We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Grounds & Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Amani to your Saves list
Palais Amani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Grounds & Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My stay at the Palais Amani was for 2 1/2 days, and I was sick for two of them! That said, the hotel staff and owner did everything in their power to help me through a difficult time -- from a full pot of mint tea to sending for yogurt and Halls. Even the Tour Guide who our group hired helped bring back excellent medication for the flu that I was suffering from!

The rooms are extraordinarily beautiful and serene. I especially enjoyed the bathtub in my room (no. 2) and the option to open the set of 3 windows onto the courtyard. The beds are firm and the sofa comfortable. There is an exceptional amount of detail in all of the decor throughout the entire Riad.

As I was sick and couldn't leave the Riad, I enjoyed lying on the beach chairs on the rooftop patio to soak up some sun, fresh air, and amazing view of the surrounding mountain range.

Tour Guides - I highly recommend Kalid, with whom I also did a whirlwind tour on my final day, when I was feeling better. He is personable, knowledgeable, and will take care of you throughout the entire tour - from ensuring you see what you want to see, do what you want to do, and helping ensure your prices for goods are not too high.

A couple of interesting tidbits:
The staff like to play music throughout the day. I found it mostly peaceful, but at times it can be a bit loud. If you don't like it, simply ask for them to turn it down, or off.

The mint tea is fantastic, but it quite pricey, as you can get it much cheaper in the streets (same with the food in general, but I highly recommend you eat at least breakfast inside the Riad, as it's traditional Moroccan food.)

I am a person who LOVES adventure, but I truly appreciated how much the hotel staff took care of me in this lovely Riad.

Room Tip: If you specifically want a bathtub, you should request it. Not all rooms have one. There is at l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Amani, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
we are also appreciate what did you say on our Riad and our staff
it's very nice thank you so much. we hope now you are doing well
thank you for the stay at Palais Amani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    33
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
180
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Palais Amani as part of our honeymoon in Morocco in October 2013.

We arrived quite late into Fes on a flight from Casablanca but hotel arranged transport was waiting for us immediately as we exited the baggage area. There were plenty of regular taxis available late at night but we booked hotel transport to make things easier.

Our ride to the nearest parking lot (don't forget- the Medina is closed off to vehicles!) was quick and upon arrival the driver had informed hotel staff who were waiting for us. The hotel staff unloaded our baggage and walked with us to the hotel.

Upon entering the riad we knew immediately that were in for a treat. The hotel is in TERRIFIC condition and the beauty and tranquility of the courtyard were a delight. We were taken to our room and informed that breakfast was served until 11am. The room was a "Classic Room" and was well maintained and very elegantly decorated. The only drawback to the room was that it had a very slight musty smell.

The next morning we went for breakfast after 10am only to realize that breakfast ended at 10am! No problem for the staff who apologized for the trouble and immediately arranged for us to have breakfast out on the terrace while we completed our registration. My wife and I were amazed by the "no problem" attitude of the staff and the urgency they showed in ensuring our stay was great.

After the first night we were told to pack our bags for a special treat for the remainder of our 4 night stay.

WHAT AN AMAZING GIFT we received from the Palais Amani. The staff arranged for my wife and I to be upgraded to the most incredible room in the whole riad- the Grand Suite.

The suite was incredible! The staff were as excited as my wife and I were and we couldn't have been more thankful for the unexpected and caring gift that they bestowed upon us.

My wife and I enjoyed a dinner in the restaurant which was great but the real treat for us was breakfast each morning. Breakfast was BIG and included fresh breads, fresh honey (that bees from all over appeared to come for as well!), olives and more. We had tea a few nights in the courtyard while relaxing and enjoying some of the music and books available in the lounge area.

The staff helped us arrange for a cooking class (at the VERY last minute!) at Clock Kitchen and personally escorted us to the street to find a taxi. It was an ordeal to find a taxi at the time we needed one but the staff waited for over 20 minutes with us to find us a car.

All in all, the genuine caring nature of the staff coupled with the excellent facilities made Palais Amani our FAVOURITE place to stay during our entire trip to Morocco.

