We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Bensouda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Bensouda to your Saves list
Riad Dar Bensouda
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No. 14 Zkak El Bghel | Quettanine, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 172 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Truly beautiful Riad and service exceptional.All the staff were helpful and charming and from the first welcome to the moment they assisted us in getting to the airport there seemed nothing that they couldn't fix or advise us on.
Delicious food in the evenings around that flickering fire.
The room was amazing as were all the Prue's that I managed to see.
What more can one want?

Plus the hotel is next to all the bets Souks !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    43
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
46
179
10
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Oh my goodness I could not rate this hotel any higher! It was decorated beautifully. We were actually worried they had accidentally given us a nicer, more expensive room.
We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the staff were very welcoming and brought us mint tea to our room.
The room was huge with a staircase up to the bathroom, a lovely big comfortable bed with a firm mattress.
We had massages in the hotel which has a separate massage room, you don't even have to leave the hotel, they bring the masseuse to you!
Breakfast was a variety of breads and cakes, fresh orange juice, cakes, tea, coffee..... Which we had by the pool. It was beautiful!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is amazing value for money.
Although it is impossible and I mean IMPOSSIBLE to find it on your own, so I would suggest organising to meet someone from the hotel outside the medina.

Plus you must go up to the roof terrace, the view is spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I enjoyed every bit of my stay at Riad Dar Bensouda. I am a twenty-something female who traveled alone, and very welcomed by all of the staff members. Hamid was so patient with me, and Mohammad was so friendly.

The hammam experience was one of a kind! I loved it so much the first day, I decided to do it again the next. The massages were also lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The riad is in the heart of the medina and is tricky to find - it's best to call just prior to your arrival at one of the medina entrance gates so that they can have a porter there to meet you and take care of your baggage for 30 or 40 Dirhams.
Breakfast is quite good and plentiful, but without eggs or yoghurt; unripened goat cheese was a treat.
WiFi is good but limited to the seating area near the entrance.
Large common areas and nicely decorated in traditional style.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was quite nice but the bedroom was above the entrance/washroom level. You may want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Dar Bensouda! Hamid could not have been more helpful and attentive to our every need! He arranged transportation to and from the train station and even had someone buy our first class tickets for us to Rabat! Our room was beautiful (as was the rest of the Riad) and we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there during our stay....yum!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay at Dar Bensouda. Like most ryads in the Medina, this hotel looks plain from the outside but is large and intricately-detailed on the inside. The rooms are spacious, clean and in true Moroccan style. Even better, the staff could not be nicer. After arriving worn out from a 3-day desert tour, we were immediately served tea and dinner. The next day, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the hotel staff offered to travel to the train station to buy our train tickets for us. I would absolutely recommend staying here!

Please note, since the Ryad is inside the Medina, you cannot reach by car or taxi. You will need to have the receptionist come pick you up outside the Medina walls and lead you to the hotel. As long as you call ahead, this is easy to arrange.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at Dar Bensouda when travelling solo through Morocco and thought it was wonderful. Very tastefully and traditionally renovated, it provided a secure and serene ambience to retreat to in-between explorations of the surrounding vivid and animated atmosphere of the old town and medina. Said and the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful, and arranged reliable and knowledgeable guides at reasonable prices when needed. My room was very comfortable and quiet, adjacent to a stunning courtyard, and not far from the fantastic rooftop relaxation area with 360 degree panoramic views of the city. The spacious ground floor courtyard was also a stunner in keeping with tradition and comfort, with couches, a welcome cooling pool and a location for generous breakfasts using local ingredients. Tasty Moroccan dishes custom-made to order for dinner could be provided if desired. All highly recommended, including the body massage and hammam services.

Room Tip: Hair dryer not provided. You need to be able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Bensouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Bensouda

Address: No. 14 Zkak El Bghel | Quettanine, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 172 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Bensouda 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Bensouda is an authentic old palace in Fez, transformed into a charming guesthouse. Here you'll find exquisite traditional architecture harmoniously combined with all the comforts of modern accommodation. Dar Bensouda has two beautiful courtyards: the fountain courtyard around which eleven luxurious rooms and suites are arranged and the swimming pool patio with a leafy garden. Each room is individually decorated, air-conditioned, and has an en-suite bathroom with shower. The suites have a bathtub and a relaxing sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Bensouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Bensouda Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Bensouda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.