We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge bathrooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Layalina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Layalina to your Saves list
Riad Layalina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Derb el Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Adelaide
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Huge bathrooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Rooms very spacious, with a huge bathroom. We were on the bottom floor, handy to the plunge pool. Only the owner was very good with english. He was very good and organised our train tickets from fez to Tangier. We had use of the fridge in the kitchen where we could keep our tonic water and gin and also make ice.The Riad has been magnicantly restored and the tile work is amazing. The owner also let us use their computer to send emails.

Room Tip: Ask for the bottom floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you for your kind review. This is the opportunity for me to point out the fact that we do all our best to bring the best service we can in any circumstance.

warm smiles
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    46
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
129
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This Riad is located just next to the medina. Redwin the current host is friendly and accomodating. If you organise any tours, car or walking, be sure of the price before leaving,as this was subject to change.....Walking tour with Saied was excellent, mention if you don't want to purchase carpets etc........so you are not taken there! Car tour was dissapointing, unfortunately we are not multilingual & the driver did not speak a lot of English. This could have been prevented with better organision on our side.
Another very interesting addition, was the safe. Not bolted down. Moveable. We had to move rooms, as we added an extra day, and they moved the safe with all our valuables inside.

Room Tip: .Check the room you want carefully on line that the bathroom is in the room & not accross the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear guests,

I read your review with great interest. I am glad to clarify here some key points. First of all, we always take time to ask all our guests what they prefer regarding guided tours. Our goal is to give the best advice we can regarding this aspect. I am perfectly aware that some guides will take you to see handcraft and carpets, what we strongly disagree. Therefore, when the guest tells us so, we ask the guides to avoid the "handcraft tour"... It can happen that despite that, the guide will still try to do so. When we get this feedback, we immediatly delist the guide. It seems to me that a guided tour in the medina has a real cultural goal. No interest at all beeing taken to shops. Moreover, if you want to buy something, we can give you a good idea of what we call a "good price" regarding the article you want to buy and in any case we strongly recommand not to buy it with a guide as it will be more expensive as it includes the guide's commission.
This is the way it goes in any country; I disregard these practices and talks very openly of this matter with our guests. This to say indeed that you can go on your own, with a book (we have several at the riad), and you'll be doing very well.
So thank you to approach this subject, which is the perfect opportunity for me to give my opinion on this sensitive issue, as the guides are official guides, totally unrelated to the riad.
Regarding the car tour, this is disappointing for you, I do understand that of course. This is the first time it happens, and obsiously we made a mistake about that. I do appologize, this is our responsability. Therefore, we are very carefull now. Please feel free to contact me so we can find the solution to this issue.
Regarding the safe, this one was not bolted down as we were fabricating a new cupboard for this room. Sorry about that which is kind of "unsual". All safes are bolted down.
Regarding the rooms, they all have their private bathroom. 2 rooms out of 7 have their bathroom just next door.
Many thanks for your visit, awaiting to welcome you again.
King regards
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The riad is one of the most beautiful residences I have visited on our trip through Morocco and
Europe. It's courtyard and reception/family room are stunning. The location is ideal--at the edge of the medina, its backdoor accessible from a street. The staff was very thoughtful, we enjoyed this jam of a place very much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Dear guests,

It was a great pleasure meeting you and chat of your long journey through Europe. I am looking forward to welcome you again.

King regards,

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Of the 4 places we stayed whilst in Morocco this was the best. So calm and relaxing; it was a joy to stay there. We ate in the riad one evening and it was lovely. We ordered what we wanted earlier in the day and then ate in the courtyard. The food was of a high standard and plentiful. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was everyting and more that we had hoped for and it was nice to have the plunge pool there after a long walk through the medina. We used the guide recommended by the riad which worked out really well and we managed to see a lot in our short stay. The only problem we had was finding the riad when we arrived as we had travelled up from Rabat by hire car and the google instructions were useless. We took the risk of taking help from a local boy on a motorbike who led us to the carpark near the riad and then carried our cases to the riad door. We tried to tip him but he did not want our money but for us to 'help' his brother, an 'official' guide (with a badge and everything!). At this point we felt really pressured and unwillingly agreed to meet with his brother later that evening. However, Radouanne sorted this by getting rid of the brother when he arrived. He may have been genuine (the brother would not take the money we sent for the boy who had taken us there). It is such a shame you have to be so suspicious all the time. The riad is ideally located for easy access to the medina and the views (even from our shower) are wonderful. If we return to Fez we will be returning to Riad Layalina.

