We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Alya to your Saves list
Ryad Alya
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this lovely riad in Fez. We stayed in a number of riads during our visit to Morocco, but Riad Alya was by far the best experience. The riad itself if beautiful and reminded us of the decor at the Alhambra in Spain. The service provided by all staff - particularly Hassan, the receptionist and Fatah who served the meals - was very gracious. We ate dinners at the riad and the food and service by Fatah was over the top. We would definitely recommend this riad to other travellers!
Richard and Rebecca

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    35
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
53
164
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very beautiful riad with excellent services.Strongly recommended to stay there and it is easy to find it.We tried also hammam for me and massage for my boyfriend and were very good.I will stay again there the next time I visit Fes

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful ryad, easily one of the best in Fez. No need to look anywhere else, this is definately the one. Wonderfully restored homely ryad with very proud owners and staff ready to serve and assist with anything you need. The staff were lovely extremely helpful and great fun. Would be a great choice if you were also visiting with children. We loved staying here and would not dream of staying anywhere else in Fez. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I (along with four friends) stayed at Ryad Alya for two nights the end of April, 2013. We arrived in the evening after landing in Casablanca and driving to Fes (and making stops in Meknes and Volubilis). We were all rather tired when we finally arrived.

We were met with kindness and warmth by Hamid and Fatah. And "Moroccan Whiskey" - our first experience with mint tea. After a long journey it was so lovely to be welcomed in such a professional yet homey way.

The riad is beautiful and the rooms clean and comfortable. The food was delicious too. I have a medically restricted diet (Celiac disease) and I am unable to eat gluten (wheat, barley, malt, etc.). After explaining my situation to Fatah he quickly understood and offered me other options. While my friends were enjoying a feast of breakfast breads and treats, Fatah brought me a bowl of sweetened rice.

With a great location, clean rooms and such kind employees I highly recommend a stay at Ryad Alya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is awesome! From the very start, with correspondence by email to Hamin the receptionist, (which by the way was very prompt), to the awesome service throughout our whole stay! Hamin, Anas Amine, and Fatah, went out of there way to make our 26th wedding anniversary a very memorable time! We ate supper there at the Riad and it was delicious! Hamin went out the day of our anniversary and bought us a cake which was shared with the other guests as well as the staff. They played music and Fatah waited on us like we were royalty! The Casablanca Suite is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS as well as the whole Riad! The Riad is conveniently located within walking distance to the entrance of the medina. I really can't say enough good about this Riad!

Room Tip: The Casablanca Suite is as awesome as the pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The riad is exquisite and has been restored to a very high standard - everywhere you will find a feast for the eye. The location in the medina is good and it is quite simple to find one's way to the gate for taxi etc. Dinner in the riad was our greatest treat - not only was the food of the highest standard but it was delivered with great panache and loving care by the extraordinary Fatah, whose match, I am certain, is not to be found in all of Morocco. We were also well looked after by Hassan, the riad's very loyal receptionist. Hassan answered all our queries very promptly and nothing was too much trouble. He genuinely wants you to have the best possible experience in the riad and in Fes. These two employees are such assets! We were a little disappointed by the new manager who could perhaps learn that it will be more appreciated to listen carefully to the guest's needs and timetable. I'm certain he will find this out with time. We enjoyed our stay very much - would advise, however, that Fes is a two day stay only - it is worth making that stay at Ryad Alya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place is fantastic! Really beautiful architecture right in the Medina, which means you can do most of the sightseeing by foot.
We had dinner there for 25EUR pp, which I think is expensive but the food was truly amazing. Breakfast was excellent as well. I wish I could stay more time!
We hired a guide through them for 25EUR, which was ok but not great.
They charge 10EUR for a transfer to the train station in a grand-taxi, but we took a small-taxi there for 2EUR.

The only hiccup was that the toilet didn't flush very well. We didn't ask for it to be fixed because we stayed one night only, but I'm sure they would have fixed it quickly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina, Fes, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Alya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.