We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ahlam

Save Saved
You added Riad Ahlam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 86 hotels in Fes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“so disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I went on a short break to Fes,and saw that this place was highly recommended. Yes, location was great. But other than that it is beyond me why this ranks 3rd best place. The staff are lovely, truly very nice and hospitable people, but the service was nothing to sing home about, and more importantly our room was cramped, dark and tiny! It was a struggle to get all the way around the bed. On our last day, we had a peak through the doors of another room which was being cleaned and it was alot bigger than ours so perhaps we pulled the short straw.
I was miserable staying here, it also felt dirty. The bed linen itself was washed daily but the blanket wasn't and smelt like it too. It wasn't what I was hoping for or expecting. And the bathroom always stank! Of stagnant water!
And the last point to add was the complete lack of any sound-proofing. Every morning we would wake to the loud chatter of the staff ladies at 7 am! And then all the guests as they would wake up!
A very very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
195
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a gem of a place just a moment's walk from the beating heart of Fes. This delightfully appointed Riad was most welcoming upon arrival and a really great place to stay in Fes. The courtyard is a stunning exercise in Moroccan aesthetic and the rooms cool and beautifully appointed.
Our host was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. We (a party of 7 adults) liked the easy access to the markets plus the stunning vista from the rooftop terrace.
Moreover, it was wonderful value for money. We stayed in many places throughout our tour of Morocco and this was easily the best value, very fair pricing given the loveliness of the rooms.
I really rate Riad Ahlam and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to visit the amazing city of Fes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I felt right at home in this lovely riad. Sure, the riad is beautiful, clean and comfortable with a wonderful location, but it's the staff that really make this place special.

Everyone, from the owner to the cleaning and kitchen staff go out of their way to make sure you are being looked after and are enjoying your stay. They really get to know their guests as individuals. We were warmly greeted every time we entered, all remembered what activities we had told them we had planned for that day, and were sure to ask us how we enjoyed them upon returning in the evening. In addition, my family have some dietary restrictions which caused us to leave some portions of our first meal uneaten. The kitchen staff noticed this, inquired about our restrictions and automatically adapted every other meal to our requirements with no further input from out side.

They were more than happy to make arrangements for us, such as finding a wonderful guide through the medina and arranging transport on to Casablanca for our flight out -- even down to packing a breakfast to go upon our ridiculously early (4:00am) departure from Fes, and having Omar meet us in the courtyard to be sure we were safely on our way. Much to my surprise, they were keeping track of when they expected us to arrive in Casablanca, and called our driver right as we were pulling into the airport to be sure all was well, then asked to speak to use so we could also verify everything was going fine.

We absolutely loved our stay, and recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Fes for any length of time. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the riad is not difficult to find, is extremely quiet and so convenient for visiting the old city sights. The outside temperature is hot so we decided to take 4 days here in Fes so as not to feel pressured to do everything in two days. So we could not have chosen a more ideal riad. This traditionally decorated and refurbished riad is beautifull. The hospitallity shown us was extraordinary, with nothing too much trouble. Our beautifully decorated triple room was on the second level with a comfortable balcony overlooking the gorgeous central courtyard (which serves as breakfast and dining area). The bed was a large king and firm. Scrupulously clean throughout! The shower contains a seated area and fabulous water pressure, hot water is HOT but we found no difficulty adjusting in our room. Daily new bath sheets, which is a pleasure after staying a month in France, my only critisism might be that the shower gel is in sachets ( though there is soap at the basin. Breakfast is extremely generous with fresh juice and fruits, yoghurt, traditional breads and homemade jams, honey and butter. Eggs, and tea and coffee. We dined here twice in the evening with the generous servings defeating us! The delicious freshly cooked tagines and starters where delicious far better than those we had outside the riad. All staff are just lovely! Free WiFi in the courtyard area and A/C. Just perfect in my opinion so thanks Kassam and Fatia and all the staff at Riad Ahlam.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made our first. 5-night, visit to Morocco for the Sacred Music Festival in Fes, and we were completely captivated by the city, its generous people and the music - everything from flamenco to jazz to fado....
However, the thing that held it all together for us was the perfect hospitality offered by Kacem and his team in the Riad Ahlam. First, we have certainly never been in such a beautiful house, anywhere. It's cool in the afternoon, completely restful in the courtyard with the tinkling fountain and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and designed and furnished to make you feel at home. We had the luxury of having been in two of them, as Kacem upgraded us - as an act of generosity - halfway through. Nights were completely quiet and restful, leaving us ready for another day in nearby bustling Talaa Kbira, exploring other parts of the city and the surrounding countryside. The location of this riad is perfect for exploring the medina.
Kacem and his colleagues are knowledgeable and helpful, always able to answer our questions or make reliable arrangements for us before and throughout our stay. Our days began with a beautiful breakfast in the internal courtyard of fruits, yoghurt, eggs, breads, coffee...all delicious and plentiful. In the evenings, when we were not going to a concert, we always had dinner there, feasting on Fatiha’s beautiful tagines or couscous.
In short, a perfect place to stay in terms of its beauty, comfort and location, and one where the team work so hard – and successfully – to make you feel at home.
Try it - you'll be made most welcome.

Room Tip: Having been in two, ground floor and first, I think they're all probably perfectly comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This Riad was FABULOUS! We absolutely loved every minute.

Location: The hotel is located in the Fes medina, less than a mile from a main road, through beautiful scenery. When you're in the hotel you can walk to the medina and easily find taxis to take you elsewhere. It's in a wonderful location.

Facilities: The entire facility is beautiful! (The best part is the terrace which overlooks the entire medina! What a tranquil atmosphere!) Each room is uniquely decorated with such elegance and true to traditional Moroccan decor! I have stayed in other hotels in Morocco and this Riad is clean, safe and very comfortable!

Staff: The staff was wonderful! They are very friendly and always willing to help with any questions or concerns. Nothing was too much trouble. They all went above and beyond to make you feel very well looked after. They seem to love working there.

Food: Excellent FREE breakfast with a great variety!

All in all, I would recommend this Riad to ANYBODY I know that will be traveling to Morocco! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are a well-travelled Moroccan-American family which prefers hotel service over hit or miss sometimes overpriced experiences in riads, but this was really special. The room was nicely decorated, the breakfast was delicious and can be tailored to your tastes, and the location, despite the shabby parking lot and questionable characters in it, is PERFECT to visit Fes. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ahlam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.