We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Hafsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Hafsa to your Saves list
Dar Hafsa
34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Mesdina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Fes
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

For 2 college girls travelling to Morocco for the first time, we were unsure of a safe, comfortable place to stay but we are now so relieved that we chose Dar Hafsa. It offers excellent accomodation for budget prices. The place is beautiful and clean and even has a rooftop terrace overlooking Fes. The owner is very sweet and gave us many insider tips about the city to avoid trouble and tourist traps. He went out of his way to guide us himself to local shops and gave us great restaurant recommendations for low cost delicious traditional Moroccan meals. I would recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone travelling to Fes who wants to feel like they are at a home away from home.

Room Tip: Make sure to book ahead of time, as it is a real home there are only 4 rooms available for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    35
    25
    5
    1
See reviews for
62
206
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Karim and his daughter helped us sooooo much! A warm helpful welcome went their extra mile for us! Such a calm soothing atmosphere in the hotel, very charming place and clean! Great place to stay with family or friends, very safe.
They are truly lovely hosts. Highly reccomend to stay here in Fez and in a good location. Karim and his daughter are 2 people you will remember and appreciate even after you leave Fez!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dar Hafsa was like a haven as soon as we had entered. Mariam and her Father Abdullah Karim were very much helpful!! We were two girls, and he had taken care of us and made sure we were taken to our correct destinations. Very hospitable, definitely recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I spent two weeks in Morocco, and Fez was by far the best city we had the chance to experience. Although you need a life time for Fez alone. Karim and his daughter from Dar Hefsa were very welcoming and allowed us to really get a sense of the relaxed fassi life. The Dar himself is amazing, beautifully renovated by the owner, with excellent hygiene standards, and well located off tala sghrira, which makes exploring the medina at any time of the day very easy (especially after one of the copious breakfasts in the dar). I would recommend asking Karim for any information about where/who/what and how in fez. He is very patient and helpful. He was also useful in setting us off for the next leg of our journey to Essouira. If you want a place in Fez that makes you feel at home and not just a tourist in a riad then go for dar hefsa without hesitations

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time visiting Morocco and the family-run Dar Hafsa riad was an ideal intoduction to the country's famous hospitality. Visitors are made to feel so welcome that you might get the impression that you are staying wih a favourite uncle rather than a businessman. Copious glasses of mint tea are accompanied by friendly and essential advice about Moroccan culture and what to do (and what not to do!) while in Fez.

The riad itself is beautifully decorated and the rooms are first rate. Breakfast is a real treat and even the most ravenous traveller would be hard pushed to finish it all. To top all this off is a roof terrace with a great view over the surrounding area.

With regards to location, you couldn't ask to be closer to the Medina and the cities main attractions are all with in walking distance.

We hope to return soon.

Katrina and Peter

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fantastic location with beautiful Moroccon decor in this Dar tucked away down a quiet residential alley. Lovely rooftop garden to look out over the city. Very clean and tidy and lovely room with great ensuite (very good shower). There are four guest rooms - I would recommend asking for one of the higher rooms. Karim is a great host and goes out of his way to make sure you are happy and can organise taxis, tour guides etc. Impressive breakfast with mix of breads and pastries. Great value, location and atmosphere - highly recommend. Went with a friend and it was perfect as a base.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter as they all face into the central communcal area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this homely riad. Beautifully decorated in traditional crafts, materials, fabrics throughout, with roof terrace with great view across the medina to the hills beyond Fes. In a quiet location in the heart of the medina, a true oasis. Excellent value for money, welcome mint tea upon arrival and fabulous breakfast. Thank you Karim and family for a wonderful stay in Fez.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Hafsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Hafsa

Address: 34 Derb Sidi Safi Souiket Ben Safi | Talaa Sghira Mesdina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 90 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Hafsa is a traditional 19th century Morocccan home. Recently renovated, the house is a beautiful example of fine Moroccan craftsmanship. The ornate tile work and painted doors reflect the best in cultural design. An open floor plan with multiple indoor balconies gives the house a cozy feeling, but not at the expense of privacy. A roof-top terrace offers an expansive view of the Fes Medina and the Riff Mountains.This lovely accommodation is seven minutes from the Blue Gate (Bab Bouljoud), and a simple right-hand turn from the main street (derb sidi safi souiket ben safi talaa sghira) and souk. It is situated on a quiet, clean byway. Those looking for a more authentic Fes stay will find themselves a reasonable distance from hustle and bustle of the shopping and trade.You will feel welcome at Dar Hafsa by the family who manages the guest house, Mariam and Aziz and their parents. They are friendly and generous. English, French, and Arabic languages are spoken well, along with some Spanish and German. Your comfort and satisfaction is assured, and the family can share their local knowledge to enrich your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Hafsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Hafsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.