We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ahlam

Save Saved
You added Riad Ahlam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 85 hotels in Fes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here in view of the very high TA ratings and were very happy. The Riad has an excellent location right on the edge of the medina so you can walk out and straight into the medina, It's About 5 mins to the blue gate. It is a beautiful building, and our room was lovely with 4 poster bed. Kacem and his team are very friendly. The breakfast was just OK and huge amounts of food served which I then felt guilty for not eating and I thought we could have had more help organizing our excursions which is why I haven't given a 5 but I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiadAhlam, Propriétaire at Riad Ahlam, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you spent a happy time at Riad Ahlam, and that you appreciated the Riad's team and liked its proximity to the old medina of Fes. Just for your kind attention, I'd like to let you know that we serve a very large and varied breakfast at Riad Ahlam. Many of our customers mention that in the guests' reviews and are happy with it. Therefore, no worries in case you did not finish your breakfast ,for here at Riad Ahlam all the remaining food is distributed to persons in need. I regret that you had the impression we hadn't assisted in organizing your excursions. we had not been notified in time to schedule things for you.Riad Ahlam prides itself to discharge its duties as best as it can, and we take pride to organize excursions, transfer from /to the airport,but on prior demand.

Hope this has straightened it all and thank you for your review and we will be looking forward to your next visit to see to it that you get a 100% satisfaction

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
192
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This riad was arranged by our tour guide (Rough tours) and we were totally impressed by it! The location is fantastic! Just right on the edge of the medina, merely a 5 minute walk to the medina and restaurants. Rooms were well decorated, clean and hygienic with all the modern amenities. The view from the rooftop is spectacular! Service wise, we have no complaint at all! Hassan, Omar & Fatia make us feel so at home! Fatia (the chef) cooked up a lavish breakfast that never fail to impress us! Free wifi is available at the courtyard area (which is really beautiful!). If we are to visit Fes again, we will definitely stay at this charming riad! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this riad. One of the biggest and best breakfasts and evening meals we had during our 16 day stay in Morocco. Excellent location and easy to find...we arrived by car at night in the middle of a major rain storm with minimal problems. The location is minutes from the souk and has a convenient parking area just around the corner. As is the norm in Morocco the outside of the building masks the beauty inside and this riad is truly beautiful and the most spacious of all the riads we visited during our trip. However it is the people that make this riad special and it starts at the top with the manager Hassan. They are all sincere in wishing that this be a most pleasant stay for the visitor (a sentiment that we experienced often in Morocco but this riad took it to a new level). We were booked in a ground floor room but were immediately upgraded on arrival to an upper level superior room for no other reason that it was available. Over our mint tea, we enquired as to whether there would be a price difference but were politely told not to worry about it. The rooms were just what you'd want if you are looking for something different and special, spacious, clean and wonderfully decorated. At checkout Hassan accepted our credit card (although he prefers cash) but as always the customer came first and he met our needs! We did not find the medina over powering however would recommend that if you do not wish to visit the leather/carpet shops, etc then make it clear to your guide at the beginning.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having only been in Morocco for a few days, this was our first of many stays at a Riad, and this one, by far, was the best. Historically, in an effort to hide the presence of wealth, Riads were built to be very nondescript from the outside, but passing through a series of doors leads you to a pristine and beautiful courtyard that is the centerpiece of a traditional home. For westerners, the closest equivalent would be a bed and breakfast, but that description doesn't quite do this justice...

Walking down a narrow passageway in the medina, between high earthen walls you arrive at a door. There are no other windows to the outside world, and no indications of what lies within. We are greeted at the door by our host, Kasim and led through the first door into a small greeting room. Passing through the second door and turning to the right, we are led into a beautiful, sunlit courtyard, elegantly tiled and lushly decorated, with a central fountain. As is common everywhere you go in Morocco, guests are greeted with (totally awesome) mint tea and some conversation.

Narrow, winding staircases take you up to the upper levels of the riad where the guest rooms are located. All of the rooms face into the courtyard and the only windows point inward Continued climbing takes you to the roof, where you are met with an excellent view of the city and a multitude of satellite dish antennas that are mainstays of rooftop views all across the country.

Within the walls, all is quiet and cool; a pleasant reprieve after the hustle and bustle of the medina. Our room ran the length of the courtyard (read as HUGE) with open air windows that faced the interior. The bed fits about 16-43 people (an estimate, we didn't really put it to the test) and the room has all the amenities one will need including cable TV, speedy wifi, A/C, hot water.... When you close the shutters on the windows, don't plan on seeing anything until you open them again. Without the lights, the room is pitch black and silent, perfect for sleeping. If you don't set an alarm, you might just sleep for several days, and within these walls, that is NOT a bad thing.

After a long day on the road, we opted to have dinner in the riad, as opposed to going out and it may have been one of our smartest decisions ever. The in-house chef, Fatia whipped up a lamb and prune tagine that I still find myself dreaming about weeks after being there, and I'm not a particularly huge fan of lamb. All meals are served in the courtyard, at quaint tables surrounding the fountain. Even with other guests eating close by, the fountain allows for private conversation without whispering. The staff provides excellent service with the kind of personalized attention that makes you feel more like a guest in someone's home.

