We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Bensouda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Bensouda to your Saves list
Riad Dar Bensouda
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   No. 14 Zkak El Bghel | Quettanine, Fes 30000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 176 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I enjoyed every bit of my stay at Riad Dar Bensouda. I am a twenty-something female who traveled alone, and very welcomed by all of the staff members. Hamid was so patient with me, and Mohammad was so friendly.

The hammam experience was one of a kind! I loved it so much the first day, I decided to do it again the next. The massages were also lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    45
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
199
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
216 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The riad is in the heart of the medina and is tricky to find - it's best to call just prior to your arrival at one of the medina entrance gates so that they can have a porter there to meet you and take care of your baggage for 30 or 40 Dirhams.
Breakfast is quite good and plentiful, but without eggs or yoghurt; unripened goat cheese was a treat.
WiFi is good but limited to the seating area near the entrance.
Large common areas and nicely decorated in traditional style.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our room was quite nice but the bedroom was above the entrance/washroom level. You may want to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Dar Bensouda! Hamid could not have been more helpful and attentive to our every need! He arranged transportation to and from the train station and even had someone buy our first class tickets for us to Rabat! Our room was beautiful (as was the rest of the Riad) and we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there during our stay....yum!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Absolutely loved our stay at Dar Bensouda. Like most ryads in the Medina, this hotel looks plain from the outside but is large and intricately-detailed on the inside. The rooms are spacious, clean and in true Moroccan style. Even better, the staff could not be nicer. After arriving worn out from a 3-day desert tour, we were immediately served tea and dinner. The next day, we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and the hotel staff offered to travel to the train station to buy our train tickets for us. I would absolutely recommend staying here!

Please note, since the Ryad is inside the Medina, you cannot reach by car or taxi. You will need to have the receptionist come pick you up outside the Medina walls and lead you to the hotel. As long as you call ahead, this is easy to arrange.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I recently stayed at Dar Bensouda when travelling solo through Morocco and thought it was wonderful. Very tastefully and traditionally renovated, it provided a secure and serene ambience to retreat to in-between explorations of the surrounding vivid and animated atmosphere of the old town and medina. Said and the staff were unfailingly polite and helpful, and arranged reliable and knowledgeable guides at reasonable prices when needed. My room was very comfortable and quiet, adjacent to a stunning courtyard, and not far from the fantastic rooftop relaxation area with 360 degree panoramic views of the city. The spacious ground floor courtyard was also a stunner in keeping with tradition and comfort, with couches, a welcome cooling pool and a location for generous breakfasts using local ingredients. Tasty Moroccan dishes custom-made to order for dinner could be provided if desired. All highly recommended, including the body massage and hammam services.

Room Tip: Hair dryer not provided. You need to be able to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barquisimeto, Venezuela
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very nice hotel, good breakfasts, very calm at night, Very good service, clean
The manager Saih is very helpful. He will take care of you while your stay at the Riad.


I recomend this place for you stay at the city of FES....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilydale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This Riad is tucked away and is a collage of Italian design and Moroccan local style. great pool and decor is impressive. Siad the manager goes out of his way to ensure your stay meets your expectaions. Did I mention the food was local and delicious?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa
Riad Laaroussa
#1 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#7 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#25 of 92 in Fes
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 92 in Fes
5.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Bensouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Bensouda

Address: No. 14 Zkak El Bghel | Quettanine, Fes 30000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Bensouda 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Bensouda is an authentic old palace in Fez, transformed into a charming guesthouse. Here you'll find exquisite traditional architecture harmoniously combined with all the comforts of modern accommodation. Dar Bensouda has two beautiful courtyards: the fountain courtyard around which eleven luxurious rooms and suites are arranged and the swimming pool patio with a leafy garden. Each room is individually decorated, air-conditioned, and has an en-suite bathroom with shower. The suites have a bathtub and a relaxing sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Dar Bensouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Bensouda Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Bensouda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.