We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Boustan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Boustan to your Saves list
Riad Boustan
34 Arsat Chami, Bourajouea, Bab Jdid | R'cif Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a lovely, fully restored traditional moroccan house and is just a wonderful building. all the people who worked there were very helpful and always went and got me cold water from the local shop if I needed it with no charge. They are kind and caring to their guests and went down the road and got me a takeaway on the last night when I was hungry. If you want to stay in a hotel complex with a swimming pool this is not the place but if you want to feel like you're in someone else's lovely home as a guest, being looked after, then this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caslano, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Zaitoona Room was spacious. The Riad is in a very good position in Fez. However, the room had an unpleasant odor. The bathroom was dirty (the shower rug had not even been changed) and we found two cockroaches. Often there was no hot water.
The owner was not present and the relative in charge was very nice, and he went out of his way to make us feel at home and to be helpful. However, administratively speaking, he did not seem to know what he was doing. He wanted to charge us an extra 5% if we used our credit card to pay, but since the credit card machine did not work, we paid in cash and we never received a receipt.
Other people had the same problem at check out.
With just a little more care and cleanliness, it could be very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The location is great, near the old medina and a parking lot which is nice if you are driving.
After reading some reviews I expected to have a "above average" breakfast, this was not the case. The water in the shower just went to the floor and had no draining which caused some not so nice smell and moist in the floor (Yasmina room).
We did not had dinner in the Riad (aprox. €30 pax) because it's what we believe to be expensive according to the Morrocan standards so I can't pronounce if it was good or not.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalus, Owner at Riad Boustan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
I am so sorry for falling short in rising to your expectation . I had a word with staff and the reason for the average breakfast was due to off sick off our main beakfast chef. Regarding the shower in Room is all fixed now.
Thank you so much for your extremely valued comment I do apologise for any convenience, hoping to have the chance to make it up to you. Your comments meant a lot for Riad Boustan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We really loved this Riad. We got picked up at the airport, so we could go straight to it. Were pleasantly surprised by the Riad; beatifully decorated, quiet and really relaxing.
The guy who welcomed us was very friendly, offering us a bigger and better room than we had booked, since it wasn't that busy at the Riad. The room was spacious, cool and beatiful in style as well.
The breakfast was outstanding; bread, pancakes, eggs, coffee, tea, milk and orange juice. The riad felt very safe; the door got locked at night. If you wanted to get in after 10 at the night, you just had to warn the staff so they could let you in. This felt really secure.
Would definitely recommend this Riad and come back any time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalus, Owner at Riad Boustan, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments; the pleasure was our when you visited our Riad. We will be delighted to welcome again.

Kind Regards
Mostafa El Amine
Riad Boustan Fes Morocco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem.The entrance is very unassuming but it belies the opulence within. Excellent service, quietness, cleanliness and lovely traditionally furnished rooms.. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially the son of the owner who goes out of his way to assist as manager. We were surprised not to be charged for the occasional extra coffee or bottled water as in other hotels. Once I commented on a lovely CD of Moroccan music he was playing in the reception's lounge area and he gave it to us! Of course It was not the original but nevertheless was a very nice gesture and reflected the attitude of doing just that little bit extra to make us feel at home. Sure, there was a couple of minor quibbles e.g. the hotel is extremely difficult to find (even with the assistance of some locals), and the shower head bracket in our bathroom fell off a couple of times, but these things were insignificant when looked at in the light of our total experience there. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Anything upstairs. Our suite was much more spacious than the double room we expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andalus, Owner at Riad Boustan, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you guys we had the real pleasure having in our humbled Riad and looking forward to welcoming again , once again thank you for your visit.

Mostafa El Amine
Riad Boustan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to stay in the overwhelmingly beautiful city of Fes! Mostafa and his staff are more than willing to start helping you out even before your arrival! We were immediately contacted and asked if we need help organising our airport/rail station transfer, if we need help with organising some tours, guides, etc. A much appreciated gesture which makes you feel very welcome!

The Riad is beautifully restored, the rooms are comfortable and the communal areas are very pleasant. The staff will serve you tea throughout the day and are always available for any assistance you may need. Location is in the south part of the Medina, and is difficult to find on your own for the first time, but the staff will come and greet you and you will be able to find your way back afterwards. It was a great place to start our tour of the Medina with the professional guide - highly recommended as the Medina is very big and it is very difficult to have any orientation walking in the labyrinth of narrow streets, not to mention ofcourse all the interesting facts and stories you will hear!

I whole-heartedly recommend this Riad for your stay in Fes, you will have a wonderful time in your home away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This riad was a lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of Fes; Cool, calm and very clean! The riad itself has been elegantly restored and our room was very comfortable. The owner and staff were all very hospitable and the breakfasts were plentiful!

Location-wise, the riad is within a short walking distance of the southern part of the medina, and taxis were easily available to explore elsewhere. The area was busy during the day but not really somewhere to stroll around in the evenings, with a limited choice of restaurants nearby.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Boustan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Boustan

Address: 34 Arsat Chami, Bourajouea, Bab Jdid | R'cif Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad has a large courtyard garden with fountain surrounded by spacious rooms; elaborately decorated with mosaic tiles (zellij), delicately carved plasterwork, handpainted cedarwood and stained glass. There are seven suites and rooms, all with bathrooms, air conditioning and heating. Guests are served a delicious Moroccan breakfast and refreshments throughout the day. Lunch, packed lunches and dinner are all available. Large groups may rent the whole house, sleeping 19. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Boustan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Boustan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.