We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden and attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Jardin des Biehn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Jardin des Biehn to your Saves list
Le Jardin des Biehn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Akbat Sbaa | Douh, Fes 30200, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Fes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden and attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in Jardin des Biehn for two nights and had a great time. The hotel is small (9 rooms), with attentive staff and fun restaraunt (we've even attended the b-day party of the owner's wife). The rooms are all different (we stayed in Le Persan), so take a pick if you get a chance (ours had direct garden access, but was a bit dark and damp). The owner, Paul Biehn, is something of an arts person (designs interiors, clothes, writes culinary books and teaches cooking classes) and lives in the hotel - lots of style!

The location is convenient, although can be hard to find (drive to Place Batha, from there call the hotel for someone to guide you to avoid confusion). We've had issues, however, as our GPS did not have nearby streets. From the hotel it's very close to the main tourist attractions on the west side of the medina, but be ready for a 15-20 minute walk to Karaouine Mosque (very easy to get lost - after that the locals become a pest, as everyone tries to get money from you for guiding you to his shop). Overall a good location, especially if you're in Fes for a few days and want a place to relax from the hustle in the medina during the day.

Room Tip: Take a look at the available rooms - they're all of different design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
76
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We loved Le Jarden De Biehn! The staff was wonderful and the garden was beautiful. The room was very nice, and the food was delicious. I definitely recommend staying here if you come to Fez.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, El Kelaa des Srarhna, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had a great weekend in the Jardin de Biehn. The beauty and the taste with which the garden, the restaurant and the rooms had been designed is stunning. Employees were very friendly and always smiling. On the first morning we were offered to have a look at the other rooms, the ancient sleeping room of the pasha, the chinese room, the central asian carpets.. when we then left that day to have a walk in the medina, I rethought what we had seen and was not sure whether it had been dream or reality. We have been travelling around Morocco quiet a bit and I must say, this is really an exceptional place! And then, it's also the little things that make it perfect: Breakfast with much more choice than in comparable places, first floorheating I've ever seen in the country, very generous gifts of nice argan oil shampoo and soaps...All the best to Michel for this project! Warmly recommanded!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We had the most wonderful visit to Le Jardin des Biehn. It was magical. The gardens are incredible and each room is a work of art. The hamam is awesome. The staff is wonderful - friendly, warm and delightful. If you are looking to stay in Fes, look no further!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Staying at Le Jardin Des Biehn on my first trip to Fes was very special. If you like history and want to stay somewhere that is unique then this is the place. Each of the villas are different as the rooms have been restored based on the original buildings - it gives each room a lot of character while maintaining the sence of history. The internal gardens are lovely and provide a wonderful outlook from the rooms or the cafe which is co-located in the complex. The rooms are comfortable and have a lot of little special touches which give them character and add to the Moroccan experience. Michel is a very gracious host and it was a shame I only had one night in Fes - it really wasnt long enough to enjoy all that Le Jardin Des Biehn has to offer. You cant drive all the way down as this is within the walls of the Medina so wear comfortable shoes and/or ask for assistance with your bags.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique character but not all have balconies - if you want to have a view over the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have enjoyed our stay in Fez with the Biehns for 2 years in a row. It is a well thought out property with everything that you need after a day in the souk or visiting the hypnotic city of Fez. The food in the cafe is fabulous, the property beautifully decorated, the staff beyond friendly and helpful, the garden a paradise. We enjoyed a cooking class, hamaam, massage, tours and interesting conversations with the owners as well as other guests. Everything about the property is a delight to the senses.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

There is no way we would have enjoyed our few days in Fez half as much had we not stayed at Le Jardin des Biehn. The garden, with its beautiful flowers, herbs, vegetables and birdlife, is a welcome break from the mayhem which lies outside in the Medina! Michel and his wife have created a sanctuary of elegance & calm, whilst importantly, maintaining the integrity and cultural history of the property. Michel's long association with the antiques industry is clear and the rooms are beautifully done. The service is immaculate, from the charming Malick who manages it, and the rest of the staff who could not be more amenable and eager to please. The food is as good as everything else - we ended up eating here most evenings as it was far better than most other places in Fez. If we go back to Fez we would not consider staying anywhere other than here - in fact, it may be the most pressing reason to go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Jardin des Biehn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Jardin des Biehn

Address: 13 Akbat Sbaa | Douh, Fes 30200, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Jardin des Biehn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Jardin des Biehn is a large Andalusian garden in the middle of the Medina of Fez, scented by Isfahan roses, jasmin, orange blossom and bergamot. All around stands the summer palace of a Pasha : nine rooms and suites, a restaurant, a spa and an art gallery. It is a place of harmony and charm, of luxury and fantasy, of shadows and light passing through the palms, lulled by birdsong and the murmur of fountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Jardin des Biehn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Jardin des Biehn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.