We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing amenities and fantastic culinary experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Amani to your Saves list
Palais Amani
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing amenities and fantastic culinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is in short, an oasis of luxury in the middle of Fes's busy medina. My friend and I stayed here during Ramadan and took up only one of two rooms. Despite having only a couple of guests in the hotel, the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable.

To start, we were welcomed with a refreshing mint lemonade (house made) that was incredible. The rooms were very comfortable and stylishly decorated with a gift of cute slippers waiting on the bed. The shower had great water pressure and the soaps had a lovely scent - really had the feeling of being a spa! The product samples from the spa itself were a nice touch.

Finally, I want to take some time to rave about Chef Houssan and the food at Palais. This was really a out of world gastronomical experience, and Chef Houssan is a chef with flair! Each breakfast and dinner we ate at Palais was a multi-course affair that ooked and tasted as if they came from a Michelin star restaurant. It became hard to leave the hotel at all!

Though we had a lot of difficulty communicating (my friend and I only spoke English), our cooking session with Houssan was filled with laughter, food photo shoots, and of course tasty tangines, cinnamon oranges, and fresh mint tea. The morning of our grocery shopping trip, one of the staff members took us on a brief tour of the medina on the way to the grocery with Houssan. This added tour was such a treat after our hectic day trying to navigate the medina when we first arrived. Our tour included time for shopping stops (and the staff members are INCREDIBLY helpful in helping you negotiate), visits to old hamams, and brief explanations fo the many mosques and tanneries in the neighborhood.

Even if you cannot stay at the Palais (though it's an out of world comfort you are missing if that is the case!), I would highly recommend at least eating at Palais. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for the lovely words , Houssam remembers you fondly, and adores your photo's of his breakfasts .
Come back soon for more cooking !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    31
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
166
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The top quality service begins with an email when you book. I suggest geetting the hotel arranged taxi - impossible to find it otherwise. The riad is stunning - an enclosed paradise with the best service possible. The owner and hid wife are around a lot and welcome guests and made themselves known. I arranged for 2 guides through the hotel and they also were excellent.
Highly recommended as an oasis in a bussling and interesting Fez.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

From arrival and all the way through to departure, the hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. We travel regularly and stay in many hotels and it is a pleasure to say that this hotel will be remembered. The attention to detail in the hotel is amazing from the magnificent courtyard to the bathrooms and the staff are amazing, exceptionally nice yet genuine and nothing is too hard. The room rate was more than fair, in fact with all the little extras included like breakfast, daily turn down, the quality daily pillow chocolate and the assistance in navigating the Medina, this hotel offers exceptional value. Expect to see one of the owners in and around the hotel, they are personally involved and ensure that your stay is special.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look amazing, have plenty of room, high quality finishings and are individually sty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Vendres
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our third visit to Palais Amani. Our visit in February 2012 was so wonderful that we have done it again! This beautifully renovated palais is such a delight. A haven of peace in the bustling medina. The charming staff cannot do enough for their guests. The accommodation is perfect with great attention to detail. I cannot recommend it highly enough, Fes is so unique and staying at the Palais Amani makes it an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Owner at Palais Amani, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are of course delighted that you can't stay away! so many good moments have been spent with you. We are proud that you have adopted us and feel so much at home here. We are looking forward to the next time, and the whole team joins me in wishing you well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st michel de llotes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Winter blues fell away as soon as we walked up the mysterious narrow alley leading to the tall blank wall we knew contained a luxury fairyland. How wonderful to be back in Palais Amani. Warm greetings, beautiful and luxurious bedroom, delicious and inventive Moroccan cooking not to mention the relaxing spa treatments and exciting optional excursions. Why have we stayed away for a whole year?
Fascinating Fez seen under the best possible circumstances. A complete escape from any hint of the humdrum. Just what was needed to deal with january blues...

Room Tip: All rooms are different, all dreamlike and very comfortable. See photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife, daughter and I spent another magical Christmas at the Palais AMANI. Returning two years in a row should tell you something.....we thoroughly enjoyed the genuine hospitality of all of the staff. Without exception, the service from all we met was 5 stars- delivered with style and grace. We experienced a most relaxed 4 days with excursions to ancient archaeological site and regular visits within the Medina. Our rooms - elegant, charming and of course comfortable. Our dining experience was also of the highest standard - so much so that we ate almost every meal at the hotel And the Hammam - is a must ! Do not miss this totally relaxing and cultural experience.... The memories of this wonderful visit are lasting and worth sharing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaisfes, Propriétaire at Palais Amani, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you back with us again, we hope this is becoming a habit!!
Best wishes to you all from the Palais Amani Team. (The chef is asking when you are coming back for more dancing??!!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

From the email booking confirmation to ordering us the last taxi back to the airport our experience was amazing.
We stayed here in January 2013 for four nights, we had three doulble rooms and each room was unique.It was an oasis of calm in the middle of madness! The accomodation was fabulous, clean, fragrant with a beautiful mixture between the modern and traditional design.
So pleased to have found Palais amani. It really is a fantastic hotel with exceptional service and character.
We have continually recommended it to friends and can't wait for an opportunity to return.
Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff, who made us feel so welcome .
The food was extremely varied appearing to cater for all tastes and very, very tasty.
Finally the views were stunning, the architecture in itself is breathtaking but sitting there in the sun, with a glass of wine, looking at the spectacular view of the medina is something else.
Thank you to all at Palais Amani for a magnificent stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fes
#5 Business Hotel in Fes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#14 Family Hotel in Fes
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Escapio, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Amani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.