We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ahlam

Save Saved
You added Riad Ahlam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 86 hotels in Fes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We made our first. 5-night, visit to Morocco for the Sacred Music Festival in Fes, and we were completely captivated by the city, its generous people and the music - everything from flamenco to jazz to fado....
However, the thing that held it all together for us was the perfect hospitality offered by Kacem and his team in the Riad Ahlam. First, we have certainly never been in such a beautiful house, anywhere. It's cool in the afternoon, completely restful in the courtyard with the tinkling fountain and the rooms are very spacious, comfortable and designed and furnished to make you feel at home. We had the luxury of having been in two of them, as Kacem upgraded us - as an act of generosity - halfway through. Nights were completely quiet and restful, leaving us ready for another day in nearby bustling Talaa Kbira, exploring other parts of the city and the surrounding countryside. The location of this riad is perfect for exploring the medina.
Kacem and his colleagues are knowledgeable and helpful, always able to answer our questions or make reliable arrangements for us before and throughout our stay. Our days began with a beautiful breakfast in the internal courtyard of fruits, yoghurt, eggs, breads, coffee...all delicious and plentiful. In the evenings, when we were not going to a concert, we always had dinner there, feasting on Fatiha’s beautiful tagines or couscous.
In short, a perfect place to stay in terms of its beauty, comfort and location, and one where the team work so hard – and successfully – to make you feel at home.
Try it - you'll be made most welcome.

Room Tip: Having been in two, ground floor and first, I think they're all probably perfectly comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
193
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This Riad was FABULOUS! We absolutely loved every minute.

Location: The hotel is located in the Fes medina, less than a mile from a main road, through beautiful scenery. When you're in the hotel you can walk to the medina and easily find taxis to take you elsewhere. It's in a wonderful location.

Facilities: The entire facility is beautiful! (The best part is the terrace which overlooks the entire medina! What a tranquil atmosphere!) Each room is uniquely decorated with such elegance and true to traditional Moroccan decor! I have stayed in other hotels in Morocco and this Riad is clean, safe and very comfortable!

Staff: The staff was wonderful! They are very friendly and always willing to help with any questions or concerns. Nothing was too much trouble. They all went above and beyond to make you feel very well looked after. They seem to love working there.

Food: Excellent FREE breakfast with a great variety!

All in all, I would recommend this Riad to ANYBODY I know that will be traveling to Morocco! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We are a well-travelled Moroccan-American family which prefers hotel service over hit or miss sometimes overpriced experiences in riads, but this was really special. The room was nicely decorated, the breakfast was delicious and can be tailored to your tastes, and the location, despite the shabby parking lot and questionable characters in it, is PERFECT to visit Fes. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This Riad was a really fabulous stay, the food was great, the breakfast was the best we had in Morocco.
The room, roof terrace and cleanliness were all excellent. the only slight criticism was the shower, hard to get temperature right.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We started our 10 day tour of Morocco in Fez and staying at Riad Ahlam was the best start we could ever have... we were in heaven.
The manager and all the staff made the difference .They made us feel so at home and were simply wonderful with the children.
Food was delicious, the breakfast out of this world the best we had in Morocco (well done Fattia) .
Room was clean spacious and the decor beautiful and traditional .Location -optimal Didn't want to leave,Well done to the whole team.Will definitely return one day.
Johanna

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel...great location, beautifully decorated in tasteful Moroccan style...very comfortable and clean...service is impeccable...breakfast is freshly made by Fathia every day and is delicious...consisting of traditional home baked breads, eggs, honey, jams, yogurt, fresh fruits and juice, etc.. .dinners are also made by Fathia and are great...the staff is wonderful and create a friendly and warm atmosphere...you feel like you are staying with family or friends...we will always remember Riad Ahlam...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Riad is beautifully decorated and an excellent location. The staff is extremely helpful and goes out of their way to assist you with all of your needs.

The breakfast is excellent and dinners are wonderful after a day in the Medina.

This Riad is a good base for your excursion in Fes

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ahlam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.