We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Guennoun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Guennoun to your Saves list
Riad Dar Guennoun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70, Dior Jdoud Laklakliyin Bab Jdid ( Rcif) | Fez Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I cannot say a single negative thing about this Riad. My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon in August for three nights, and it was the best part about our visit to Fes. We arrived at around 11pm after an exhausting, hectic day that had culminated in an awful bus ride, but the staff immediately greeted us at the door with a smile, tea, cookies, and then offered us dinner. The room itself, on the first floor, was gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. The dinner we had there was excellent (chicken tagine and pastilla), and the breakfasts (various forms of bread and juices) were delicious too, and the staff served them to us smilingly and told us the names of the dishes in Berber and Arabic. The wifi wasn't great, but everything else was so awesome that I stopped caring. After long, tiring days of sightseeing, it was a joy to come back to this riad in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
77
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Riad Dar Guennoun during our honeymoon trip to Morocco in August. We took the Miriam Suite on the bottom floor. In short, it was wonderful. Miriam, one of the owners of the Riad, was incredibly helpful along the way, responding promptly to every question I asked. They even provided the mint tea and cookies everyone raves about in reviews when we arrived at 10:30pm due to a late train! The room very well kept and the beautiful pictures on this site are true to form. Dinner on the rooftop was very good, and breakfasts were a surprise every morning with a new flavor of fresh juice and a new fresh breakfast bread, different from the day before. The service was impeccable from top to bottom, with the staff being incredibly friendly and teaching us new words in Arabic with a smile. If you're staying in Fez, stay here--you won't regret it. (On a side note, this room had the best air conditioner we saw in Morocco, something very important when traveling in August).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We absolutely LOVED staying at the Riad Dar Guennoun! We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July. The Riad is beautiful and spacious, filled with Moroccan charm. There is a large covered courtyard on the first floor, a lovely dining area for breakfast, and a beautiful rooftop terrace with views of the city. Our room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. By far, the best part about the Riad was the wonderful staff. Miriam was so helpful and welcoming. We asked her at the last minute about arranging a guide, and within 20 minutes she had found us a fantastic guide to take us around Fez, and this turned out to be one of the best parts of our trip. She also recommended a place for a hammam as well as restaurants. Based on the suggestion of other reviews here, we did dinner on the rooftop of the Riad, which turned out to be one of the best meals of the trip. They were very accommodating of dietary restrictions and made us a truly delicious (and reasonably priced) 3 course meal. Breakfast each day was also great - fresh orange juice, coffee/tea, breads, pastries, cheese, and eggs or crepes. The Riad was a 5-10 minute walk from Place R'cif, a main entry into the Medina and a short/inexpensive cab to Bab Bou Jeloud (Blue Gate). I really can't say enough nice things about this Riad - the staff went above and beyond to ensure we had a great trip in Fez, and it was a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Book a guide through the Riad and have dinner on the roof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is my fourth stay in Morocco (second in Fez) and the owner's welcoming to the Riad was tops! Expect to be welcomed, seated and refreshed by tea, a tasty treat, and a sprinkling of rose water before filling out the required Moroccan forms. You automatically feel at home and know you're going to enjoy your visit. Our room was described as small by our hosts, but it was more than spacious and well appointed. The entire Riad is impeccably designed with Moroccan flair and the food is amazingly authentic and reasonably priced on the rooftop terrace. Our choices were lemon chicken or beef with prunes and was indescribably delicious.. Internet and AC worked just fine. We felt comfortable arranging our mountain tour with the hotel and plan to stay here upon our return.

Room Tip: Do have the dinner dining experience, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in several different places during our time in Morocco, but this was the best one overall. The entire building is intricately decorated in moroccan style and all of the rooms were spotless. More important than the facilities however, was the welcoming staff/owners of the Riad who were incredibly helpful during our three night stay. We had dinner here on our last night on the terrace and the food was also fantastic. I can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nykp
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Riad Dar Guennoun was a great start and one of the highlights in our Morocco trip. It is beautiful and its service quality was excellent. Like many reviews have mentioned, the host and staff would go out of their way to have your requests made. The breakfast and dinner were the best we had during our trip. We had tried many tagine at different places including those food stalls in Marrakesh. None could match. Plus, the dining experience on the roof top is hard to beat.

The location is excellent to explore the medina which is one unique and interesting place. We highly recommend this Riad and really wish we could go back again.

The Riad is a bit difficult to find. Luckily we had GPS which guided us to a dead end where the parking lot is. Parking is 20 dh per day paid to a parking attendant at the lot. Pay attention to the sign of the riad at the entrance of alley. The riad is two short blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights in September last year, and would now never stay anywhere else in Fez. This was part of a trip around Morocco and out of the 5 Riad's we stayed in, which were all very good, this was still easily the best. The Riad is immaculate and you definitely feel the wow factor when you step in, and this is even before you see the suites! It also has a rooftop terrace with beautiful views across the Medina. It's location is ideal, right in the centre of everything. The hospitality shown by Miriam and Said was amazing, they made us feel right at home, and were always there for advice and ideas, making sure we made the best of our stay in Fez. Could not recommend this Riad more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Guennoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Guennoun

Address: 70, Dior Jdoud Laklakliyin Bab Jdid ( Rcif) | Fez Medina, Fes 30200, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Fes
#21 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Guennoun 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Guennoun is a beautiful traditional house located in the world’s oldest inhabited medieval Islamic cities, Fes. Dar Guennoun is located near one of the main access points to the Medina and is just five minutes from the famous Kairouyine University and the souks. Dar Guennoun is a 17th century house which has been extensively renovated. It is a wonderful example of Moorish architecture from the hand sculpted plaster to the artisan painted cedar wood and the mosaic covering floors and walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Dar Guennoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Guennoun Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Guennoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.