We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well located and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Verus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Verus to your Saves list
Riad Verus
1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 168 Fes B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Clean, well located and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The riad is nice, clean and comfortable. Yussuf is fantastic, he waited up for us until 2 am until when arrived to check in and was very friendly and helpful during our stay.
Really nice decor and great people staying with us too.
Our only complaint is that we had to change rooms every night (although we made a last minute booking change so this is understandable)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
So pleased you found the Riad to be nice, clean and comfortable, with great other guests and nice decor and that Yussef was so fantastic during your stay. Apologies for having to change rooms each night, this was the case as you changed the reservation and we tried our best to accommodate you for the stay but it did mean having to swap rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    53
    30
    21
    25
See reviews for
18
51
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Riad verus has a very helpful staff (go Youssef!), the best hostel breakfast I have had, and a beautiful terrace and building. Easy to find too. Rooms were a but unstandard but that made it interesting. Overall road verus is a greats hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are so pleased you liked all the staff at the Riad, again Yussef gets a special mention! and that you thought the breakfast was the best you had ever had in a hotel and that the terrace was so beautiful. We are pleased you found the hotel easy to locate and that the rooms were interestingly decorated and that you think its a great place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

After returning from the main medina of fes a short walk away this riad is like a small slice of paradise, the interiors were amazing and it oozes a traditional Moroccan riad, the mint tea on arrival was a pleasant surprise. The staff were also very kind. Thank you for your hospitality

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for finding the Riad like a small piece of paradise and that you loved the amazing interiors and the Moroccan tradition and that you liked mint tea on arrival and that the staff were so hospitable and kind to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Riad is a reasonable option if you are going to stay in Fes, I stayed there a month ago and at that point it was the only Riad I had stayed at in Morrocco. In has taken me to now to write a review so I now have other Riad benchmarks to compare it against. During my stay here I was well looked after by the staff in the Riad, it's not sensational but it is a good place to stay.
The Riad has a great location and is quite aesthetically pleasing and well maintained inside. The rooms range from excellent to a bit dingy for a single room I occupied one night. The rooms with two beds and ensuite bathroom is the way to go if your budget stretches that far. The dorm upstairs is also pretty good.
If you want a guide around the medina then I suggest you use who the hotel recommends. They make a note of this on the hostelbookers web site so I suggest you pay attention. I didn't and found myself being dragged from shop to shop by my "guide" as he was on kickbacks from establishments that will attempt to overcharge the newby here for the first time.
I was ripped off a few dollars but I have heard of people being ripped off hundreds or thousands of dollars. I have spoken to other people employing a local guide here and it seems common practise, so do yourself a favour and use who the Riad recommends, it might cost you a bit more initially but could save you money in the long run.
The atmosphere within the Riad was warm and welcoming and it is a great place to meet other travellers. The staff who only have basic English, but excellent french will try their best to assist you. The manager Leonarda runs the place like a school mistress, but considering some of the younger clientele the Riad can attract, this is at times necessary.
What I didn't like about the Riad....not much, it can be a bit noisy at night, but thats not unusual, but I will make the following points
1. Breakfast....the quality is excellent but it doesn't officially start till 9.30 and by the time it's served it's closer to 10. Now this has been bought up by others reviewers previously and anyway you try to rationalise it........it is way, way too late to start.
2. There is pressure on guests to write up a favourable review for the Riad during their stay there, especially for hostel bookers site. Incentives are given for clients to write a positive review while staying at the Riad.
The Riad is pretty good, so people are generally going to write positive things about it.......if standards drop the reviews will become more negative......to bribe people to write a positive review somewhat denigrates an otherwise positive experience.
I can acknowledge the business acumen of doing it this way. You bump your prices up against what your competitors charge, prospective clients read the reviews, more clients in through the door, very clever business practise....mind you illegal in most countries.
Still, on a positive note, most people will enjoy their stay here.

Room Tip: If your budget extends go for the double with the ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Manager at Riad Verus, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for the review Ziggy and we remember your stay well, it was a pleasure having you to stay and thanks for all the positive remarks you state such as how the quality of the breakfast was high and how taking a guide from the Riad helps you not being ripped off and how you liked the bedrooms, as you did stay in at least 3 of them!
We are so pleased you were well looked after by the staff and thanks for noting about being cautious of the fake guides you meet on trains who will try and rip you off on a multitude of ways. Thanks for noting the aesthetically pleasing decor and the maintance of the place as well as the dorm room upstairs being nice.
Sorry you found breakfast to be quite late but pleased you found the quality of the breakfast to be excellent and that the Riad was a great place to meet other travellers and that the staff try their best at their English to assist guests.
Sorry if you found our Riad to be a little noisy, in an open space sound does carry but that is a point we are working on to ensure guests get a good rest but at the same time can still enjoy themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

- Great Hostel with super friendly and helpful manger Yussef.
- Rooms are clean and restocked with clean towel/soap/shampoo.
- Breakfast is delicious and at reasonable hour if you like a sleep in.
- Little confusion finding hostel at first but if you tip someone 10MAD you'll get there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
So pleased you liked the great Riad and that you found the concierge Yussef so helpful and that you liked how the rooms were cleaned and restocked each day and that you found breakfast to be delicious and at a reasonable hour if you like to sleep in. Always best to print off the directions so as not to be lost on finding the Riad but you are right in stating that if you pay a tip someone will lead you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We all had a very relaxing time and were looked after most well by a nice group of young staff. Served breakfast was large plentiful and on the balcony or in the patios. Flowing fountains and relaxing music made for a nice seating area. Loved hammocks and views from up above.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
So pleased you all had a very relaxing time at the Riad and were looked after well by the staff and that you enjoyed the hammocks and views from the terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Thought the location was ace and just the hotel alone was stunning. Maids did a good cleanse of rooms each day and stocked us with toiletries. Speedy checkin and there is a restaurant open til 11pm. Parking a mere 5 min away and is secure. Wifi great. Breakfast nice but from 9.30 onwards...you can get a to go though.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are pleased you liked the location and the hotel was stunning with great wifi and clean rooms cleaned daily and that the restaurant stays open til 11pm and that there is safe parking close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Verus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.