We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and comfort in Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ahlam

Save Saved
You added Riad Ahlam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 86 hotels in Fes
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Charm and comfort in Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Ahlam in December. We found the riad to be the perfect base from which to explore the enchanting city of Fes. Situated just a few steps away from the medina, Riad Ahlam captures the authenticity of the Moroccan riad better than most of the others we encountered during our trip.

From start to end, the owner and manager, Kacem, went out of his way to make us feel at home. It often seemed like he was in five places at once – on the phone arranging a medina tour, helping serve meals, making sure all the rooms are spic and span, walking us up to what surely must be the best rooftop in all of Fes. Kacem clearly takes great pride in managing the riad at a high standard, which we appreciated all the more from a Moroccan (as many of the riads are owned and operated by foreigners).

We stayed at the Rihane Suite, which spans one whole side of the building – more than enough space for three adults. The décor is at once chic and traditional, with deep wooden furniture and beautiful Moroccan textiles and extra touches. We didn’t hear any noise coming from outside the riad or the other guests, which wasn’t the case at the other riads we stayed at.

We would definitely recommend this comfortable, charming, value-for-money riad. And yes, you should definitely sign up for at least one dinner – it won’t be the only tanjine you’ll have in Morocco, but it will be the best!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    349
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
193
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The rooms are amazing! The people here are amazing! It's literally a 5 second walk from the medina! The rooms get cleaned every day! Breakfast comes with your room and it's a big breakfast, very filling. Overall you need to stay here if you are vacationing in Fes!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Having stayed in other Riads in Morocco, we found our two night stay in Riad Ahlam to be quite delightful. It was conveniently near a secure carpark and the medinas. The welcome was warm and efficient and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Although our room was just off the courtyard it had double doors so it was quiet and we would literally walk three steps to the breakfast table. The room was very comfortable and stylishly furnished. Important for some there was a strong WiFi signal.
The climb up to the large charming roof terrace was well worth it for the glorious panoramic views over the rooftops and medinas of Fes. Magical at sunset.
Dinner was dleicious and the breakfasts were a true feast fortifying for a days exploring.
We highly recommend this jewel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Excellent location, just on the edge (outside) the old, labyrynthine medina. Beautifully done. The courtyard is gorgeous. We had four rooms, they were each beautifully appointed, the bathrooms pretty and clean. Nice little rooftop with great view.
Extremely kind and hospitable staff. We looked forward to getting back to our riad just to hang out there, we loved it so much.
Riad owner has a friend who hosts dinners at his place - we ate there one night. The friend picked us up and dropped us off. The food was delish. Since there isn't much to do in the medina after dark, this was nice. The other night, we ate at Riad Ahlam. Fatiha, the cook, is incredible! I took a cooking lesson and helped make dinner. Her tajines were the best we ate in our 13-day trip touring all of Morocco.
Breakfasts are good, though eggs or some protein would be good. It's usually a spread of 3-4 different kinds of fried bread. Plus yogurt, orange juice and tea. One thing in Morocco: if you don't want mint tea, the offering is the worst kind: a Lipton bag. If you're serious about your tea, carry a few Twinings teabags with you. :)

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was easily the best place we stayed in all Morocco. Kacem, the manager, treated us like family and did everything in his power to make sure our 3-day stay was memorable and enjoyable. This was the first riad we stayed at during our trip, and we never experienced better service anywhere else. Breakfast was a huge assortment of tea, pastries, pancakes, and fruit (the best breakfast we were served at any hotel/riad). Rooms were well furnished and perfectly clean, with beautiful decorations. The riad itself is gorgeous, and the views of the medina from the roof are terrific. The location is perfect for exploring the medina, as you can walk directly from the riad into the medina and be at the 'blue gate' in just a few minutes.

We arrived late and found mint tea prepared for our arrival, and when we had to leave early for a trip to the desert the staff woke up early to prepare a small breakfast for us to take on the trip. When we needed a guide for the medina, Kacem arranged one for us in no time. When we wanted to take a trip to Volubilis he made all the necessary phone calls, we agreed on a price, and the driver picked us up promptly the next morning. All the staff greeted us with smiles and warmth, and we couldn't have asked for a better place to start our trip in Morocco. We are budget travelers and this place was a little more than what we might otherwise have spent, but we are so glad we did -- it was absolutely worth it to feel like we were being taken care of in an unfamiliar place. If we ever go back to Fes this is definitely where we'll be staying.

Getting there: To get to the riad you can catch a taxi from the train station (20-40 dirham) or from the airport to the 'Ain Azliten' parking location in the medina. From there it's a 60-second walk to the riad. We were worried about finding the place at night, but turned out to be no trouble. If you're driving yourself just make sure your GPS has this parking location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights in this spectacular Riad, beautifully restored and furnished and in a great location. The roof terraces provided superb views over the medina; particularly great at sun set. The team did everything to ensure that our stay was comfortable and memorable. The breakfast was excellent (the best we had on our holiday) and the evening meals were delicious. We would thoroughly recommend Riad Ahlam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ahlam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.