We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Sekaya

Restaurant Sekaya
No 87 Zekake lehjar, Fes, Morocco
06 64 46 64 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 152 Restaurants in Fes
Price range: $1 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Lost in the medina and stumbled on this restaurant. Three flights of narrow steep stairs and then what a view from the terrace across Fes. Very helpful waiter advised us on local specialties and we settled down to two tagines to share, one chicken and preserved lemon the other lamb and prunes. Both were excellent. We were actually attracted to the restaurant by the 4 star Trip Advisor sign at street level. A minor downside is that this restaurant is not licensed to sell alcohol.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    44
    19
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“very good tajine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

good view from the terrace and very good food too, great value for the price 80 dh each. I personally got the best food in town here,. not much of a choice though and a bit smaller portions than other resturants. I would come back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good food and great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

good restaurant with a stunning view from its roof terrace . food was good , we had couscous and 5 kind of salades .
the only complain about this place is the location is not easy to find .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good value non-smoking restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Surprisingly good restaurant in Fes Medina, which is so different from our "home" Meknes where locals are easy-going and not annoying. In Fes, fed up with touts inviting us to poor-looking eateries at the Boujloud gate, we finally end up accepting to go upstairs to this restaurant and were pleasantly surprised: cheap, tasty food, relatively nice service, and non-smoking environment in a beautifully decorated house. The only disturbing element was music in the beginning - hip hop music, which was then replaced by beautiful Arabic music. Anyway, we recommend it to all those who wish to relax in a quiet and genuine place in Fes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Brought here by a local told me they have terrace. First i think that this restaurant will not serve good food because they ask some local to promote their restaurant but i am mistaken!!!! With only 60 dirham for 3 course meal, This could be the best value restaurant during my visit in Morroco. We order the beef tajine and something sweet pie. The tajine is the best tajin so far i tried. the waiter is nice just the atmosphere at that moment just so dead its only 6.30 but no one in the restaurant. not reccommended for old people and wheelchair because they have really steep stairs!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sekaya also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Restaurant Sekaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Sekaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.