We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar el Yasmine

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar el Yasmine to your Saves list
Dar el Yasmine
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   talla sghira derb ahl tadla No34, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 176 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place with great people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Really well located, Dar El Yasmine is a great place to stay and relax in the heart of the beautiful (and somewhat hectic) old medina of Fes. This is not a hotel but a "guest house" and it shows! The treatment and experience is just what "hospitality" is (or should) be about, I have never felt so at home away from home! :D

Also, if ou have any questions or need help on tours, excursions or the like ask Mohamed or Aziz (the owners) they'll be more than happy to help you.

Oh, and I would really like to recommend Wafa an incredible tour guide in Fes. She's an spanish philologist so if you want/need the tour in spanish just ask them to call her :)

Room Tip: The top rooms are closer to the terrace but the wi-fi is less reliable, so if your life depends on w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    56
    14
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
80
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Rather excited to stay in a Moroccan-style bed and breakfast, Dar el Yasmine was the perfect fit. Located in the heart of the medina. Friendly staff. The room was simple and clean. The bathroom was small and smelled a mildew (although visibly clean). The breakfast (typical Moroccan breakfast options) was AMAZING; breads, hard-boiled eggs, cheeses, honey, etc. Worth staying for a night or two; the cost is relatively cheap(er) than other places.

CASH only; local currency.

Enjoy!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darelyasmine, Gérant at Dar el Yasmine, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thanks you for your lovely word ,about our place ,and you are welcome any time .
we invite everyone to enjoy the hospitality of dar el yasmine .
Thanks for your notice about the bathroom .we fixed the problem now .
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Spent a cumulative three nights at Dar El Yasmine in August 2012. The first two nights were a consequence of having plucked the hostel on hostelbookers, the third was very much based upon a need to return, for the hospitality, immediately!

The hosts are marvellous, a real contrasting pair who complement each other wonderfully. What the hostel may (currently) lack in scale the hosts more than make up in personality. We were recommended to take a guided tour of the medina. In comparison to braving it alone in Marrakech, this was a great call. Our guide, a friend of the hostel owner, was a sage, a calm in the stressful streets. We were to see the sights at leisure and haggle with some sort of protection!

The highlight of our stay was the home-cooked tagine. Having eaten out on every previous night of our stay to date, the short walk to the market and communal cook / feast were great fun and really evoked what this hostel is all about. Following a night of story-telling and shisha we immediately felt part of the hostel within a night.

To top it off, having spend a day up the mountains in Chefchaoen, we were delighted to return to Yasmine to be welcomed by Mohammed at 11pm. Despite the anti-social hour and our inability to call ahead, he rearranged the hostel's furniture to put us up and even offered us to share his dinner with him. What a man. What a place! Very affordable too. I would highly recommend this to any traveller, young or old!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

A group of 4 friends stayed at the the Dar el Yasmine in July for 2 nights, we decided on this riad/hostel as there were many positive reviews and it appeared great value for money.

We arrived by train in Fes and our taxi driver called Mohammed who met us at the Blue Gate (Bab Boujloud). It's a very short walk from the main gate and after Mohammed had directed us once, we were able to find the hostel on our own. Location was therefore very good.

This was the first we'd stayed in a riad/hostel so we didn't really know what to expect. Whilst our room was basic it was very clean and cleaned daily. Breakfast consisted of cheese, eggs, yogurt, tea/coffee, fresh juices and various types of bread. It was basic but very filling and you could eat until full.

On our request Mohammed and Aziz arranged our tour of the medina. The guide was punctual, informative and spoke very good English. The price was excellent and we visited most if not all the main sites within the medina.

We received complimentary green tea and fresh orange juice each time we returned to the hostel, this was an excellent touch and sums up our stay - the staff were always helpful and friendly, and the service was excellent! We would highly recommend the Dar el Yasmine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Dar el yasmine it's a cool place with extremely friendly staff, great location and good quality rooms. You are always welcome for a tea or shisha, whenever you return home. Their roof terrace is the gratest place in Fes! It's worth trying :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Although we only stayed for two nights, our stay at Dar El Yasmine was great. We thought we'd find the hostel on our own but ended up having to call them to help us out. That was no problem because Aziz came to find us and took us to the hostel. The house itself is beautifully made with a nice terrace and a Berber tent. The hosts' hospitality was super welcoming and the breakfast was great. They gave us tips on what to visit and how to get around. Both Mohameds were nice, too! One of the beds in our room was super hard - we realized the next day that it is not a mattress but the box spring...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taghazout, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very nice place to stay.
Staff is very very friendly and helpful.
Good location as well.
Fez is not too much turistic as Marrakech so there you can fell better the Morocco culture.
I contract a guide to walk with me into the medina and it was really helpful

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 870 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#14 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#34 of 176 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Tahrya
Dar Tahrya
#50 of 176 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Naima
Dar Naima
#99 of 176 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#52 of 176 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Yasmine

Address: talla sghira derb ahl tadla No34, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar el Yasmine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dar el yasmine is a charming traditional building from the 17th centry located in the heart of the old medina of fes,in the main street talaa sghira near the main entrace Bab boujloud ,dar el yasmine is a small guest house with 6 rooms air conditioner and private bathroom ,in addition to beautiful roof terrasse with tent and view of the medina .dar el yasmine can help you to organize many activitiess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar el Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar el Yasmine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.