We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Sekaya

Restaurant Sekaya
No 87 Zekake lehjar, Fes, Morocco
06 64 46 64 08
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 138 Restaurants in Fes
Price range: $1 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Granada, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“not return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Little variety, normal prices and the quality of the food not very good.
We arrived at 21.00 for dinner and we reluctantly attended and fast. We got the feeling that we were intruding on that site
Not recommended at all, there are other restaurants with more charm and better in the Medina.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I went here twice and may go back again one more time. The waiter is friendly; nice. It's not too pricey and the food is delicious...had the tajine and the last time, it was the pastilla which was one of the most amazing foods I've ever eaten. I looked in the kitchen and 3 beautiful Moroccan girls were making it...I think it's one of the foods women tend to make (along with couscous....men supposedly make tajine and BBQ (ha! It's international) from what locals have told me) . The pastilla is a Fessian specialty and maybe not for those that fear the taste of meat with "sweet". If you're open-minded, you must try it!!

Just good luck trying to find it! Even if you have to pay someone a little tip, it's worth it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The best service in Fes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The best Moroccan restaurant we have ever been to(and we've visited a lot!). The food is always very delicious, the prices are reasonable for a set menu. It also comes with many wonderful salads and bread. The view from the terrace is magical - overlooking the medina and facing the Molay Idriss II Mosque. If you look closely you can even see one of the famous teneries from there. However, the best bit of all is the wonderful service! You have the feeling of a guest, not of a client when you are getting served by ever smiling and caring Driss and Hamza. Thank you guys so so much for everything! And yes-whenever we are in Fes, we always pop in restaurant Sekaya for one more delicious temptation.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Traditional Moroccan Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Authentic Moroccan food with reasonable price. It's located 5 min away from Pension Sekaya. You can either have the food at the restaurant or ask them to deliver to Pension Sekaya.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alright, but overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place was fine, the view was nice, but other travellers have overrated the authenticity and taste of the dishes. The menu is limited to five or six dishes, which is fine, and they come with little side salads. However, the tajines and such are not cooked in the ceramic dishes, but rather, prepared first, and heated when ordered. Food was served lukewarm and was cold within minutes. It was alright, but overrated. Based on reviews, I thought it was a place that would serve authentic traditional dishes in a format that foreigners could understand. The view, however, is worth a tea up on the terrace.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sekaya also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Restaurant Sekaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Sekaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.