We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great destination in Fes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Layalina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Layalina to your Saves list
Riad Layalina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb el Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Fes
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great destination in Fes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I am Moroccan and I had the difficult task of recommending a Riad to a friend of mine from the USA. I came a cross Riad Layalina by coincidence, and what a great experience it was. The owner was extremely helpful and professional. My friend had a fabulous time and was mesmerized by her stay at Riad Layalina. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to go to in Fes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    46
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
129
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Riad is conveniently located - close to a road for taxis and close to the medina in Fes. It's pretty easy to find (the name is in stone above the door). It was beautiful and clam inside. The service was very friendly and of high quality, and the rooms were well furnished and very comfortable. If you're looking for a nice base to explore Fes - then this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma, washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

All previous reviews were right- this place is a gem! The courtyard and rooms were beautifully decorated. Such a calm sanctum. Great location- on the edge of the medina (you can walk the hills nearby- it's safe). Ain Azliten gate is right there. The taxi driver will take you and porters will take your luggage to the riad. Take note of how you get there- the alleys and corridors are not marked, Layalina is not easy to find the first time. Also, take note of the short cut to get into the heart of the medina instead of actually going out of the gate by the car park and then back in. Remember which store you enter at! Bab Boujloud gate is also only a few minutes walk. In a nutshell, this place is a great location.

Was served tajine when I arrived first night. Breakfasts a mixture of good breads, jams, honey, etc. The proprietor is French but speaks English; his staff is very friendly and attentive.

For daily stuff, you can't have enough 5 and 10 dirham coins. Everything, it seems, is done at that level. This is the one place you won't bring loose coins home with you. On the flip side, please save a lot of large Dh, euros, or USD to pay your riad bill, as that is preferable to credit cards. When booking, price quoted is per person. The arrow on one of the pictures shows where my room/window was.

You will get lost in Fes. I guarantee it. When you finally stumble back home to Layalina, what a great place to unwind the evening.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the room against the outer (city) wall has an upstairs bedroom above the master.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

we stayed at riad layalina for 4 nights in late feb on a two week trip around Morocco. It was the the most luxurious place we stayed at, peaceful (a real oasis of calm in hectic, chaotic fes!) beautifully decorated, our room was very cosy and clean, the adjoining bathroom was also clean (and huge!), we had a tv in the room with hundreds of channels (not that i usually watch tv on holiday, but after 10 days on the road and thanks to some rainy weather, it was nice to finally have that option at least), and a hearty hot breakfast every day (with the most delicious honey - i could have drunk a gallon of it). the staff are friendly and welcoming, going out of their way to help us (even with some rather random requests!). the location is excellent, very close to the main street and major sights in the medina, and at the same time only a five minute walk to the bus station. extra points for the unexpected and tasty lunch upon arrival.

we didnt stay anywhere else in fes, so i cant compare it to other riads there, but it was the best riad experience we had while in the country and objectively even, very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for two nights t enjoy the city. We were welcomed with an (unexpected) lovely meal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The whole building is amazingly decorated. You can enjoy the sun from the roof terrace. Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed for three nights and was pleasantly surprised! Everyone was very helpful especially the two guys working there and also the breakfast lady! Love the fruit juice in the morning! Wished that the bathroom is connected to the room but everything else is wonderful! Thankyou!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This Riad is perfect. And what makes it so good is Jerome and the people around him. He was so kind in helping us choose what to visit and we did get to see the best in Fes. The inner garden is WONDERFUL, it was a shock for us to come from the outside chaos into this oasis, where time seems to stay still. The view from the terrace is also great, you can very well enjoy a cup of mint tee. The guide Jerome arranged us for the medina was also great (didn't take us to any shops, and spoke good english - Fettah Abdel fettah160@gmail.com). I trully recommend. Enjoy Fes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Layalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina

Address: 10 Derb el Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad, renovated in 2009, quiet and peaceful, benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the patio, by the pool or on the terrace, with it's stunning view. This house is ideal for families or friend groups.Riad Layalina is located in Fez medina, 50 metres from the main street and nearby Bab Boujloud. It offers 10 rooms and 7 bedrooms, has an outdoor swimming pool, a traditional Moroccan courtyard and a four-level panoramic terrace with a 360° view over all Fez Medina. Free WiFi and car private park on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Layalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Layalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.