Visit this hotel, stay and be treated to great hospitality in incredible surroundings! Palais Amani ROCKS!

Room Tip: Classic Rooms are suitable but if possible splurge on one of the suites. INCREDIBLE rooms all aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Amani, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
You are almost welcome. whenever you come to morocco.
all Palais Amani'staff will be at your disposal. it's a pleasure.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very nice and large Riad in the middle of the Medina of Fez. We enjoyed the beautiful terrace and a nice hammam treatment as well as an interesting cooking course. Location is perfect and rooms are very convenient. Price is rather high, but is ok for this luxury fine hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Amani, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Yes you right. it is in the heart of medina. very interesting
thank you so much for chosen our Riad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Palais Amani is wonderful place just in the heart of the Medina and offers a a very relaxing and romantic stay. Staff is kind and helpful at any moment, at the reception as well as in all the others services (restaurant , rooms, hammam).
They organize for you also the visit of the city and to others place.
Thanks to P.A. your stay in Morocco will be an emotioning exeperience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Amani, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you very much. we were delightful to had a customer like you
all the staff were happy with you. we hope we can see you soon
in our country and visiting us in our Palace.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Beautiful rooms, friendly and helpful staff, huge breakfast and amazing location. I paid for it as part of a package with a whole Morocco trip so I don't know how much it cost, but it was a great experience. The only negative was that I could easily hear the footsteps of the people above me and the voices of people in the hall/stairwell, so if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour
Tout le personnel en espérant que vous allez bien
ça sera un grand plaisir de vous accueillir une autre fois
quel que soit votre voyage. soit que des vacances ou bien
autre chose

merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Palais Amani is a wonderful property. It is physically bigger than many of the riad choices you will find in Fes, but with lots of space dedicated to some stunning rooms and a very generous courtyard, the hotel remains a boutique property with the kind of romantic privacy that will ensure a special visit.

The riad was a private family dwelling for its entire existence, and left empty for much of the past couple of decades. The current owners purchased it about 4 years ago and embarked on a massive restoration that polished this jewel to its current high shine without rubbing out any of the authentic details that make this a special experience.

That experience starts with the owners, a husband / wife pair that have clearly invested passion and love in the Palais. Jemima keep things running on time, and Abdel bring passion and energy. Between the two of them, they make a great team. They have sourced their staff from the local community, and make a big deal about what their property can do to help improve the community. It is a large and extended family, and the staff's approach towards the guests reflects that.

The rooms are gorgeous and are well apointed with local crafted furniture and fixtures. The food in the restaurant is excellent and you should have at least one of your dinners there. The breakfast each morning is a true treat. And the roof top bar is a great way to wind down a busy day with a quiet drink.

LIke with most of Fes, finding your way to the hotel can be a real challenge. It is located 50 meters up the hill from one of the bigger public parking lots that sit just outside the Medina, but finding the staircase and making the right combination of left turn and right turn means that it is pretty common to get lost in those 50 meters! Asking directions for this particular property is going to mark you as well heeled, which will increase the anticipation of the bakish that you will be expected to pass to your new found guide who helps get you to the front door. All part of the Morocco experience!

The price for experience is on the upper end of the range for Morocco, but certainly well within reason and good value for the quality of experience that you will have at the Palais Amani. I highly recommend that any traveler to Fes get to know this beautiful property.

Room Tip: The most amazing room is their Grand Suite, which occupies one end of the second floor and opens out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Customer is king at palais Amani. The staff are wonderfully attentive and friendly, and always willing to go the extra mile for you. The rooms lovely, spacious and welcoming, and the location is fab. The bar man who serves you in the rooftop bar makes the best cuba libres. The afternoon mint tea ceremony is a delight. We are so very happy we stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your comment. You understood very well that the main quality of our hotel is to make guest satisfaction a priority.
Our barman is very proud that you enjoyed so much "his" cuba libre.
We hope to see you once again in Palais Amani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 869 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#32 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Fes
#7 Family Hotel in Fes
#12 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#12 Business Hotel in Fes
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Amani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.