). The rather large staff seemed to use the common area in the hostel as their living room. This included smoking cigarettes inside. While hanging out they were not particularly friendly to the hostel guests. The bathroom doors are curtains, not a huge issue but I could see others feeling awkward. The medina tour was absolute crap. The guide seemed nervous and shy, or maybe bored and snobbish, and had little to say about the few things he actually bothered to show us. Only after paying and then walking a little way from the hostel did he bother to tell us that the medina was mostly closed as it was Friday, the muslim sabbath. We were then taken to various shops where the owners could make sales pitches for their various wares. This includes one very odd and insistent rug salesman trying to con you into buying stuff for thousands of dollars and selling it at home to pay for your trip. Also, the price of the tour does not cover admission into the museums and mosques. Our tour group slowly just wandered off as the tour dragged on and got worse. This included being left on a rooftop with nothing to do for around 30 minutes(guide might have went to pray but wasn't really clear about it) The 3 of us that stayed the longest decided we were done when the guide took us way out of the way to eat at a restaraunt that was too expensive and looked like its sole business might be tour groups from this hostel. We asked to be taken back to the hostel but the guide wanted us to stay while he ate. Eventually he agreed but when we got back he just sat and sulked in the common area of the hostel with the rest of the staff...awkward again. As mentioned before staff made themselves at home in common area and generally seemed bothered by the guests or they just ignored us.
I didn't find this place scary or threatening but it wasn't fun either. Every service they provide or arrange seemed to be a scam and way overpriced.

Room Tip: Go to another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, España
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

At first, everything seemed great, the place is just beautiful and the receptionist so nice and helpful. We got our beds, in a mixed 10-bedroom room that was actually for twelve, and with a shared bathroom (what we knew in advanced) but it had no door but a curtain. That filled the room with all kind of noises and smells (and keep in mind the intestinal problems of being away of your loo..). The guy in charge of tours and tourist guides seemed nice but he was definitively NOT. He was pushing us to take all kind of services the hostel had. We hired the tourist guide for the medina and didn't show us around, all he did was walk fast, with us far away trying to reach him. Showed us a few touristic places (no explanation) and then keep getting us into shops and shops even tho we told him several times we wanted to see the city. He was getting nervious by the minute, and tried to take us to a restaurant waaaaaaay out of our budget (spaniards backpacking) even when we were no hungry. A couple of hours before the tour concluded we told him he could leave (he had been paid already) and he got furious and called the hostel, and the manager asked us for explanations very rudely. As we had previously said we were going on a tour the next day, we called to cancel, in case the experience was similar. We were told it was ok, but when we got back to the hostel we were reprehended for cancelling. That very night, pretty late for Marocco, and American girl came into the room crying, and started telling her friends how rudely the man had been, that he had made her pay for a helluva amount of money for the night (when there was plenty of room and they were leaving at 5 in the morning) and said "and after all that yelling they start playing nice asking if I will have breakfast".
Breakfast is included and is based in tea, coffee, bread and butter and if you are lucky, some melon. We had dinner there once, and It was delicious (specially the chicken tajine with lemmon and olives). The terrace is great althought there is not much sight to do there. Sheets are provided, also a pillow and a locker (there is less than one each two people) and you can borrow a padlock. There is one computer with internet not particularly fast but good enought. The hostel offers all kind of services as henna tatoos and marroquian food classes.
There was a cat who lived there but no one told as in advance and among us we had an alergic and a person with fobia. We were told the cat was going to be out while we stayed but one night she got into our room....
Really, that man and the tourist guide changed our mood, got us angry and anxious. When we got rid of them, everything changed and we were able to enjoy Marocco, a country that I really loved and found fascinating. 90% people are extremely nice, good food, nice pictures...
I don't recommend this place to girls travelling alone. If you notice that on the reviews, guys found it lovely, and girls found it atrocious. The only problem in that hostel is that man, and the bathroom curtain ;)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Fes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Fes Hostel

Address: 60, Arset Lamdelssi | Fes Medina, Bab Jdid, Fes 30110, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finally, accommodation for young people in the medina! If you are interested in different cultures and wish to contribute to mutual understanding between people we would like to welcome you to our beautiful authentic Riad for young people. We offer a wide variety of activities and loads of culture to discover even on a tight budget! Our purpose is not to simply offer a place to stay, but to introduce you to the local culture, its history and its people, with the aim of bringing people together through the young generation, thus contributing to global peace and understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Funky Fes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Fes Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Fes Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.