Room Tip: The description of our room on the riad website was very accurate. We did not see any others, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Jane,

So many thanks for your stunning review.

I take here the opportunity to highly recommend to our guests coming by car not to trust guys on motorcycles. They are looking for tourists trying to find their way and they indeed usualy have an "official guide brother". Keep in mind that they always have a plan. They can even take you to another place where-from they will get a bakchich, telling you that the hotel you have booked has closed. So just do not trust and ask a pedestrian or a policeman if you are lost.

Kind Regards
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The riad is virtually unmarked and down a dark alleyway, but turns out to be very well located & accessible by vehicle from a small back entrance.
Positives:
-The welcome drinks and snacks
- Breakfasts & food generally
- Rooftop terraces for relaxing, with great views
- Small plunge pool
- Wifi that works
- Rooms decor
- Location
Could be better:
- Beds (rock hard!)
- Virtually non-existent staff with no information/tips given, although helpful & courteous when they could be tracked down
- A tea/coffee facility would be very welcome
- Their own taxi driver is pleasant but looking to make extra dirhams by adding to charges quoted by the riad staff

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear guests,
I read your comments with interest. Please let me point out the following details :
Regarding the staff "with no information/tips given", I am very suprised indeed. Please read the review dated September 25th. Those guests stayed in the riad at the same period and mentioned : "The many recommendations made by Jerome and Radouanne enabled us to experience sights and food we would never otherwise have found". Or this other comment dated September 24th by french guests, also staying at the same period : "Do not miss: picnic organized by Radouane on a terrace overlooking the Bab bouljoud". We always have a real great pleasure giving tips and addresses which you will never find in guides, but if guests ask for it... As we fully respect guests privacy, the fact is that it is very uncomfortable disturbing their tranquility. So please understand that it is impossible for us to guess all your needs or whishes if no question is asked.
Regarding the matresses, they all are hand made, especially for back pain problems. We didn't choose soft matresses which are terrible for the back, but high standard quality ones.
Regarding the location, the riad is duly marked, and down an alleyway as any alleyways in the medina, which is typical of these kind of places.
We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again and I do promise that you will experiment original and typical restaurants only where Moroccan people go.
We whish you all the best.
Kind regards.

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Beautiful Riad in a fantastic location, quiet but moments away from the Medina. Jerome, Radouanne and all the staff at Layalina made it an unforgettable stay. More like staying with friends than in a hotel. The many recommendations made by Jerome and Radouanne enabled us to experience sights and food we would never otherwise have found. Without doubt the best hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Hi dears,
Many many thanks. It was really nice meeting you and also great chatting !
We do hope to welcome you again. We have other good tips and addresses to discover.
Kind regards
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A fantastic Riad in Fez. Well located close to the Medina, but no in the centre of it (important in Fez as it's near impossible to find things in the Medina!). Food excellent, and filling. Staff friendly and welcoming, in particular the women who seemed to do all the work. Pool was a welcome relief from the summer heat. Riad Layalina is a great place for travellers looking for quiet, relaxing, and luxurious accommodation at a very affordable price! Just book it and go!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Andrew,

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again. All the best to you.

Warm smiles
Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Layalina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina

Address: 10 Derb el Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad, renovated in 2009, quiet and peaceful, benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the patio, by the pool or on the terrace, with it's stunning view. This house is ideal for families or friend groups.Riad Layalina is located in Fez medina, 50 metres from the main street and nearby Bab Boujloud. It offers 10 rooms and 7 bedrooms, has an outdoor swimming pool, a traditional Moroccan courtyard and a four-level panoramic terrace with a 360° view over all Fez Medina. Free WiFi and car private park on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Riad Layalina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Layalina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.