We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and caring staff. Food was fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ahlam

Save Saved
You added Riad Ahlam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 85 hotels in Fes
fujisawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and caring staff. Food was fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for only 2 nights, but it was wonderful stay. Every staff was very caring and the room was very clean. We had no plan on day 2 so the staff arranged us a half day tour in Fes, which was very wise decision. Fes is a maze and there was no way we could of seen that many if we did not go on the tour.
We ate one dinner and two breakfast. The dinner might have been the best we had during our stay in Morocco. Is in a great location to go out of Medina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    24
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
71
192
25
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Perfectly situated, traditional riad. Entire staff was so sweet and accommodating and went out of their way to ensure we had a perfect stay. Rooms were very clean and updated while still maintaining a traditional charm. Food was excellent and the rooftop terrace is probably one of the best in all of Fez.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

When you go to Morocco you must stay in a Riad. These beautiful homes, which reflect Islamic values, are for me the most wonderfully comfortable homes that exist. The balconies are on the inside rather than on the outside, and face a beautiful inner courtyard which is open to the elements. This riad was beautiful and very large compared to others we stayed in, and had a superb rooftop view of this magnificent city, which is the jewel of Morocco. The main gate to the old city is only ten minutes walk away. The service by manager Kassam was very helpful. We ate in and the cooking was excellent. Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seoul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

we were a moroccan, 3 koreans, 1 jew and 1 chinese. we all arrived to this riad hoping for the best. the result is that we all came out with big smiles on the face. this place kept the traditional structure, lights, decoration and atmosphere with very tidy management, spotless in all corners. good breakfast, wecoming tea at arrival, wifi everywhere + rooms were spacious and with big TV and AC but really, it was a traditional place. just on the edge of medina wall, all were by walking distance. roof top was the place to see the sunrise and sunset. you really have to belive my and other people's comment about the staff, which makes the whole difference. kasim and fatia and many more......thank you again so much and looking forward to going back. jawad and juyoung.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well situated at edge of old medina and very easy to find in an otherwise congested old medina. Rooms were well decorated, clean and hygienic wid all d modern amenities. Bathrooms were also clean with old Arabian style showers. Staff was very friendly especially Omar and a lady by the name of Raja'a. Wish we could access wifi in our rooms!
The best part of our stay was the lavish breakfast dat included fresh fruits, crossiants, eggs, cakes, traditional Moroccan preparations and the MintTea!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I would recommend this Riad. The courtyard is beautifully restored, the rooms are lovely and the food is superb. I would rate the Chicken and Lamb tagines very highly out of all the food we had in Morocco. Overall, this Riad is well worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed in this lovely riad in Fes. It is in an excellent location just on the edge of the medina and all of the main sites of interest are within a fairly easy walk. Kasim, the owner, is the most hospitable host and could not be more helpful. His staff are also very friendly and obliging. In common with some other reviewers we were given a free upgrade to a suite for 2 of out 3 nights in the riad. The breakfast was excellent, more than you could eat and all of it excellent quality. This is an excellent place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ahlam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.