We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sienna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Sienna to your Saves list
Dar Sienna
6 Derb Eloued, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

why i recommend it:
good location
good overall service before and during your stay
what i loved:
the beatiful view from the terrace
the chats with ahmed and sonhild
the henne tatoo service :)
the chance to prepare by ourselves the maroccan tea
what i suggest you:
the seffarine room , bigger and more comfortly the the other one

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    75
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
195
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Unfortunately we only had one night in Fez, but we felt very welcome and home at Dar Sienna.
It is located in the middle of the medina and was hard to find, however we were picked up at the bus station and showed the way to the hostel so we wouldn't get lost.
The host make sure that we felt welcome and saw the best of Fez from their beautiful rooftop view.
I can highly recommend Dar Sienna - especially good place for couples!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We loved our stay at Dar Sienna. We went on a three week tour of Morocco and stayed at many riads and hotels, and this one stands out as the best. It is beautifully decorated and comfortable. A cozy bed, bathrobes, hot water, beautiful terrace view, and relaxing vibe. Most impressive is the lovely staff, Ahmed and Sabah. Ahmed, the manager, is extremely thorough, warm and helpful. The medina is very confusing, so Ahmed picked us up and showed us the way. He pointed out things to help us remember where to turn. This proved to be invaluable info during our stay. We had great conversations with Ahmed and Sabah and really felt at home. Sonhild also sent a lot of helpful info prior to our stay about Fes. Breakfast was delicious & we loved the afternoon tea. It is such a relaxing oasis in the middle of a crazy city. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Lake, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was blown away by Dar Sienna!! Located in the heart of the medina, it's very close to everything that you would wish to see. The staff is wonderful, warm and friendly, and go above and beyond to ensure that their guests have a relaxing, pleasant, and SAFE stay. The decor is beautiful, the views from the terrace are a sight to see, and it truly felt like a home away from home. By the end of our respective stays, each guest seemed to agree - we wished that we didn't have to leave!! I HIGHLY recommend it to anyone visiting Fes...Dar Sienna will be the reason that I return to Morocco!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great location in the center of the Medina. We stayed in the value room, which was spacious and had really comfortable beds. The bathroom was quite small, but adequate. (We visited a nice hamam in the city, so bathroom wasn't too important to us.) The house manager, Ahmed was fantastic and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace was spectacular; especially the delicious Moroccan doughnuts and eggs cooked in a tagine. Wonderful view from the terrace as well. The owner also sent lots of information in advance which was really appreciated.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location was fantastic, right in the heart of the medina. The Dar itself is quirky and nicely decorated and Ahmed the house manager was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that our room was not cleaned. This wouldn't normally worry us too much, but when toilet paper goes in the bin you really want it emptied everyday. I'm sure this would have been fixed, but there was no one around to tell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were planning on staying just a couple of nights in Fez but we ended up staying 6 mainly because of Dar Sienna and the staff working there. It was a real pleasure to stay at Dar Sienna, the location is perfect, the building is amazing and the staff extremely warm & friendly and who go out of the way to make sure your stays is more than perfect. They all went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed and to provide any sightseeing/tourist information we requested. I highly recommend staying here if you are lucky enough to get a room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sienna

Address: 6 Derb Eloued, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Sienna is a cosy guesthouse, located in the heart of the car-free Fez medina. ALSO AVAILABLE TO RENT THE WHOLE HOUSE, SLEEPS 2-6 PERSONS. Free breakfast and high-speed wifi and use of kitchen.Golf course and swimming pool nearby. Excursions to Sefrou, Meknes, Volubilis arranged. Cookery and breadbaking lessons at Cafe Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Sienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Sienna Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sienna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.