We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Layalina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Layalina to your Saves list
Riad Layalina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb el Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Fes
1 review
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a night in Fez and I was well looked after; upon check in they treated me to some nice sweets and tea with a light dinner. The room was great, very comfortable and open. The riad itself is wonderful to look at. The owner was also very friendly and flexible, more than willing to bend the rules for me. The location was good because it was close enough to the medinat qadeemah to be convenient but far enough to have peace and quite. Definitely recommend giving it a go.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    46
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
129
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed at Riad Layalina in Fez recently and found it to be a charming place to stay with great service, a super helpful staff, and an outstanding location next to the old medina.

We arrived in Fes after a five hour ride from Erfoud, having completed a three day tour through the desert. Our trip had been a bit rougher than expected since the ride had brought us through sun, rain, and snow, and we'd not had a hot shower in two days. So imagine our surprise when we arrived at Riad Layalina to a hot meal and piping hot showers.

Now caveat - this place is not easy to find. The google map directions are correct - the location on Google is the building, but you need to keep going along the road to where you see the parking lot on your left and a small path on your right. Walk up that path to the first road you find, and turn right. Go to the end of that street and at the end (the first corner you come to), on the right side, is the Layalina. You basically need to do a big loop to find the main door.

When we came in, they settled us in a comfortable room with two beds, a private bathroom, and a space heater - all vital things considering where we had been. The dinner, a light chicken tagine with bread, tea and dessert, was such a nice treat. They took care to make sure our trip was comfortable and provided us with breakfast and then a bottle of water for the road. It was a bit chilly but the extra blankets and space heater kept us warm - and the hot water comes out really fast! :-)

And lastly, when we told them we needed to leave a bit earlier than expected, they gave us some breakfast items the previous night so we would have them. How thoughtful!

I would highly recommend them in future!

Room Tip: We had the room just off the main foyer - super convenient and no problems!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the breakfast is tasty, and the decor is beautiful. I highly recommend this riad to anyone who's looking for quality and value in a great location.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cormolain France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife & I stayed here as part of our Moroccan tour although the welcome was great the owners and staff did all they could to assist.

Unfortunately neither my wife or I are used to sleeping on rock hard uncomfortable beds which without doubt spoilt our stay

Room Tip: Look for another Riad
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Outstanding place. Thanks to you all for making my stay with you a pleasure. Helpfulness was your middle name. Ask and you will be accommodated. Great location. Awesome breakfast. Friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Great Riad, beautiful with very friendly staff and beautifully appointed rooms. There were sweets and mint tea when I arrived. It's a little difficult to find but it's well worth it. The best Riad I stayed in while I was in Morocco.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

What a lovely Riad to stay and enjoy our visit to Fez.
Nice people, beautiful decorated room.
Lunch and dinner served were excellent in taste and quality.
Well located to visit the Medina and surroundings of Fez.
A place to return to.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Layalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina

Address: 10 Derb el Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad, renovated in 2009, quiet and peaceful, benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the patio, by the pool or on the terrace, with it's stunning view. This house is ideal for families or friend groups.Riad Layalina is located in Fez medina, 50 metres from the main street and nearby Bab Boujloud. It offers 10 rooms and 7 bedrooms, has an outdoor swimming pool, a traditional Moroccan courtyard and a four-level panoramic terrace with a 360° view over all Fez Medina. Free WiFi and car private park on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Riad Layalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Layalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.