We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent room, wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ryad Alya to your Saves list
Ryad Alya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Cupertino, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent room, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, and really loved it. First of all, we stayed in the Casablanca room, which is stupendous. Truly a magnificent room. The courtyard is also spectacular. We really loved the meal we ate here.

The staff set us up with a guide our first day, so that we could walk around the medina. We thought we could do it alone, but boy were we wrong. Fortunately, they were able to get a guide last minute, and he could not have been more knowledgeable. The second day they set up a driving tour around the Middle Atlas, which was really great.

Breakfast was included. It was all carbs the first couple of days. Wonderful food, but all carbs. Then we asked for eggs, and they delivered. All and all, a great experience.

Room Tip: We loved the Casablanca. Totally worth the splurge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    32
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
134
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stuje1
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Ryad Alya. The staff is very helpful and the ryad is very nice. It is a bit older and slightly less well-kept than the one we stayed at in Marrakech, but I think that is generally how Fes is. Our room, the suite Rabat, we extremely large and had a gigantic king bed (though the bed was quite hard, if that bothers you). I would recommend this place and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Suite Rabat is very large and on the second floor, which is good for noise. The bed is pretty hard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a really lovely Ryad. All staff were very helpful & welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The Ryad is peaceful & tranquil, beautifully restored, & has a fabulous roof terrace with views of the Mountains & Medina. Food was excellent, breakfast spread more than enough to keep you going till lunchtime, and the top notch cooking meant it was well worth having an evening meal. Rooms were nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable. Only minor quibble was no WiFi in the rooms, just the shared courtyard area, but that wasn't such a problem. Overall we would highly recommend Ryad Alya if you are staying in Fes.

Room Tip: Suite Meknes was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I would strongly recommend this ryad to anybody! The owners, the staff, the service and the ryad is exceptional! They definetly know how tp define Moroccan hospitality - very helpful and very informative when asking questions.

The architecture in the ryad and the design is just breathtaking, the breakfast is delicious and the view of the old medina will leave you in awe!

I came with my partner and we absolutely enjoyed our stay. The only thing I must mention is that if you arrive on Friday- make sure to tour around the old Madina before the Friday prayer (apparently everything closes after the "Isha" prayer). We weren't able to see the old Madina but we did check out the newer part of Fes!

Our only concern leaving this ryad is "when are we coming back?!".

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights along with our 2 daughters. We stayed in the Meknes and
Marrakesh suites. The rooms were very large and nicely decorated in a Moroccan theme. The bathrooms were huge and the beds firm but comfortable. Breakfast was nice, but leaned a bit much on many bread variations. The Ryad itself was like a mini palace, beautifully restored with indigenous artwork and fine craftsmanship. The upper terrace where they serve dinner has an excellent view of the Medina. We had dinner for 2 of the nights and the food was very good. The place is a short walk to the Medina and the Batha traffic circle where there is always a taxi (and the taxi's are extremely inexpensive). We asked the hotel to recommend a guide for us on the first day to give us a tour of the Medina and nearby sites. We found the guide to be just ‘ok’. He took us to a couple of overpriced shops where I know he was hoping for a commission on our purchases, but provided no assistance when we were inquiring about prices in other stores. We bought nothing until we went back on our own. For the price, I don't think you can go wrong staying here. My only complaint is that they were a bit annoying in the way they push dinner on you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ryad Alya was lovely! We stayed in the Ouarzazate Room for 4 nights, which was very nice. However, a note to couples - it is not a double room, it is a twin room with two singles at either end of the room. The room itself was big and clean, as was the bathroom. We had a few issues with the shower not having hot water (but this was mostly fine as it was so hot in Fes anyway). The staff at the ryad are extremely friendly, particularly Hassan, Enas, and Fatah! We were greeted with delicious tea and cookies upon arrival, so delicious that we ordered them on another occasion (for €6). Hassan and Enas even gave us a box of cookies as a leaving gift, as they knew we'd liked them so much! Along with the staff, the other great aspect of Ryad Alya was the amazing breakfast. We had such an array of foods (Moroccan pancakes, bread, cakes, yoghurt, eggs, orange juice, coffee, hot milk, tomato jam - which was very tasty - and more!) and so much of each that we never needed to eat until dinner! The location is also good - just outside the main part of Fes Medina so quiet and hassle-free. Thank you Ryad Alya!

Room Tip: The Ouarzazate Room is a twin room and has two singles on either end of the bed. It isn't a doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely riad in Fez. We stayed in a number of riads during our visit to Morocco, but Riad Alya was by far the best experience. The riad itself if beautiful and reminded us of the decor at the Alhambra in Spain. The service provided by all staff - particularly Hassan, the receptionist and Fatah who served the meals - was very gracious. We ate dinners at the riad and the food and service by Fatah was over the top. We would definitely recommend this riad to other travellers!
Richard and Rebecca

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Alya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.