We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Borj Dhab

Save Saved
You added Riad Borj Dhab to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Borj Dhab
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   derb borj dhab | Kalqlyine, Fes 35000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 85 hotels in Fes
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great base for exploring the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and it was the perfect base for our strolls through the medina.

The staff was very helpful and hospitable. They picked us up from the parking lot, organized a great tour guide, prepared a delicious breakfast full of moroccan treats and the room was neat and tidy everytime we came back (more than one time a day).

The surrounding area would not suggest such an elegant palace behind the wooden door. The rooms are all very chic and cozy. Unfortunately the rooms differ quite a bit in style and facilities. One of the rooms had a small balcony and big windows, the other one had small windows where you could not see anything outside. It was therefore quite dark. The bathrooms on the other hand were equally big, modern and well equipped.

Nontheless, the lovely staff, the location and the beautiful flair makes this place a must-stay in Fès!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I habe stayed here for 2 Nights with my Friends. The Riad is in the Old Medina and is easy to find. You can Start the tours to the Medina directly. The room was very well decorated in moroccan style, which I have liked very much. The room was cleaned daily. The Service and the Manager are Open for any Question and They have arranged for us a very Good Guide. The breakfast was served in the Patio. If you want to drive with your Car, you can Park near the Riad (avenue Rcif in Front if "Pharmacie Rcif"). We had to Pay 30 Dirhams for the Night. I highly recommend this riad to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s.a
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

we had enjoyed our stay.it was realy a good experience.all the stuff was good but houda and hanan were the best friends.the foods excelent either the breakfast or diner.the service was very profetionel.the room was much cleaned.so i hope i had forget nothing about this lovely Riad.but from my heart i tell all our friends about this place.we will never forget our stay in fes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micanopy, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This place is top notch. It is right in the middle of the medina. There is gorgeous mosaic tiles everywhere and the furnishing are grand to say the least. We were treated like royalty and everything was clean and plush. The only drawback is also one of it's great features. This Riad is in the Medina and when you first arrive you will NEVER find it on your own. Of course you can call them and they'll come meet you outside of the medina and walk you in so don't fear. The medina can be a scary place the first time you enter and it is not clean but the hotel is so it's worth it. We got a very good price which included a suite and daily breakfast. We had dinner there one night as well and the food was wonderful. I was there over my birthday and the staff made a big deal (over and over again). They even gave me Moroccan slippers as a gift. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room but the one we had looked out into the indoor courtyard and had a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rt
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011 via mobile

Our second stay was just better than the First , the room was very confortable the meals delicious and the staff very kind. The location is perfect.
The medina is magic with its very narrow streets and all what surrouds you, it's very typical.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Aprill 2011 was a return trip following an initial stay in December of last year. The Riad Borj Dhab in Fes was a great experience in every way, and the staff was unforgettable. It was sad to hear of the manager/restorer's passing upon my arrival the second time. Khalid exuded such great passion for the place, but left behind equally great staffers in Neboule (sp?) and Houda, a delightful young lady who's mom teaches French, but who chose to learn English instead. I very much enjoyed conversing with her at breakfast and getting tips on getting around the new city. Another staffer, who's name I did not get delivered hot mint tea up to the rooftop terrace one night, and as I leaned over the railing gazing across the amber lit medina taking in the crisp North African night air, mint tea in hand, I could not imagine a more wonderful experience! The riad is very near Place R'cif, one of the main entrance squares to the medina and near a main gate to the souk, or markets, with it's 9,000 plus passages. I considered staying at a different riad the second time, but elected to go with the know quality of the house Khalid built and left with the cherry and inquisitive personality of my friend Houda!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Borj Dhab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Borj Dhab

Address: derb borj dhab | Kalqlyine, Fes 35000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 85 hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Riad Borj Dhab 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located , this house will take you through the times in her patio finely decorated with tiles and plaster , its huge carved cedar doors and panoramic terrace with stunning views of the legendary medina of Fez .Comfort and luxury suites and rooms with air conditioning, combined with a unique decor will rock your night of relaxation, nostalgia and romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Borj Dhab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Borj Dhab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.