We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Alya

Save Saved
You added Ryad Alya to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Alya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Fes
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The architecture of this place is simply breathtaking. Built in the early 19th century and since remodeled/restored, the attention to detail in everything from the giant carved wooden doors, and meticulous plaster ceilings to the old mosaic flooring is bound to surprise even the more refined traveler. What's more, the staff was absolutely fantastic helping to make our stay (honeymoon) in Ryad Alya amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    30
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
129
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Ryad Alya and loved it. The Rabat suite was perfect: tranquil and clean with exquisite furnishings. Mr. Hassan was so courteous and helpful. It met all of our expectations and more.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had such an amazing time at Ryad Alya. Mr. Cohen and his staff really looked after us and made sure we had a great time in his unique city. The location was perfect for exploring the Medina and the ryad itself is stunningly beautiful. Make sure you request dinner on the rooftop at sunset. I would say that was probably the best meal i had in Morocco and the view to match. Mr. Cohen was very helpful and extremely honest in his recommendations, whether it be where to find a reputable carpet dealer or the closest hotel pool to cool off on a hot day. We will be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I recently returned from staying at the Ryad Alya for 8 nights. The location is close to the Place Batha, 5 minute walk to the Bab Boujloud and just outside the medina. I stayed in the Fes Suite, and beautiful two room suite with incredibly high ceilings, and canopy bed, and easy access right off the courtyard. Hassan, the manager, was communicative with me in the weeks leading up to my visit and was incredibly gracious and helpful upon my arrival and throughout my stay. Zouhir, his colleague, who was the overnight manager, took care of everything i needed as well, with warmth, kindness, and hospitality.

My luggage didn't arrive in Casablanca but Hassan kept after the airlines on my behalf.

I arrived at the Ryad, down a narrow alleyway off a main street, accessible only by walking, in the late afternoon. I was met by Hassan, who knew exactly who I was, was greeted with mint tea and cookies. There was no "check in" in the traditional sense. Just a warm welcome, like visiting someone's home.

A colleague in Fes took me out that evening to pick up some second hand clothing from the Boujloud Square "flea market." I ended up picking up 5 articles of clothing for 8 Euros. When I returned to the Ryad, Hassan saw my purchase and insisted that they wash, dry and fold the clothes for me. No charge.

My entire stay was this smooth. Hassan, and his colleague Zouhir, were the most wonderful hosts I have ever encountered. They did everything they said they would do, and more.

They arranged a day excursion into the Atlas mountains for me. I also enjoyed dinner there for three nights, which was delicious.

Breakfast on the rooftop is stunning. I enjoyed the Hammam and a massage as well. Being greeted back at the Ryad by Zouhir with cold lemonade after a long hot day in the medina with was quite a treat. I enjoyed a number of amazing dinners there, from pastille, to harare, to amazing tagines, and cakes galore.

In addition, they accommodated my erratic schedule with the Fes Festival by saving a meal for me around midnight each night. One night i brought back two guests and Zouhir brought out all the food they had for me and my guests. It certainly impressed them.

Anything i asked, they provided with grace and humor. Returning each day to this Ryad, one felt like returning home. As I returned each day, tired and spent, it was wonderful to be greeted by Hassan and Zouhir with a smile and graciousness one cannot find most anywhere else in the world.

I will be back, next time with my family.

Room Tip: I chose the Fes Suite, largely because it was the only one available. It was too large for a solo t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathlamet, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were pampered and well taken care of in this, our home away from home, for eight nights during the Fez Sacred Music Festival in June. The charming Hassan and the entire staff filled our hearts with their happiness and I would recommend this Ryad to my closest family and friends. The rooms are very clean, the water is hot, the Masseuse was excellent, the food is perfectly prepared, and breakfast on the rooftop is a delight. We were always greeted with mint tea and cookies after long walks through the Medina. Amazing Dinners are available
upon request. We always felt comfortable, safe, and relaxed during our time spent here.
Ryad Alya is located very close to a turnaround where a taxi can let you off after visiting the outlying countryside. I would love to return to Fez and be a guest at Ryad Alya again.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

One of the most beautiful places I've stayed in. Rooms are unique and really beautifully decorated, the whole place is like a little peaceful oasis in the heart of the city! There's also a really nice roof terrace and absolutely amazing staff. Can't imagine a better place to stay in Fes!

Read more about Ryad Alya from my blog (in Finnish): http://secretwardrobe.bellablogit.fi/2013/07/22/pieni-paratiisi/

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Welcome to the ancient times. A beautiful mixture of modern amenities, luxury and history. The hotel is a serene oasis, filled with beautiful ornaments and brilliant service. Unfortunately both my partner and I fell ill during our stay, but the staff did anything they could to make us feel better, from bringing our meals to the room, offering medication and assistance and otherwise taking care of us. The hotel is right by the old town of Fes in a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Alya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;