We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad in Fez” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad al akhawaine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad al akhawaine to your Saves list
Riad al akhawaine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Derb Bni Aich Talaa Sghira Grande Por | Grande porte Bab Boujloud, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€20 off room rate
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely riad in Fez”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A sweet surprise after the journey, hidden in a small lane 2 minutes from Grande porte Bab Boujloud off Tala'a Sghira, the riad is a gift for the eyes. We were seated in the very bright and richly furbished patio and welcomed with a lovely mint tea. Our bedroom was very charming, very authentic built in wardrobe with doors of sculpted wood and mezzanine with a lounge area. Lastly, the bathroom's usual toiletry was locally made soap and naturally made shampoo. Not to be forgotten, the quiet roof terrace to enjoy the sun in peace. All together, the riad made most of the trip for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    63
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
95
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Beautiful riad in a very nice place, easy to find in the medina. Very helpfull and nice staff. Clean rooms and wi-fi available in all over the place. Beautifull ground-floor were the breakfast was served.
We arrived late at night and the staff were gently enough to order a very tastefull and cheap meal for us to eat in the riad.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Riad Al Akhwaine is situated in a narrow but clean lane in the heart of Fez old city. It is a very well-restored Riad with probably the best ground floor sitting area of any riad that we visited in Morocco. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms are nice.

However, if you decide to stay in this riad, please look out for the fact that the rooms are pretty high up a set of stairs. Our room was up 33 steps of around a foot height each. That can become somewhat tedious after a long day of hoofing about in the city. The kitchen is also up a fair flight of steps, with the result that if you a need a refill at breakfast, someone has to raise his face upwards and holler for it!

Also, I wish the staff was better trained in smiling. They are a much more grim lot as compared to the staff of some other riads where we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The riad is in 300-year old house, Moroccan style tastefully renovated.
In the impressive lounge they serve tasteful breakfast.
Our bedroom on the first floor was spacious with large En-suite bathroom. There is no wi-fi connection in the room only in the lounge.

The riad is short walk from the blue gate and 60 meter from Talaa Sghira, where it is possible to find nice restaurants.
We had no problem to get there with a suitcase.
The riad is reassuring and there is always someone at the reception even in the night time.
We stayed there at late September and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fez
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Beautiful riad in a very findible place in the Medina of Fez.. The best was the staff:nice, warm, helpful. I highly recommend it. We went with a one year old baby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights in this Riad, which was a magnificently beautiful building. The rooms were comfortable and the staff very kind. I loved the trip to Fes, which was an exciting and fascinating city, and at the end of every day of exploring, I relished the return to the tranquility of our Riad, which was well located, just close enough to the city edge to be easy to find, but not far from the hustle and bustle of the ancient central city.

My mother had some difficulties posting on the site so I've included her comments here:

"We very much enjoyed our stay with you in Fes. Your suggestion for an official guide was good. We appreciated the BBC on TV and the small refrigerator in our room, even the mosquito zapper and the big bathroom. We felt welcome and we are grateful. "

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad al akhawaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad al akhawaine

Address: 50 Derb Bni Aich Talaa Sghira Grande Por | Grande porte Bab Boujloud, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fes
#23 Family Hotel in Fes
#27 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad al akhawaine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional patio in riad in fez al akhawaine is surrounded by a fountain, a Moroccan lounge and a host table where you can savor a mint tea with its Moroccan pastry.You can enjoy the beauty of the patio as much as you desire, since it is covered and heated on winter, and air-conditioned on summer.During you stay at Riad Al Akhwaine in Fez, you will discover the oriental lifestyle that you always dreamed about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Riad al akhawaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Akhawaine Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad al akhawaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.