If you are staying in Fes, Riad Ahlam is the perfect place. The staff are friendly and accommodating; excellent hosts, and the riad itself is exceptional beyond words. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Riad Ahlam for the 2 nights we were in Fes. The friendliness, decor and food were all amazing. The location of the Riad is very convenient to the markets and walking distance to many of the sites. We had one of the larger rooms and enjoyed the room. The a/c was nice on a few of the hotter days. We had dinner at the riad one night, and it was one of the better dinners we had on the trip.
The manager treated us like family and went out of his way to make arrangements for us to do the things we wanted, hired a guide for us one afternoon, and made sure we were taken care of.
We would definitely recommend this riad, and also would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our heartfelt thanks to Kassem and the staff at the Riad Ahlam for making our visit to Fez so memorable and comfortable (and our apologies if we misspell anyone’s name). Our visit started with a late night (midnight) arrival on a flight from Northern Europe but we experienced no safety concerns. We had asked Kassem to arrange ground transportation from the airport, and when we arrived a Petit Taxi driver was waiting for us with a sign in hand. Once parked nearby, the taxi driver escorted us to the Riad door.
We were greeted by Omar the night time attendant, who dispensed of all registration formality, making our comfort the priority and escorting us immediately to our beautiful room for a great night’s sleep.
In the morning we met Kassem who greeted us warmly, efficiently completed our registration and assisted with our inquiries to commence our first day of sight seeing. It is sometimes difficult when you are on vacation to distinguish whether the people are friendly because they have to be, or because they genuinely are. It was not difficult at all here. We felt we were getting the real deal with Kassem and the entire staff.
JoeR674 commented on Fatiya's "infectious smile and contagious laughter" and he was not exaggerating a bit. We never once saw her without that smile, making sure we were enjoying ourselves, and every breakfast was a delicious feast. She also prepared a delicious lamb and prune tagine for us on our final evening, which was by far, the best meal we had in Morocco. Raja was equally cheery and worked hard keeping the riad and our room spotless so that we fully enjoyed its beauty and the wonderful reprieve provided from our busy days exploring Fez. I realize that in each case I have mentioned the smile. It is hard not to notice that each person seems to actually enjoy the fact that you are there at their Riad, and they want to make sure that your visit was everything that you hoped it would be. I think it is fair to say that they deliver on every aspect of service, comfort, location and value. In addition to the great service and value provided at Riad Ahlam Kassem arranged for a tour guide to show us around the Medina in particular, and Fez in general. We were guided by Khalid who we found to be so knowledgeable, informative and very personable. We gained more spiritual, cultural, and historical insight into Fez and its people from Khalid than we have from any guides we have engaged in our previous travels anywhere. Our tour included a visit to the largest tannery where we met Dahak who conducted the tour of the facilities and the process. Dahak let us know that he was going to try to sell us something, but we never did feel pressured to do so. All fascinating and very valued memories and a very unique destination.
The Riad Ahlam was a truly wonderful and magical place to stay and visit. We had a wonderful vacation due in no small part to the wonderful staff of the Riad. Thanks so much Kassem and Ahlam staff and Khalid for making it such a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is the most unique, beautiful, friendly, helpful and courteous establishment that we’ve ever stayed at. We were pampered every day in every way.

The staff, Kacem (Manager Par Excellence), Fatia with her infectious smile and contagious laughter was the Best Cook and most bubbly personality Anywhere. We wanted to take her home with us. Rajae is a super nice person and Omar was extremely helpful and always there to assist. Together they are beyond Outstanding. They are truly one of a kind!

We were not treated as customers, we were treated as Family. This is the best hotel/Riad experience we’ve ever had and would recommend this establishment ahead of all others anywhere in the world.

This Riad was absolutely beautiful and very large compared to others we stayed in, and had a superb rooftop view of this magnificent city, which is the jewel of Morocco. The main gate to the old city is only five minutes walk away. The service by manager Kacem was gracious and very helpful. We had dinner one night and the cooking was incredible. They have a good breakfast, welcoming tea at arrival, wifi everywhere + rooms. . Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommended – if fact, it you are staying in Fes or anywhere around Fes, this is the ONLY place to stay!

The location is well situated at edge of old medina and very easy to find in an otherwise congested old medina. The Riad is just off a public parking area next to the center of the long souk street. Very convenient to say the least.
Rooms were very well decorated, clean and hygienic contained all of the modern amenities, yet kept it’s old world charm. Bathrooms were also super clean with old Arabian style showers. Staff was incredibly friendly especially Fatia and Omar and the lady by the name of Rajae.

We spent nearly 3 weeks in Morocco, visiting Rabat, Fes, Meknes, Marrakesh, the l’Ourika valley, and Essaouria and by FAR, this was the highlight of our stay. Out of 5 stars, this staff makes it a 10 Star - Can’t wait to go back, which we will definitely do!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ahlam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.