We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Food, and Amazing Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Amani to your Saves list
Palais Amani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Food, and Amazing Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Palais Amani is absolutely gorgeous. The staff is wonderful and accommodating. The food amazing! We couldnt have asked for a better experience in Fes.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    33
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
180
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Loved Fes, and our stay at the Palais Amani was truly memorable. A beautiful palace with a lovely garden, and heavenly cuisine (merci Hossam!), but most of all the gracious hospitality - highly professional staff, and attentive service with just the right caring touch. From a New Yorker and a Parisian.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Palais Amani was an incredible place to stay. My brother and I both stayed there for several days and enjoyed every minute of it. First, the staff was very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The owner knew every guest and made time to speak with you and ensure your stay was comfortable. During our stay my brother was mildly sick and the owner always asked how he was feeling and offered several times to contact a doctor if we need any assistance. Second, the facility was beautiful and well kept. Every aspect from the tranquil water fountain to the amazing tile work added beauty to the very comfortable rooms and bathrooms. Every aspect of the facility gave a sense of wonder and grace. The rooftop patio was beautiful and offered an amazingly unique view of the city. The rooms were incredible and allowed for a real feeling of comfort and pleasure. Third, the food and drinks were top notch. Every morning, Palais Amani offered a very nutritious and filling breakfast, in the evening they offered fresh brewed mint tea and at night the served a wonderful Moroccan meal. Palais Amani was our favorite hotel in morocco and we would stay there again and recommend it to anybody in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

There is a reason for this hotel being consistently rated so highly. From the rose petals scattered around our room, the attentiveness of every employee and the ambience of this palace, everything is absolutely perfect.
We were expecting something special and were certainly not disappointed.

On my Birthday we were upgraded to the spectacular suite with a lovely view & bathroom to die for.
Breakfast was absolutely delicious with variety of traditional & continental options.

Words are inadequate to describe the hospitality of the owner & all employees at the Palais Amani.

Simply the best ! Truly a royal experience.

Thank you for our unforgettable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

A smile speaks more than a thousand words and breaks the barrier of language.

Here in Palais Amani, one receives one of the most sincere and beautiful smiles any guest can wish for. The warm welcome and lavishing of attention to details that each and every person who works in the riad gives, makes the stay at Palais Amani a total experience of comfort, kindness, friendliness and indulgence. There is no need for words to be spoken sometimes, and you feel that you are immediately understood.

Morning breakfasts are served on the middle terrace with a cheerful smile on the side, from Kaoutar who makes the effort to remember any peculiar beverage preferences of the guests, serving them before you ask.

In the afternoons when you are out in medina, rooms are diligently cleaned and spruced up, clothes that were left behind by guests in a mess while we were in a rush to explore the medina are hung back into the closet. One need not worry about the hassle of unpacking the luggage nor the uneasiness of living out of suitcase in the riad, as you will find the contents magically rearranged into the closet neatly when you return from the medina the second day, without anything missing at all. Trust is evident in living with a family, and you will be able to feel at ease to leave doors unlocked when the riad does not have too many other guests around.

Dinners are served in the courtyard with a beautiful smile that re-energizes the tired souls who have spent a day out in the Medina. Layla the owner of a kind spirit and smile, dishes out the tagines and clearing them without you even noticing it sometimes.

Late night drinks of beautiful cocktails under the stars feel so wonderful with Abdul the bar-tender who stays back late into the night, along with the guests who often do not wish to retire into beds every night, attending to their requests with patience and sincerity. If there is a drink that you desire but is not on the list of drinks, and you know the main ingredients in it, you can expect to have it coming right up, once you tell Abdul how to do it and if he has the main ingredients.

Abdel, one of the owners of the riad holds no qualms in helping his guests out wherever possible. A charming man who makes each and every guests’ stay at the riad absolutely pleasing and fuss-free – almost as if you are a friend who have come to visit. The camaraderie that is shared amongst his staff heightens the experience and familiarity of living in one’s home, where we know we are in good hands and will be well taken care of. A wonderful friend who willingly helps us out even after we have left the riad and Fez, a friend who crosses all boundaries who make late night drinks under the stars in the chilly night air feel so warm, a toast to you!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

I came to Fez on a surprise birthday trip and had no idea what my partner had arranged in terms of accommodation. I was speechless when we finally arrived at Palais Amani. Completely dumbfounded by the décor of the place, all I could think was wow. It just got better and better from there on…

Plais Amani is a gorgeous and extremely clean riad on the fringes of the medina, an excellent location if you want to venture on walks into and outside town. It has been beautifully and tastefully renovated, and boasts a great court garden, and a beautiful terrace. It offers an amazing breakfast and great dinners for good value, each day the menu is different, altogether a joyride for anyone’s taste buds. Our room was fabulous, everything was perfect, and the mattress was soooo comfortable

What is truly unique about this place is however the staff. Palais Amani has given me a new appreciation for the words “host” and “guest”. From the moment we arrived, Abdel has been the most gracious of hosts. He and his colleagues (special mention for Reda and Nahima who were simply exquisite throughout our visit) were always there when we needed something, arranged some great excursions out of town and generally they were always coming up with ideas and surprises to make an already excellent staying perfect.

Palais Amani is a unique experience, and it comes at great value. You would be mad to stay somewhere else in Fez!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

This is the first review I have written on Tripadvisor. I felt compelled to share about our experience at the Palais Amani as the service and quality exceeded our expectations. I initially based my decision to stay at the Amani on the reviews on Tripadvisor and was a bit sceptical in the overwhelming praise. Nonetheless, after staying at the Amani for 3 nights, I can certainly confirm all of the positive reviews.

Upon arrival, the owner came to sit with us, introduced the Amani, its staff, the city of Fes, the economy, politics and history. It was an absolute pleasure to speak with him and the staff. This human element played a huge role in making our holiday much more than expected, as it was a refreshing change to impersonal hotels with little interest in anything else but money.

That said, the attention to detail and the overall design of the Palais was truly incredible. I will not give away all of the pleasant little surprises, but would highly recommend that you experience the Amani yourself. Thank you for a wonderful 3 days, you will certainly be seeing us again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#8 Family Hotel in Fes
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#12 Business Hotel in Fes
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Amani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.